Find companies:
Pearson
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
356 reviews

Pearson Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive working place
business improvement and quality inspection (Current Employee), Rugby, ENGFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: no free luch
Cons: yes i do over time
working troughout the day.
I learned about safety, enviroment situation, human behaviour, accident, jit, and team work.
management- about how to manage work and reach the target.
we need to work as team.
the hardest part of the job is to build a team.
the most enjoyable part of the job is fish the work in time and reach the target.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Area Sales Manager (Former Employee), Belgaum, KAFebruary 19, 2014
If i get the job in this organisation, i can servive. need to be get good salary, want to do hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day With Pearson.
Technical Support (Current Employee), College Park, GAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: it's from home
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work for me is to answer calls,chats, or emails helping students and instructors with different type of technical problems.I learned that not everybody is computer smart some call about the simplest things.My co-workers and the best love them and have never even laid eyes on them.The hardest part of this job is not being able to help – more... the next person if you don't understand.The most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to do it from home that is such an advantage. I Love That/ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place full of books
Fork lift driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: easy work, and lots of breaks
Cons: the pay, and the small parking lot
Well its a easy job, but a fast paced one. You had to make sure you and your line meet the quota for the day. You had workers who would help when they were done. They made you feel like the whole job is on the same team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team support and customer focus is key.
Centre Support Advisor (Former Employee), Harlow,EssexFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: term time only, regular updates and training conferences
I worked for Pearson as a Telephone appointment consultant and then upskilled to a Centre Support Advisor before being made redundant along with others in the department. My team members were great and we all had a great working relationship. Team leaders were very supportive in every aspect of our job roles and career development.The hardest part of – more... the job was to arrange an appointment with teachers as the government fundings were limited and teachers were often re-using past resources and adatpting them.The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a great team and feeling a sense of satisfaction when I had managed to help a teacher and offer the support they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Editor Acquisitions - Higher Education (Current Employee), Hyderabad,AndhrapradeshFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: job profile
Cons: job insecurity
My Typical day at works starts with talking to authors about the manuscript requirements and continue with sales , Production ,Manufacturing colleagues for the support required for the upcoming projects.

I learned its only and only our work which will support us during our good times as well as bad times and if its is accompanied by good relations – more... and great behavior we are bound to go places.

The good thing about the management is one will have ample scope to perform in each profile and sad part is you will not given required time and also there would be huge pressure to perform which at times can be very nerve breaking.

I was able to make some great relationships with colleagues from various departments who were supportive to me in my every project.

