ParaMed Home Health Care Employee Reviews

Showing all 75 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Employers
Homemaker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2017
ParaMed claims to be operating for a long time as a health care provider and yet they don't know the policy on whether employees are paid for jury duty. They don't care about their employees. All they care is profit. They should get their license for operating suspended because they treat employees like trash. Management are not supportive to employees.
Pros
Nothing positive
Cons
Everything for them is profit
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 March 2017
This organization has a poor management practices and office culture. They have no respect for the HCA's or LPN's. They talk about people behind their backs constantly.Very toxic non professional work environment. This review is for the Edmonton Branch only.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working there
RPN Community Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2017
No much to say being a community nurse is a fun and stressed job due to luck of security. There is no much to say a like working here, excellent coworkers good team work
Pros
NO GUARANTY WORK
Cons
HAVE TO PUT ON A DIFFERENT HUT EVERY TIME YOU ENTER INTO A NEW CLIENT'S HOUSE
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clueless management, unruly employees
Clerical coordinator (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON17 February 2017
Worst job I ever had. Management unprofessional and disengaged with the employees. Absenteeism isn't managed, office staff constantly calls in sick, resulting in snowball effect down the chain. Favoritism runs rampant as well as bullying amongst office staff. HR is non existent. Disgusting work environment.
Pros
Unlimited free sick days!!
Cons
Mismanaged employees
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Client Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Thorold, ON26 January 2017
Busy schedule, lots of time management, multi tasking, constant non stop changes and scheduling issues. Lots of sick calls. Great to help people
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic organization for autonomous practice
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 January 2017
- self-scheduling of patients for daily visits
- management very approachable and welcoming
- ability to guide your own practice as long as policies and procedures are being met
- on-call shifts 16:30-08:00 and then a full day of work the next day
- more on-call shifts than I anticipated and desired to work (very restricted in what you can do while you're on-call since you have to be available to see patients if you can't troubleshoot over the phone)
Pros
self-scheduling of daily patients
Cons
too many on-call shifts and too long of on-call shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mehh
Registered Practical Nurse/Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 January 2017
pay is good but the hours very lacking, no consistency and makes things hard to plan life, technology is very behind and nurses arent given enough responsiblity.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they treat there employees very badly
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON6 January 2017
clt"s are wonderful but the supervisor is an idiot. supervisor does not stick up for employees. only got 1.50 raise in six years there. the decreased the pay for km travelled. not a good employer at all.
Pros
great clt
Cons
horrible supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Assignment Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 January 2017
It will bring out the best from you. Team work at its best. The most challenging environment i have ever been with. People here does not stop from working.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for new-grad nurses
REGISTERED PRACTICAL NURSE (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON3 January 2017
ParaMed is a great company to start your health care career with. They offer a good benefits package, good hours and the opportunity to advance with the company and earn more based on your skill level and experience. Management is very supportive and approachable, I have nothing negative to say about any employee I have encountered in my two years with the company. It's always been a positive experience for me.
Pros
Work phone provided, great atmosphere, highly approachable management
Cons
Restricted/Limited client needs, can feel repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high turn over
Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2017
I did not have a good experience working for this company. They could work on organization, communication, and employee appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy my job and the clients that I service
RN Home Care Health Nurse (Current Employee) –  Fort Frances, ON2 January 2017
The job and clients are enjoyable, but my wage and benefits are not very good. The company and management is very unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment where you feel like you make a difference in the community
Clerical Coordinator/Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON27 December 2016
Great place to work. The office has been more like a family setting. Most of the staff work together to achieve and succeed.
Pros
Hour lunch breaks
Cons
Can be a stressful environment at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the great group of staff
RPN (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ON22 December 2016
Love paramed best job ever flexibility is wonderful we eork to full scope and I have had many opratunitys to broaden my skills since joining g the team
Pros
Self scheduling flexible work life balance
Cons
Not busy enough low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Agency I Ever Worked For !!!
health care provider (Former Employee) –  Ontario17 December 2016
I really can't say enough good things. They are the most professional health care agency I have ever worked for in the 25 years I have been a health care worker.
Pros
Very Professional and smart staff.
Cons
They could pay a bit more to the employees. I could make more money elsewhere, but am quite devoted to ParaMed, in spite of this.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Registered Nurse (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2016
its good place to work
no pay if your shift cancel more than 24 hours before
they change your clients all the time
get ready to answer many calls of change clients or location
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON29 November 2016
-Great co-workers, supervisors, coordinators
-Flexible schedules
-Meeting families
-Helping those in need
-Hard to get a stable income

A typical work day, checking your digital device for daily clients, traveling to their homes. Providing AM or HS care accordingly. Reporting observations to supervisor or coordinators, and documenting.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job and life balances out but my salary doesn't meet my expectations
Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC27 November 2016
I start my work early in the morning and finishes at evening.I try to take advantage of each moment to learn more and attain more skills. Moreover, I'm able to manage everything with my ten years of experience as a nurse.
Pros
can balance my work hours with my life.
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid Overstress
Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 November 2016
For the peanuts this company pays it isn't worth the stress. There is no getting ahead of scheduling clients.

The supervisor for the coordinators is bias and will be unprofessional calling people out on the floor then speak with them face to face/ 1:1.

Turnover rate is high in the office.

Had over 4 receptionists in 8 months.
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy faced paced environment
Assignment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON23 October 2016
I enjoyed working at ParaMed. My coworkers were like family. We all got along so well. I learned patience and understanding the needs of the clients and family members. I would schedule staff to go in clients home and tend to there personal care needs. I like the faced paced environment with organization
Pros
excellent communication with supervisor
Cons
job as assignment coordinator Moved to Belleville
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 75 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

ParaMed Home Health Care Reviews by Location