Find companies:
PCL
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

PCL Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fitting
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKAugust 25, 2014
Blue print reading, crane signal man, rigging, working with HTP pipe,
punching lines, lead hand for small crew, fitting stainless and carbon
steel, oxy acetylene work.!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst job I was ever on in 50+years in the trade
pipefitter (Former Employee), Vanscoy SKMay 23, 2014
Pros: the free 1/2 hour each way bus ride. yeah right especially with no pay for your time
Cons: poorest organization ever.
The organization on the Agrium job was nonexistent. Pipe hung by chain falls and come a longs and cable lashings. There had to be $1mm being thrown out the window every day. Very difficult to look busy for 10 hours when you are not given anything to do.The only concern is safety, safety, safety, no production I hired on for new construction on the mill – more... expansion and I was shuffled onto the shutdown crew for the Aug/13 shutdown. I have my doubts they made the dead line. How PCL became Canadas largest contractor baffles me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating, poorly managed, "people come last" PCL
Pipefitter (Apprentice) 3rd (Current Employee), SKApril 23, 2014
The worst, most unorganized job to date. Poorly managed, where PCL is robbing the client blind. They are over-budget by $400 million now and everyone has been feeling the pressure of it all. 2 hours to work on the packed, supplied bus with no pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun workplace
FIRST YEAR CARPENTER (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: learned so much more in the construction field, especially commercial construction
PCL was a great experience for me. I got the chance to b a lead hand and I started my Carpentry apprenticeship through the company. Unfortunately I was laid off in the big recession of 2009 and have been driving truck in the moving industry ever since
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Pipefitter (Current Employee), Fort Mackay, ABFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: long hour work
It is a good company, I like my job, I worked in daytime, I enjoyed working with others, I like the management, my job is somewhat a repetition from my previous company .....its all pipefitting...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They continually put a carrot on a string in front of their workers.
Labourer (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaOctober 16, 2013
They have never went through with any of the promises they have made me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and quiet did alot of courses during work
janitor / people based safety. some small filling (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: long lunches
Cons: had to wear ppe
I enjoyed working there they were very leaned back and always had incentives for safe work . Cleaning and have to manage some office duties was also intresting and knowlageable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair company- flexible when I needed them to be
Carpenter (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: good pay for being in the trades
Cons: the odd foreman.
Like any construction outfit, every superintendent or foreman can be like working for a completely different company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty shop
Journeyman Welder (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 10, 2012
Pros: in town
Cons: management
This is a dirty shop, management isn't very good. Don't expect to work there long
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to gain much experience as a labourer
Labourer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 30, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: physical limitations, constant supervision (every 5 min)
I didnt gain much construction experience in the one and a half yearsthat I worked for them. All I did was sweep floors, clean up garbage, and dust. My co-workers were always miserable due to the fact we had to get into the most akward positions to get miniscule ammounts of dust. Due to the lack of communication between our superiors, there was always – more... deadline conflicts, or lack of clear instructions provided. – less