The hardest part of the job is that your job profile is bound to be insecure even if you are extremely talented and a great performer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Senior Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee), Centennial, COFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: great opportunities
Cons: work schedules varied
Great place to work, learning and advancement is plentiful, no comment on management, most co-workers were great, hardest part of job was the work schedule, but I really enjoyed the job itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to learn and advance
Scoring Director, Scoring Supervisor, Reader (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXFebruary 4, 2014
I got the opportunity to start working in the field w/o any previous experience. I always found all the training and coaching I needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developer
Team Lead (Former Employee), Mysore,IndiaFebruary 3, 2014
Involved in Developing Question Bank Management Module.
• Performance Optimization in SP Level and Code Level.
• Resources file Generation.
• Involved in writing Stored Procedures.
• Implemented waterfall model.
• Used Asynchronous JavaScript and xml (AJAX).
• Involved in configuring web. Config file for ASP.Net web forms and the entire Web Application.
 – more... Implemented input validation using the ASP.NET Input Validation Controls and JavaScript.
• Prepared Unit Test Cases and Design documents.
• Implemented TFS as source control.
• Created stored procedures in SQL Server.
• Used MS-Reporting Service for generating reports.
• Worked on Performance tuning in SQL Server.
• Worked extensively on Data Collection Objects For data Transformation between the Business layer and the database layer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Scoring Director (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn many skills and advance
Cons: limited schedules due to seasonal nature of work
The diverse group of employees make Pearson an interesting place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Material Handler (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: great place would love to go back
Cons: no cons
a typical day at work of course hard work but i was in a team of three sometime two so it was easy . Learned being part of a team you get a lot more done . Management was coo never really got attitudes they always was on top of every problem . My coo workers where great most of the time some of them where lazy but it was fine because i love working – more... overtime. i really never had a hard part of at the job its was super easy to me . The most enjoyable part was working with other with the same goal as you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with.Great benefits
SQE (Current Employee), Denver,COJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: too many organizational changes
Flexible work environment.
Always learning.
Co-workers are fun and supportive.
Challenging with many tasks.
Upper management need to figure out a stable road map for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, quiet atmosphere, excellent Managers,Supervisors, Staff
Scorer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: nice atmosphere, great managers, staff, nice upscale location, pay was fine
Cons: seasonal, temporary work, projects vary and don't last long.
Working at Pearson was extremely refreshing and I met so many great people. The initial workplace was in an office building in a very upscale part of the city and everyone there was required to have a minimum Bachelor's Degree in order to score various testing. My Managers and Supervisors were the best,so nice and down to earth people, very respectful – more... of everyone, no micromanaging, they all just let us do our job, I could only wish more Managers everywhere did that. The environment was quiet so you could concentrate and focus but at break and lunch time you were able to socialize and get to know everyone and many people there had been scoring for years. The only downside was the work was only seasonal and the projects you were put on didn't last long; some only a few weeks to maybe a month or so if you were lucky and on every project you were put on you had to be re-tested again in order to score on another project.
Besides that there were no complaints, the positive thing is now you can actually work at home and score now, but again its seasonal and the projects don't last long, not enough to quit your day job unfortunately. Pearson is a terrific job to have if you don't like all the face to face type jobs dealing with customers or having Managers breathing down your back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay.
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee), Upper Saddle River, NJJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: new office in hoboken coming soon on the water. nice co-workers and meaningful work.
Cons: awful communication across company, job security is sketchy. low pay. have to be in sales to advance a lot of the time.
Worked in a temporary contract position. Position was mis-managed from the very beginning. I was being told several different things from the Temp agency and my managers. At one point my manager had told me it was a mistake I was hired as a Temp, I was supposed to be a full-time hire until she back-tracked on that the following week. Office was not – more... prepared my first few days to have me join, almost as if nobody was really informed about it. I had to track down answers on my own. Very unorganized in terms of managing projects and following up. Managers were constantly busy, no time to answer questions. Managers and staff are all situated in different locations around the country, communication was very poor across the company. Out-dated processes and practices, which they are in the process of changing to get with the Digital era and more Online learning resources and not physical textbooks anymore. I had been told throughout my 3 month contract that I would be getting brought on full-time almost definitely and actually had my contract cut shorter by a couple of months and told the position was "being re-evaluated" after company structure changes were going on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a grate place to work.
Materials Manager (Former Employee), Upper Saddle River, New JerseyJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedules
Cons: changing culture
What I liked about working for there was there was always something to learn.
Management was supportive and will to assist if necessary. Co-workers usually worked as a team
The hardest part of the job was dealing with issues that were out of your control.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to achieve a time sensitive task and get it done – more... on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company
IT Director (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: culture. work-life balance
Cons: open office floor plans company wide
One of the best companies I have ever worked for. Great people, great benefits, great work-life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Market Development
Vice President, Eastern United States (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: loved the challenge
Cons: a lot of travel
Developed a territory that had no customers or references into a very profitable territory
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging position to always achieve excellence.
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAJanuary 10, 2014
Environment professional atmosphere. Always looking for challenging avenues to improve personal and profession work processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice palce to work
Printing Line Lead Operator (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, excellent work enviroment, variety of tasks
Cons: pay
Loved the work there. The people I worked with were the best I have ever been around. Pay could be a bit more competitive, but it is pretty good. A variety of jobs and responsibilities made it great for someone who might find repetition a problem
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I recommend highly labor with Pearson.
Scorer (Former Employee), Hato Rey, PRJanuary 7, 2014
Having worked for Pearson has been well gratificamente and challenging at the same time. I liked the dynamics and recommend it to any working for Pearson.

About Pearson

Pearson is an international media company with world-leading businesses in education, business information, and consumer publishing. – Read more