PCL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficient and effective
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 December 2017
I have enjoyed working for PCL. I have worked with a great team with a strong work ethics and I was able to gain more knowledge and grow as an electrician. The management were amazing as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well its a job
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 December 2017
Very disorganized. Pay is good. Zero job security. LOA's are hard to come by if you do get one they cancel it. Over crowded lunch rooms that are full of abandoned used PPE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Hand Labour
Lead Hand Labour (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 October 2017
My typical day at work was participate in the pre-construction conference when possible to familiarize himself with the job peculiarities and offer practical advice pertaining to the various project schedules and budgets.

I learned how to organize, direct, and request the proper equipment needed for timely project completion.

For management, I determined and recommended changes in methods, schedules, and procedures and improved where necessary for all employers. Also, I ensured proper paper flow to and from the office.

The most enjoyable part of that job was maintain a close working relationship with the Supervisor to ensure proper delegation of responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays the bills
Welding Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Redwater, AB23 September 2017
not a great company but the quality of the tools end equipment were above average and there was no shortage. there was never an issue with pay checks but some of the supervision was not very experienced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 September 2017
worked for 18 months at Surmont 2, great company and safety incentives. despite being in camp and away from family, it was a good project to be a part of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible atmoshere
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 August 2017
Absolutely the worst company to work for .This company does not want thinkers ,they want robots , they thrive on finding ways to reprimand employees . They do not manage and coach employees even though they like to say that they do , they dictate and punish with pleasure . I quit this place after two years of unhappiness without finding another job . I know that sounds crazy , but it really is life sucking atmosphere ,
Pros
its a pay check
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good overall work experience
Ironworker/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB6 June 2017
A good overall work experience at PCL

-fair, knowledgeable and qualified supervision for the most part
-good overall working conditions
-good coworkers at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 May 2017
PCLis a good place to come make money and leave it isn't a great place to rise up as there is just to many people its an old boys club with union and non-union ties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alight company to work for.
Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 May 2017
Treats workers alright need to do better at paying more. Need to learn more about worker culture and spend time working with new people. I would work here still but.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Carpenter Apprentice Level 1 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 May 2017
PCL has numerous career streams. Whether you are looking for a corporate or a construction career, exciting opportunities are waiting for you at the PCL family of companies.

Within both PCL's corporate offices and construction operations, your career with PCL will give you an opportunity for growth and advancement. For more information on a particular career path, click on the career paths below.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profitable
Journeyman Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 April 2017
Hired out of union hall, No Questions asked. All i wanted was a fair chance at work and was given it. Everything was great until I was given flights home on my days off that seen me get home a day later. I was only one province over and guys on the east coast were getting home before me
Pros
Flights
Cons
Overnighters in Calgary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Night Shift Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 April 2017
good place to , good people there as well , would work for them in the future if given the opportunity and on the next project as well .room to advance as well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good Work
Pipefitter Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 April 2017
Definently production driven, enjoyed the work. 7-10's camp job with flights, would work with them again. treated everyone with respect, good safety culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

See more PCL reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PCL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1