Find companies:
Pearson
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
321 reviews

Pearson Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Production Worker (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 22, 2013
Pros: meet all walks of life
Cons: no insurance/only seasonal
Material handler made sure people on the line had the supplies they needed and did'nt run out. Made sure things got out on time . Worked in Final Pk ,Worked in Shipping/Receiving, Worked in AO back orders ,Very much a Team Player, Also worked in Scanning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Tape Librarian (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 22, 2013
I worked part time. I value my experience there. Management was good. I didn't have hard times at the job . I have over 20 years of experince
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a J2EE consultant at Pearson
Senior J2EE Architect / Developer (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 20, 2013
Was a J2EE consultant at Pearson and learnt Apache CXF. Very friendly work environment,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pearson Vue, August 2013 to November 2013
QA (Contractor) (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNNovember 20, 2013
• Worked the in Agile methodology for Person Vue releases 11.1, 11.2. project including the system and regression
• Translated stories and modified requirements for development.
• Performed Mobile testing using Android, iPhone, and iPad for Pearson’s 11.1 and 11.2 releases
• Tested and delivered top quality solutions effectively and efficiently, using – more... all available resources.
• Wrote and executed test cases using ALM
• Recorded defects in Clear Quest ensured they were handled for IBM release project.

Environment: ALM, Citrix, Clear Quest, Version One, Neo, SQL, Google office, Mobile testing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Warehouse
RF Scanner (Former Employee), Cranbury, NJNovember 15, 2013
A typical day at work was you working alone pretty much , you just get to work ... enjoy the day and go with the flow . it's not really a learning job , you just learn how to work different kinds of electronics or machinery and other things that you get your self into , its an interesting job to look into . the management is great . your co workers – more... are great . the hardest part about the job was on the days that you have to move fast . but they were good and intense days .you enjoy your job 100% – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with fun and Challenge
Associate Software Engineer Applied (R & D) (Current Employee), ColomboNovember 13, 2013
Pros: friendly staffs, late time benefits
I learned new technologies based on problems we faced and I had a chanced to with integration of many technologies in single project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the environment i found in Pearson is very cool and love to work there.
Permission executive (Former Employee), IndiaNovember 9, 2013
Pros: every month parties, bday celebrations, festivals, tours, traditional activities
Cons: nothing
Management is awesome.
co workers are too good
i have learned many things from pearson like dedication to work, help to co worker and mutual understanding with mentors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global restructuring of company has caused layoffs and culture change.
varied (Former Employee), midwestNovember 8, 2013
Pros: company car, expenses paid, great academic folks
Cons: poor management
A typical day means on the road by 7:00, driving to campuses within 4 hour range, returning late (6pm or later). You carry a computer, product fliers, and books and walk on campus all day. I learned how to talk with people from all walks of life and about all sorts of topics (health, biology, math, etc.). My co-workers were an awesome group to work – more... with. The hardest part of the job was the management change (numerous over several years) and the lack of support. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Quality Analyst (Current Employee), Rancho Cordova, CANovember 5, 2013
very flexible
very casual
very friendly
everyone will like this company
a good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We needed more time to understand subtle computer directions.
Assessment Scorer (Former Employee), Lombard, ILNovember 2, 2013
Pros: they offered a job.
Cons: i was not there long enough to understand their system.
I was only there two days and it would have been a contract job lasting six weeks. The managers were under tremendous pressure to get their program up and running. The employees felt that all day long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace.
operator (Former Employee), Cranbury, NJNovember 1, 2013
Demonstrated professionalism, tact, and diplomacy while working with co-worker in high-pressure situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
strink machine (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 30, 2013
i just love working and woking with ppl just wish i could have stay longer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great authors and products
Senior Publisher's Representative (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: flexible scheduling of time, well-known company
Cons: no advancement opportunities, low pay
At Pearson, I learned about urgency and sales acumen. Great managers taught me to be independent and to make decisions based on sales growth.

The many, many levels of management often were not harmonious in goals and strategies.

The hardest part of the job was working with, selling, and supporting technology that customers did not like at all. Over – more... the years, good educational technology was updated to include far too many features that customers did not want or seek, and the programs became too difficult for professors, students, and Pearson employees to manage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seo exexecutive
Consultant (Former Employee), Noida, UPOctober 24, 2013
Prepare a daily and weekly report for SEO: Optimizing the websites to increase the traffic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work experience, until...
Project Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 23, 2013
Pros: generous pay and benefits. good work/life balance.
Cons: being laid off with zero warning.
Pearson was a great company to work for until one day, out of the blue, they walked in and announced that a bunch of us were being laid off. Also, leadership was much more stable a couple of years ago. Too much turnover at the top, both locally and otherwise, recently.

18djl1ia25n8gd28 – January 6, 2014

I wrote this review. Should be one star for management and four stars for compensation. Not sure what happened.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empty promises of hours to work.
Test Administrator (Former Employee), Copley, OHOctober 23, 2013
Pros: candidates were great!
Cons: retaliation, favoritism and unfairness at copley ohio location.
Empty promises of hours to work by manager at Copley Ohio location.. There is slow season and busy season. Part time hours very irregular and months may go by with no hours. It seems after Nov. of the year, very, very little hours till summer of next year. Also manager is not fair on hours and shows favoritism to certain employees.
Unprofessional-ism, – more... favoritism and retaliation are the core of Copley Ohio office.
If you want a job that is really not a job??? Apply.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all of the different candidates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from the Copely Ohio office
Test Administrator (Former Employee), Copely, OhioOctober 16, 2013
Pros: none to speak of
Cons: corporate talks the talk doesn't walk the walk
Corruption, favoritism, retaliation run amuck in this office. All the good and honest employees are leaving at this moment. Do not apply to this office!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAOctober 8, 2013
I learned a lot
I worked very happy with the team
I like the company's culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an ok place
shipping temp (Former Employee), Lebanon, INOctober 7, 2013
stacking cases of books to be loaded on trucks, there is a lack of communication between leads and laborers. It was a good work out on the other hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the people I work with and really enjoy helping the customers.
Customer Service Representative/COM Coordinator (Current Employee), High Point, NCOctober 6, 2013
Pros: the people i get to work with on a daily basis.
Cons: not being given a raise when promoted to higher position, having to be our own cleaning crew
Upper management is not very good at open communication. This sometimes makes being able to do my job to the best of my ability difficult. I arrive at work early and work hard and steadily throughout the day to ensure that I am performing my job to the best of my ability. I take great pride in what I do and doing it to the best of my ability. I am probably – more... my own worst critic. I work well with others and our customers. That is my favorite part of the job. Helping the customers and giving them the information they need to do their job. The hardest part of the job is not being appreciated by management, and not being paid an appropriate amount. – less

About Pearson

Pearson is an international media company with world-leading businesses in education, business information, and consumer publishing. – Read more