ParaMed Home Health Care Employee Reviews

Showing all 81 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  toronto12 June 2017
they only pay 50 cents more for overnight work (thats what they call the premium), They control my hours but they don't give enough hours to me and therefore, i'm not eligible the benefit that i "need". The office often have lost of communication and misinterpret messages. Unsteady hours, and locations.
Pros
no boxed in an office
Cons
unreliable hours, locations, unhelpful staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
PSW (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON22 May 2017
Stay away! Horrible management and unorganized scheduling. The coordinators are clueless, and senseless to your daily capacity of work load. I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Pros
Amazing clients
Cons
Split shift, Burnt out easily
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Scheduling
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Varied15 May 2017
Perfect job for a nursing student - hours are flexible (as few or as many you'd like per day), pay was above minimum wage, and it provided great hands on experience related to my field of study. However, it is hard to get full-time hours, as you need to factor in travel time between paid client hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON24 April 2017
I do my call ahead to my clients. I only work in the evenings and they are not high maintenance compared to working days. Everyone is very enjoyable and pleasant. The hardest part sometimes is figuring out the client likes and dislikes for supper!
Pros
Working alone
Cons
A lot of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal info given to clients
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Lindsay, ON12 April 2017
They tell clients personal info about you don't pay enough for the work you do don't get hurt or sick they will let you go supervisors you can't count on if coordinator calls to ask if you can do more hours they give u the guilt trip if you say no
Pros
Clients
Cons
they dont want you to have a live
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Employers
Homemaker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2017
ParaMed claims to be operating for a long time as a health care provider and yet they don't know the policy on whether employees are paid for jury duty. They don't care about their employees. All they care is profit. They should get their license for operating suspended because they treat employees like trash. Management are not supportive to employees.
Pros
Nothing positive
Cons
Everything for them is profit
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 March 2017
This organization has a poor management practices and office culture. They have no respect for the HCA's or LPN's. They talk about people behind their backs constantly.Very toxic non professional work environment. This review is for the Edmonton Branch only.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at work
PSW personal support worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
love working with people in the community especially in helping elderly with their ADLs.
Paramed is multi-cultural company that hires people from different culture.
Pros
fun day at work
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working there
RPN Community Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2017
No much to say being a community nurse is a fun and stressed job due to luck of security. There is no much to say a like working here, excellent coworkers good team work
Pros
No guaranty work
Cons
Have to put on a different hut every time you enter into a new client's house
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clueless management, unruly employees
Clerical coordinator (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON17 February 2017
Worst job I ever had. Management unprofessional and disengaged with the employees. Absenteeism isn't managed, office staff constantly calls in sick, resulting in snowball effect down the chain. Favoritism runs rampant as well as bullying amongst office staff. HR is non existent. Disgusting work environment.
Pros
Unlimited free sick days!!
Cons
Mismanaged employees
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Client Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Thorold, ON26 January 2017
Busy schedule, lots of time management, multi tasking, constant non stop changes and scheduling issues. Lots of sick calls. Great to help people
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic organization for autonomous practice
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 January 2017
- self-scheduling of patients for daily visits
- management very approachable and welcoming
- ability to guide your own practice as long as policies and procedures are being met
- on-call shifts 16:30-08:00 and then a full day of work the next day
- more on-call shifts than I anticipated and desired to work (very restricted in what you can do while you're on-call since you have to be available to see patients if you can't troubleshoot over the phone)
Pros
self-scheduling of daily patients
Cons
too many on-call shifts and too long of on-call shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mehh
Registered Practical Nurse/Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 January 2017
pay is good but the hours very lacking, no consistency and makes things hard to plan life, technology is very behind and nurses arent given enough responsiblity.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they treat there employees very badly
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON6 January 2017
clt"s are wonderful but the supervisor is an idiot. supervisor does not stick up for employees. only got 1.50 raise in six years there. the decreased the pay for km travelled. not a good employer at all.
Pros
great clt
Cons
horrible supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Assignment Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 January 2017
It will bring out the best from you. Team work at its best. The most challenging environment i have ever been with. People here does not stop from working.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for new-grad nurses
REGISTERED PRACTICAL NURSE (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON3 January 2017
ParaMed is a great company to start your health care career with. They offer a good benefits package, good hours and the opportunity to advance with the company and earn more based on your skill level and experience. Management is very supportive and approachable, I have nothing negative to say about any employee I have encountered in my two years with the company. It's always been a positive experience for me.
Pros
Work phone provided, great atmosphere, highly approachable management
Cons
Restricted/Limited client needs, can feel repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high turn over
Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2017
I did not have a good experience working for this company. They could work on organization, communication, and employee appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy my job and the clients that I service
RN Home Care Health Nurse (Current Employee) –  Fort Frances, ON2 January 2017
The job and clients are enjoyable, but my wage and benefits are not very good. The company and management is very unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment where you feel like you make a difference in the community
Clerical Coordinator/Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON27 December 2016
Great place to work. The office has been more like a family setting. Most of the staff work together to achieve and succeed.
Pros
Hour lunch breaks
Cons
Can be a stressful environment at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the great group of staff
RPN (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ON22 December 2016
Love paramed best job ever flexibility is wonderful we eork to full scope and I have had many opratunitys to broaden my skills since joining g the team
Pros
Self scheduling flexible work life balance
Cons
Not busy enough low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ParaMed Home Health Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 81 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3

ParaMed Home Health Care Reviews by Location