Paragon Security Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 February 2018
Deal with contractors on a daily basis.
Exciting because you never know what is going to happen during the shift.
Active Job, balance desk time and on foot.
Dealing with Emergencies and disturbances throughout the shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 hour Nightshift
Full-Time Tactical Division Guard (Former Employee) –  North York, ON25 January 2018
On a usual Night-Shift period, I would clock in and begin my patrols throughout the building, wrote notes and surveillance on cameras. I also continously repeated that throughout the night until noon. I learned to use my time wisely and work with late hours. The hardest part of the job was the late hours and balancing that with my family life but i did what i had to survive. I did enjoy working with other guards and dealing with problems to protect our community.
Pros
Various hours and time period
Cons
night hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Survival Job
Security Mobile Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2018
Paragon is a great company for anyone from student to someone who is almost retired and wants to survive.

However the company does not have enough opportunity and room for growth.
Cons
Too much politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start
Security Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 January 2018
Great way to get training and experience if you are starting off. Not great in the long run, mediocre benefits, no pay raises unless explicitly requested.
Pros
Good starting experience
Cons
Not a long term career company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible shift
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 December 2017
It was a great experience working with paragon. Being in the industry for about four years, it really does depend on how much you are willing to stay in a industry to BECOME a law enforcement officer. Salary does depend on the site and the team you are under. As long as you're willing to work long and weird hours they've always got a position for you.if you get a good manager/dispatcher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Leslie, ON23 December 2017
Being in the industry for about two years, it really does depend on how much your willing to stay in a industry to BECOME a law enforcement officer. Salary does depend on the site and the team you are under is like a lottery, you may get a good team but maybe with a bad scheduler or a bad team and a blessed scheduler. Take this as a JOB nothing more.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paragon provides good training
Security Officer Mississauga, Brampton, and Barrie (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON22 December 2017
The company is good, but sometimes, it can be a struggle to get a permanent gig.
There is some room for advancement, but I don't know where.
The management is good, but there is little progress as just guard.
Pros
supportive managment
Cons
few hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional security company
security guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 December 2017
Security company that provides security guards to several business industries.
Good working conditions.
Provide free training.
Always hiring.
Flexible work schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They're always hiring...
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON28 November 2017
They're always hiring new guards, because there's always a need for security and because a lot of people quit. Training is good, and everything seems fine when you're first hired. As long as you're willing to work long and weird hours they've always got a position for you... if you get a good manager/dispatcher. If you don't you can go days without work, even after repeated requests for more work/hours.
Pros
Easy relaxed job with good training.
Cons
you're screwed if you don't get a good dispatcher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Security Duties
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON26 November 2017
As a security guard I am responsible for the security of the client property and staff.
Responsible the controlled access to the premises.
Patrol plant to insure all areas are safe and clear of any hazards
Monitor CCTV
Report any infractions to Management.
Pros
Use of company store
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of over night shifts
Security Guard (full-time) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2017
lots of work but its overnight mostly and the pay is min wage
the hardest part is being transferred to a different site if you get a complaint or someone doesn't like you
i learned to always do the job correctly so i won't be held responsible if something goes wrong.
Pros
working alot, learning the city
Cons
low pay, low job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Site Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2017
Enjoyed working for Paragon had great sites but every site I was sent to contract was lost within few months, CSM's were pleasant to work for the scheduling department was good too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
concierge
CONCIERGE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 October 2017
great company for student and newcommers to gain canadian work experiance no room for advancement, if you are new you will be required to work nights and 12 hour shifts on weekeds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2017
Amazing place to wok, nice staff and I personally learned a lot working here. hardest part of the job was to be able finish tasks on time as their were strict deadlines. most enjoyble part would be working at different locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 October 2017
always busy, response time with scheduler and dispatch was good, great co workers, considerate of family, learnt allot in the security business, always got free coffees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment.
Concierge/Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 October 2017
Paragon security is a highly professional security company that gives it employees a wonderful workplace experience. Also, opportunities to grow along with the job and learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Security Guard Operative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 September 2017
What I love about working as a security guard in a condominium is that I am constantly conversing with the residents and faces everyday. I enjoy getting to know the people and they are the ones that makes this work environment comfortable. I'm constantly learning how to talk and handle various types of people, which I believe to be very important when your working as a guard. This workplace is very team oriented, I am not just working with guards but also the cleaning staff, management office, and even sometimes the police on certain situations. The hardest part about the job is dealing with emergency situations, such as a flood or a fire. The reason being is that you have to focus on keeping residents calm but also at the same time focus on the emergency at the same time. These situations were very stressful but of the amount of multitasking that had to be done, but it is in these stressful experiences that helped me learn the most.
Pros
The experience working in a condo and the people you meet
Cons
unfair pay wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but low salary
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2017
its a good place to start your career in security. A challenging job and advancement in security career. The good thing in Paragon is, if you take your five day security course in their academy, they will hire you on the spot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Asset Protection Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2017
Great company I have worked for at the time, the best environment, exciting projects, nice people, very diverse culture, unbelievably diverse and good pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work culture thanks to Schedulers
Security Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 August 2017
Schedulers are really bad. Schedulers make it a priority to make your life real bad, they never help you at all and treat you like garbage. Have absolutely no manners on how to speak to staff.
Client service managers are similar.
The client pays company $23/hr and they pay the security staff $12/hr. And you do all the work, talk about being unfair!!!
Pros
you have a job
Cons
low pay, rude schedulers and unfair Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paragon Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 178 reviews
534
454
348
216
126

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture