Find companies:
Party City Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
940 reviews

Party City Corporation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent career growth
General Manager- seasonal job (Former Employee), edmontonJuly 4, 2014
Pros: developed your training skills
Cons: busy life
i learned everything in KFC. how to became a good follower and a leader.
i developed my managerial skills in this company

.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was seasonal
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 26, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: seasonal
this was a seasonal job
it was fun, but i wish it had lasted longer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most dysfunctional workplace, ever!
sales associate (Former Employee), Nepean, ONMarch 18, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: unstable workplace, bad management
I applied to what was called Party Packagers at the time, and was hired to work full-time a month after the store was open. I worked 8-4 Monday to Fridays. When I got my first pay, I was disappointed because I was making less working full-time. The manager was shady and hard to trust. The staff were hard to work with and seemed out of touch with reality. – more... My supervisor often accused me of insubordination and wrote me up for something I didn`t do. Me and another guy working there were let go after working 2 months there. I cleaned out my locker and left, and the manager said "Don`t go slashing my tires". I used him as a reference, and he ended up screwing me out of a job opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team Lead (Former Employee), sherwood parkMarch 10, 2014
Its a job
Its not a bad or a good job, its just a job.
It can be fun or stressfull depending on the managment.
The dress code is stupid and very biased.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Fun
Assistant to General Manager (Former Employee), Belleville, OntarioJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: get to dress in costumes for work
Cons: only short term store
I worked to Party City at their temporary Halloween City location and it was one of the best jobs ever. What other company will let you get dressed up in a costume every day for work and at the same time it helps promote their business.
Even though this was only a temporary location I made great friends and aquaintances. The knowledge and skills gained – more... from this company will help with future employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Party City - South Edmonton Common
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: consistent lunch break time, agreeable co-workers, location was close to restaurants
Cons: was only a temp job
A typical day at work consisted of helping customers find the specific product they came to the store location for and stocking up empty shelves.

I quickly learned that prior to working at Party City, I hardly knew what it was to have a face to face conversation with a customer, no matter what age. It was a great learning experience, and it served – more... me well.

Co-workers were very nice, polite and hard-working teenagers.
Although the store did have some older adults, most of my co-workers were either teenagers or young adults.

Most enjoyable part of my job was
probably seeing little kids coming in to shop at Party City
and being so excited to get a helium balloon or
a brand new toy. I also worked the Halloween season, that was
quite fun. At the peak of the Halloween holidays, work usually consisted
of finding parents of kids the right coded costume pack. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging staff and stable duties
Team Lead (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: staff and discounts
Cons: irregular shifts, management directives
Party City has great potential, it teaches many valuable skills such as effective time management, cooperation between staff ranking, and multitasking. The general portion of staff were friendly, open, and willing to teach on any aspect of the job. Hardest part of the job was just tying to instill the same pride in all the staff members. Learning new – more... aspects and then being able to pass that knowledge on to the others was my favor.ite part – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: free uniform
Cons: lots of shifts but not alot of people
Loved working for Party City. Would recommend to anyone trying to get some experience. Students mostly but some adults.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent employer
Store Manager (Former Employee), abbottsford bcNovember 25, 2013
this is an excellent company they are very supportive of their managers and have a great help line for any problems and they are unbelievably fast and right on the money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical American run company
Customer Service-Order Filler-Stocker-Receiver (Current Employee), Ajax, ONNovember 18, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: no chance for advancement or benefits
I wish all the promises of full time hours with benefits were a reality. I love the people I currently work with, however.....new management brought in across the province are bringing in their own friends and previous employees and shafting everyone else that has been dedicated to making the place tick.
American district managers are making empty promises – more... and expecting double duty for half the pay.
I need something better :-( – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Store, always plenty to do.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: people, management, environment, customers, fast paced
Cons: fast paced (depending on how you look at it), way too much product for our store location.
Working at Party City was the best. The people were great and the clientele was pretty good.

I'd say the only bad thing about it was that we were always sent a lot more product than what we seemingly needed or could fit. Due to this, the backroom was a real hazard- squished and frankly an accident waiting to happen!

Overall, it was a great place to – more... work. Good work environment, but often fast paced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff and place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: discounts on party items, great staff, flexible hours for students in school
Cons: not enough hours, constantly changed management
Work would begin as early as 7am if stocking or important things were to be done. Cash and balloons were often busiest during the days but slowed down in the evening. I learned how to work cash, do balloon orders, as well as familiarize myself with plan-o-grams (grid plan outlines for the store and each section) and ensuring the store was in order and – more... neat as well and most importantly, great customer service. The hardest part of the job was perhaps only during halloween season which gets very crowded and extremely busy. My co-workers were always fun and energetic. Management at the store however, kept changing often, making it difficult and confusing sometimes with hours and shifts and how they were dealt with and handed out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
General Manager (Current Employee), Markham ONJuly 3, 2013
As A GM over all day to day opration of the store I enjoy training and coaching others to be grate in what they do to archive there goal and the store
Giving ideas to upper management to improve sales and customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employment opportunity
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ontario CanadaMarch 27, 2013
Don't be fooled by the 4-star rating this company gets here, it's elevated to that level mostly because of the temporary seasonal staff that leave reviews here. As a seasonal position this place is great but as a permanent job, look elsewhere. No support from management or head office, they operate just within the boundaries of the labour laws, not – more... many hours, low pay, over-worked managers and under-utilized sales associates, allows excellent talent to leave while keeping on those who have poor work ethics, play favorites and create drama. Also, forget about any sort of advancement and don't expect good managers to last very long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going with the staff, but fast-paced. Must always be doing something
Supervisor/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 26, 2013
Pros: staff are amazing, always in a good mood and ready to work
Cons: hours aren't that great for sales associates.
A typical day at work for me is usually running cash and balloons. So when I am not busy helping someone at cash, most of the time I am blowing up balloons. When I'm not doing either, I am always filling, cleaning, facing, keeping the store looking presentable. I have learned more about multitasking than I ever would if I never had this job. It seems – more... like it would be super easy to work there, but behind the scenes, it is intense. Management and coworkers are always there to support you. I always have at least one person in management working with me. The hardest part of the job is probably when it's extremely busy and sometimes being understaffed.. and the hours. The most enjoyable part is watching how happy the customers get when they realize that we have the product they need. You can't plan a party in a bad mood - so you can't go wrong :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ancaster, ONMarch 18, 2013
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: seasonal work
I had lots of fun with customers helping them with their costumes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment but head managers leadership was very much lacking
Inventory Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), North York, ONFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: at times there were lots of shifts witch was good for me to provide for my new family
Cons: wasn't trained to do everything( merchandising balloon)
It was a good work environment. the Supervisors and my other coworkers were amazing to work with but the manager wasnt best the manager was all ways in the office never did much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Priductive and a fun work environment
Halloween Seasonal Employee (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: everyone was friendly and it was a fun job.
I loved working at Party City. All the managers were extremely friendly and welcoming. At party city, I had to help customers find costumes for Halloween, I also had to work in the back room an find the costumes for the customers as well. I love people so i enjoyed working on the floor a lot more. I also had to face the shelves, make sure all isles – more... were clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Party City
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCOctober 23, 2014
Pros: 30% off
I love my job its a great place to be. I like that I can help people around the store and help them find what they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), White Plains, NYOctober 22, 2014
Loved working here but it was time to move on. I would unpack whatever came in from the loading trucks on the shelf and top stock anything else that couldnt fit. Also helped customers on the floor as well as the cash wrap.

1 2 3 4 5

Party City Corporation Photos