Find companies:
PEEL DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

PEEL DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work!
Casual Field Office Elementary Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 9, 2014
Pros: long breaks
Cons: not knowing what school your travelling to
A typical day at work is waking up early in the morning and going to any assigned elementary school to assist the entire school as a behavioral teaching assistant where I assist students with behavioral/special needs. I have learned that it takes a lot of patience and time to do this job and to get through the day smoothly.

I am very manageable with – more... this job, it includes a lot of time management skills because there are different students that need assistance at different times of the day due to illness, medications. adjustment to supply teachers or any changes of schedule.

My co-workers are different individuals everyday! In this case, I love working with new people and meeting new personalities where I can learn and grow from different people each and every day. I also love meeting new children everyday, but I must say the hardest part of the job is trying to get these children to become use to you for the day. Most of these children that need assistance have a hard to adjusting to change of teachers so their behavior is increased. The most enjoyable part of my day is seeing the smile on a child's face when I can make them smile! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance of life and work
Junior Buyer (Internship) (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 7, 2014
Friendly co-workers and steady pace working enviroment. Great place to balance your work and life there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work and learn new skill while performing tasks. Great co-workers.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 25, 2014
A typical day at work is busy. I have learnt that there are many ways in which one task can completed. I have improved both my hard and soft skills. I was able to manage and prioritize my tasks on a daily basis. My co-workers were very helpful, encouraging and always compliment me on what a good job I am doing. I did not experience any hard part of – more... my job. The most enjoyable part of my job is learning new skills, interacting with people of different culture and making a difference in thatcompany. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and therapeutic work place
Child and Youth Worker (Current Employee), Hillside Middle SchoolApril 9, 2014
I work one on one with students to achieve their individual goals
My co-workers are very suppotive of everyone there
The hardes part of this job is not being able to satisfy all the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on Continuing Education
Grade Five and Six Teacher (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 7, 2014
Great team approach. The Board is supportive of continuing education and provides many training session on site as well as encouraging off site education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I believe that as an employee and agent of the PDSB, I was on the leading edge of education and helping students develop as life-long learners.
School Administrator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 31, 2014
I enjoyed a most rewarding career with the Peel Board. I was indeed fortunate to be able to return in 2006 after unsustainable business ventures. I had the opportunity to serve the school communities as a teacher, consultant, vice-principal and principal.

In all roles, the most fun and rewarding aspect of the work were the positive relationships and – more... associations with so many wonderful people, big and small. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job and I learned something new everyday.
Educational Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 15, 2014
I enjoyed working everyday with the children. I enjoyed the job because everyday was different. During my time at this job I meet so many wonderful people from different backgrounds. I also had the opportunity to learn through my PD day workshops.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
special needs
Educational Resource Facilitator (Current Employee), mississaugaNovember 6, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: low salary
At the end of each day there is a sense of reward. The smiles that welcome you each and everyday is in itself worth the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated very well...enjoyed all the positions
Vice Principal, Department Head and Teacher, (Former Employee), Mississauga and BramptonSeptember 30, 2013
As a teacher, I enjoyed helping students become successful citizens in society.

As a department head, I liked the performing the role of leadership.

As a Vice Principal, I was thrilled to achieve this position at such a young age (32)...major accomplishment for an immigrant kid. I liked working with all the constituents, including: students, parents, – more... community and administration. I am a big picture personality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job!
Technology Support Specialist (Former Employee), Peel regionSeptember 9, 2013
Setting up and maintaining computer networks; implementing local area networks and providing on-going support for administrative computer systems; supporting school staff by installing application software and operating system software; providing technical assistance to school staff in the set-up and use of hardware and peripherals; assisting the Internetworking – more... Team with installation and maintenance of communications equipment and the resolution of problems; performing routine maintenance on hardware and operating system software, directing equipment for repair and monitoring repair process; testing, debugging and evaluating operating systems, applications software and user interface; training school staff on software and hardware; other related duties. Travel to a number of different locations and transport equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy dealing with variety of people and that I thrive working in challenging and stimulating environment.
Occasional Teacher (Current Employee), BramptonSeptember 9, 2013
Mainly teaching grade 1-8 in various schools. My educational experiences have allowed me to develop expertise in a wide range of areas concerning children and adolescence . Some of these areas include the different stages of child development and the need to encourage students to explore their environment. I have also learned the importance of communication – more... between school and home and the need to provide a safe and inclusive environment, where all students can feel successful – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & prospective environment with students
Summer School Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 18, 2013
Very good environment to initiate a first experience for real life work. Youngsters and elders are around to teach you several areas and times of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), woodbridgeJuly 15, 2013
Pros: family
Cons: do not have one
One of the best places I worked at, after one year i became a supervisor, i am still close to the owners
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and learn at the same time
Early Childhood Educator (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMay 13, 2013
Working hours are great from 8am to 3:30pm everyday. love it. workload is light. Salary and benefits are compatible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very secure and friendly.
Central Board Office Support Specialist (Former Employee), HJA Brown Education Centre, Mississauga, OntarioApril 29, 2013
An enjoyable place to work, updated facility, normal pressures and friendly staff. Management is firm but fair. Opportunities to increase your career through education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible work environment
Education Resource Facilitator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: no shift work
Cons: don't have any
enjoyable and fun place to work! Enjoyed assisting students
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
getting so stressful now a days due to job security
Office Assistant (Current Employee), BramptonNovember 20, 2012
Pros: nice to be employed with the type of earning
Cons: not good to be on contracts
love to work with my co-worker but not enough to stay and progress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional environment
Education Assistant (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 26, 2012
I have worked for the Peel District School Board. I have been exposed to a mulitple of diverse experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it is a great place to work and gain my experience as a Social Worker
Educational Resource Facilitator (Current Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: i can choose the days when i want to work, i get to go to different schools and meet different students and staff, im able to work along side with the teacher to help better the students and the classroom
Cons: no benefits because i am causality, not enough full time positions available, not always gauranteed a hours every week
Working as a causality with the Peel District School Board is great place to gain my experience as a Social Worker. I love working with the special need students and working with other staff as well. I am able to work one on one with the students to know their dislikes and likes, also teach the students to communicate by using the ipad or using sign – more... language. My job is to the assist the teacher with every needs to be done that day. Depends on the student I may need to help feed or help assist student on washroom breaks. Every students is different therefore it makes my experience different as well.

The hardest part about this job is that not everyone's personalities fits with one another. If you can not get along with your staff it wont be a pleasant work environment for you to work in.

The most enjoyable part about this job is working with the students everyday is a different day no days are the same which I like. Also planing different trips for the students and planing different events at the school for the students to enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
LONG TERM OCCASIONAL TEACHER (Former Employee), Brampton ON.September 4, 2012
Pros: adminstration listened and worked well with their teachers.
Cons: long hours at times
I enjoyed working the Kindergarten position at this school. The teachers worked and planned as a team. I learned many beneficial characteristics about being a teacher.