Find companies:
Parsons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
120 reviews

Parsons Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parsons Culture
Lead Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee), Annapolis Junction, MDOctober 23, 2012
Pros: pay
Cons: work environment, workload.
Parsons pays well but works you to death. Their policies are out of the 1940s. Because most of their work is government contracts, you must wear a shirt and tie everyday, even Fridays. In the event the government is closed, you can dress down but you must wear a shirt with a collar. Additionally, once the contract is over, that's it!...the office closes. – more... You will either transfer to another locale or you're on the streets. Management is very nonresponsive to problems. I had a terrible time with my supervisor, reported it, and they did nothing. I went to HR, they did nothing. I went to my functional manager, she did nothing. I went to the deputy program manager, she did nothing. It's all about the client. Nothing else matters. – less

rpms – January 11, 2013

We must work in the same Parsons Office? Speaking of Policies, they don't stick to them. Have learned a great deal during my time with this company. I have learned more about people skills and how twisted things can really be than about Engineering. I have learned how NOT to treat people. Lots of valuable life lessons learned that will one day make me a successful Leader.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people with positive connections
Sustainability Intern (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 19, 2012
I appreciated the time and effort they took to help me advance in the industry. I really liked the atmostphere and opportunity to be able to travel and get involved with many sorts of people anf fields
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Managing projects from design through construction including client and consultant relations, project timelines and schedules for many of the below
Design Manager (Former Employee), UAE - Abu DhabiOctober 19, 2012
Client/ Musanada: Perfect management experience related to Abu Dhabi Education Council (ADEC) Schools Projects Phase 1, 2 &3 within whole UAE regions for Cycle 1, 2 &3 categories to meet the client guidelines and requirements with the consultants scope of work through all design stages & submittals and lead the projects to commit the time schedule for – more... all projects maintaining the budget to have the projects in the high quality and safety level required from the client. Manage the same for the teaches accommodation projects.
Manage the FIT OUT requirements from the drawings layouts, procurement quantities, vendors technical evaluations and selection, coordination from the client’s requirement and the consultant submittals and the mock up selection with the quantities and materials specifications for the Schools projects. Manage the reviewing process for the 5th kindergarten project in Al Ain and Abu Dhabi under DD/CD submittals and be part of the supporting team to push the project to tender stage taking care of implementing the owner requirements (Abu Dhabi Education Council) in the consultant submittal set( drawings and reports). Be part of the evaluation comity for Al Oqba School external field’s project in Abu Dhabi for prequalification process and prepare the final report to the client. Manage the 15th schools project in Al Ain and Abu Dhabi from the concept design stage and proceed with owner requirements (Abu Dhabi Education Council) to implement it in the consultant drawings and reports. Prepare the reviewing check list for all engineering discipline. Technical Reviewing for the ADEC 18th schools project in Abu Dhabi and Al Ain city during the detailed design submittals.
Technical Reviewing for the academy of judicial during the
Concept design Submittal. Technical reviewing for the Higher
College of Technology during the concept design submittal.
Review and Modify the Detailed Design Specifications for the
18th schools project. Being one of the evaluation Comity for
Hamadan Bin Zayed Mosque for prequalification process and prepare the final Report to
the client.

Client/ Emirates Identity Authority (EIDA): Manage the concept Design details as a Service Point Offices within the Podium zone in Danet Mall / Abu Dhabi and prepare the required drawings for tender stage. Modify the Design for Al Sharjah and Al Ain Service Points building Offices and prepare the required drawings. Prepare the design and drawings to contractors for the client’s service point’s buildings in all Al Musafah district in Abu Dhabi. Prepare the design modification and drawings for the clients service points buildings and implement the required changes for the northern Emirates cities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring, dead-end position.
Lane Technician (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, NJOctober 9, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: working environment
getting in and out of cars all day. Very repetitive. Most workers had little ambition . I learned about cars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting challenging work.
Document Control Specialist (Former Employee), ChicagoSeptember 21, 2012
Exciting challenging work. Working with project managers and increasing productivity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Know What they are doing
DIRECTOR, EAST COAST OPERATIONS (Former Employee), Centreville, VASeptember 19, 2012
This is an A&E company that mistakenly surmised that the world of national security and intelligence contracts could be won over just because. They did not think the process through, and consequently are wandering around trying to figure out why all of those billions of dollars of defense and intelligence dollars are not just falling into their hands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too impressed
Software engineer (Current Employee), VASeptember 8, 2012
Cons: benefit reductions
I'm an employee of Sparta, which was acquired by Parsons earlier this year. In that short span of time we've experienced layoffs, loss of overtime work, reduction in health benefits, and our vacation time has been cut. Legacy Sparta employees are quitting daily, leaving heavier workloads for those that remain. Parsons mgmt seems unaware or simply does – more... not care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Associate Project Control (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 3, 2012
Pros: some business units allow for the 9/80 schedule
Cons: they really do try to short pay the staff that works the hardest, admins!
It really depends on what group you work with. Parsons has many business units. I've worked in two and so far so good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and management
Commissioning Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 30, 2012
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: you have to apply for your next project with the company
Knowledgeable people, management is supportive, coworkers are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Site Project Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 26, 2012
Pros: excellent work environment
Cons: needs more projects in houston
Good co-workers
Needs to have more oil and gas clients
Needs more Business Development managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and an enjoyable atmosphere.
Principle Piping Designer/Checker (Current Employee), Richmond, KYAugust 20, 2012
Pros: overtime. good co-workers.
Cons: dirt parking lots. long hours. short lunch.
• We work 10 hour days, 4 days a week. Overtime is an additional 1 hour a day with 8 hours on Friday and Saturday.
• An on-line Company University helps us to grow in knowledge while refining our job skills.
• Management was among the best I've ever worked for.
• Most Co-workers are skilled in their trade.
• The hardest part of the job is making sure – more... all issued documents agree, dipite the project being a constant moving target.
• The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to see your design come to life as we are stationed right at the job site. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, NJAugust 19, 2012
Pros: excellent opportunities to learn new jobs. promotions based on production, not favitorism.
Cons: not enough hours in a day to complete all jobs
Opportunity to advance in the company. Good benefits and great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Parsons team is a top notch group of youn professionals
Quality Assurance Manager (Current Employee), Arlington, VAAugust 14, 2012
The Pentagon renovation project was the largest of it's kind. The management team was some of the brightest people I had the pleasure to work with. My team members were always very professional and worked hard to ensure the quality and successes of the project. The most difficult part of the project was the shear size and scope of the actual work being – more... performed. It was however the most rewarding part of my entire career and I felt privileged and honored to be a part of the team/family responsible for it's successful completion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Environmental Scientist (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 9, 2012
Parsons is a time-dependent promotional system, were ability has little to do with how you climb the ladder and recieve benefits. For the most part co-workers are friendly, but it is a corporate environment. I enjoyed the field work but could not stand the cube farm aspect of the work. There was no part of the job that was difficult or challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 8, 2012
Pros: free online incentive gifts for work/health related challenges
Parsons is a great company to work for and the they value their employees. Good work ethics and company benefits Employee owned stock.

I rate them 5 Star across the board.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Construction Engineer / Specialist (Former Employee), LAUSD, Burbank Airport, Fort IrwinAugust 5, 2012
Pros: dealing with level headed engineers and architects.
Cons: politics.
I worked for Parsons for five years on two large projects. Both went very well, I was commended for my efforts. Both made mega-money for Parsons.

I was transferred to a remote location and came down with a gruesome case of the winter flu. I didn't get much work done in that painful month. My new senior was profane & mean. He had me removed. Sad ending – more... to an otherwise great experience.

I would go back to Parsons tomorrow given the chance. My first two supervisors have retired but they remain the best I have worked with. We really did have two winning teams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Construction Engineer / Specialist (Former Employee), LAUSD, Burbank Airport, Fort IrwinAugust 5, 2012
Pros: dealing with level headed engineers and architects.
Cons: politics.
I worked for Parsons for five years on two large projects. Both went very well, I was commended for my efforts. Both made mega-money for Parsons.

I was transferred to a remote location and came down with a gruesome case of the winter flu. I didn't get much work done in that painful month. My new senior was profane & mean. He had me removed. Sad ending – more... to an otherwise great experience.

I would go back to Parsons tomorrow given the chance. My first two supervisors have retired but they remain the best I have worked with. We really did have two winning teams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Great Place to Work
Administrative Officer/Facility Manager (Former Employee), Midwest City, OKJuly 26, 2012
Pros: great team spirit
Cons: a few corporate execs
I truly enjoyed my time at Parsons. The only reason I left was because my position was being eliminated due to cut backs in government spending. I went from being just the office Admin to being the Office Mangager. The best part of this job was the local management who really cared about the employees and ensured a pleasant work atmosphere. I've never – more... worked in a place with a better "team spirit". Most of the people at the Corporate level were good to work with, but there were exceptions as with every company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Controls Integrator Specialist (Former Employee), PasadenaJuly 23, 2012
Learnt a lot. Friendly staff,
safe place to work. Great culture. Importance to training and self development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Newington, VAJuly 18, 2012
Pros: very family oriented
Cons: none to report
Parsons is a very good company to work for, as they compensate well, they care about their employees, and the company is very organized.

About Parsons

About Parsons Founded in 1944, Parsons, an engineering, construction, technical, and management services firm with revenues – Read more