Find companies:
Park West Gallery
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Park West Gallery Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good fit for all.
Art Associate (Current Employee), WorldwideAugust 7, 2013
Pros: travel, housing supplied.
Cons: not very straightforward about pay, no benefits
This company is wonderful in what it does, which is helping people around the world collect art from both classic and contemporary movements. They also operate worldwide, giving employees many opportunities to explore new places and cultures outside of thier own. However, they are not very clear on how the company operates or how each employee is paid, – more... tasks you will have to learn or complete, et cetera. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Park West
Auctioneer and Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee), the worldMay 6, 2013
Pros: great art great world to see! great income
Cons: hard work. you have to get stuck in.
If you are single or a young couple looking for a challenge. There is in my opinion no better company to work for. If you apply for a job with Park West it will change your life for ever in a very positive way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beware
interviewee (Former Employee), MiamiApril 5, 2013
Pros: ?
Cons: you decide
Do your homework!
These people have a very questionable reputation with numerous complaints and some shady dealing.

What they offer is of very questionable taste and value

be careful..don't get your hopes up for something that "is probably to good to be true"
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting life of art and travel
Art Gallery Director (Former Employee), MichiganJanuary 19, 2013
I was responsible for carrying out a set program onboard cruise ships in order to educate and involve a perpetually growing number of guests in our program. I delivered full-length presentations and seminars to guests on fine art and art history. I also handled the payroll aspects of the department, hiring and controlling a staff of up to five individuals, – more... both art assistants and movers. I contributed to the overall success of my respective cruise ships through creative contributions to the typical cruise ship experience, and being a credible source of knowledge for clients, while maintaining a professional attitude at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even consider
Network Manager (Former Employee), Southfield, MIDecember 16, 2012
Cons: too many to list
Family run, most bizarre place I've ever seen. Salary employees have to clock in/out using biometric scanner, poor work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbelievable Experience - Amazing!
International Fine Art Auctioneer (Former Employee), New York, Miami, Caribbean, Alaska, EuropeDecember 5, 2012
Pros: travel, compensation, autonomy, training program, sales org, product, networking, extended vacations, etc...
Cons: gone 5-6 months at a time, small cabin/living arrangements
I traveled to over 50 countries as a Fine Art Auctioneer, and I saw countless places that I would never, in a lifetime, be able to visit.

And I made a lot of money doing it.

Besides the travel and the compensation, I think the best think about this job is that you really learn how to run a small business. This was a great way for me to combine my – more... entertainment background and business acumen, and to grow professionally in a way that I think would really take years somewhere else.

I have definitely developed a confidence in my abilities that never existed before.

And I can tell you, there is nothing like being on stage in front of 300+ people calling a live art auction. It's almost like being a rock star. Seriously.

I've also really learned to appreciate the visual arts much more now, have amassed an incredible amount of knowledge, become fascinated with art history, and have really enjoyed seeing just how excited my clients get when they tell me about the artwork they've collected. It's great knowing that I'm actually getting paid to help educate people, and to help them have a great time collecting something they already enjoy from a company they love.

I also used to play competitive basketball in college, and if you would have told me I would end up doing this, I would have called you crazy. I was not an arts person, at all. Now, my friends call me a walking encyclopedia of Art History! I've found that this opportunity has allowed me to maintain a competitive, entrepreneurial spirit while also really immersing myself in The Arts - something I've grown to appreciate and love on a personal level.

Oh - and the training was unbelievable as well. I feel like they could charge for the training (which, of course they don't) because it was THAT GOOD. The training was quite difficult, but I learned more there than I think I did in 4 years of college, and I'm not the only one that came out of training thinking the same thing.

It really is one of those jobs where the more you put into it, the more you get out of it, and there are many facets to that. This job isn't for someone who is lazy or is just happy clocking in and out - it's for someone who wants, and has the determination, to make something for themselves. I saw the world, I was paid well, and I experienced a level of personal a professional growth that has put me far ahead of the game - especially at this age in my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Way to Travel and meet people
Gallery Director (Former Employee), miamiJune 27, 2012
Pros: free travel
Cons: no benefits
workgin on ships is non traditional and not easy! Adjusting can be difficult but its a great experience can open a lot of doors to new people and countries all over the world . Be careful, Park West employees are not all the same. Some work harder than others. Training is horrible and not every ship is the same. You can make your own assessment, but – more... be cautious or you will get burned – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting atypical business
International Art Dealer aboard cruise ships (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJune 3, 2012
Amazing opportunities available if you have the ability to be out of the country aboard a cruise ship for most of the year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See the world and live on a Cruise Ship
Associate Art Auctioneer (Current Employee), Norwegian Jade (Venice, Italy)December 5, 2011
Pros: free housing, free food, no expences, travel the world, make lots of friends
Cons: little contact with family ashore
THE MOST FUN JOB I HAVE EVER HAD (thus far)!!!! I started out of college not knowing anything about art and never imagining that I would be selling original Rembrandt and Picasso works on a cruise ship!

Park West takes the time to train all their employees all the ins and outs for presenting and selling art. They teach you the artists, different styles – more... of art creation methods, cultural significance, art movements, EVERYTHING!

I would STRONGLY recommend this job for those that want to see the time world, have great personality, and want to make friends from around the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The training and professional experience I gained during my time with Park West Gallery was priceless. I do not know if there is another firm that can
5 5 star cruise lines (Former Employee), Art Gallery Director and Associate Art Auctioneer.November 10, 2011
Pros: professional experience while traveling the world
Cons: long months away from home, few english speaking ports
The trainers and fleet managers for Park West Gallery go above and beyond to provide all of the imperative information to run a successful art auction program on the major cruise lines of the world. At the age of 22, after 2 weeks of intense sales training I was sent to travel the world on some of the largest most beautiful cruise liners to take on – more... the job of Art Gallery Director and Associate Art Auctioneer with duties ranging from producing all art event marketing to art sales customer service. After the encouragement and support provided for me and my team I was fully capable of initiating a productive art program with proven sales success. – less

About Park West Gallery

Park West provided our room, meals, and entertainment. Artists Marko Mavrovich & Dominic Pangborn were on site. This was – Read more