Find companies:
Papa John's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,634 reviews

Papa John's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor care and training of employees, too much concern for sales dollers and not eough concern for achieving high quality products.
General Manager (Former Employee), Taber, ABJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: never being able to turn off my phone
A typical day began with inspecting the store for cleanliness, levels of prepared products and reviewing the paperwork of the night before. Next step was to remove dough from the cooler so it could warm up and be the proper temperature for cooking. Then i would start my sinks in the dish pit to do dishes i would need to have clean to make pizzas and – more... prepare toppings for the day. Last thing i would do is call my delivery driver to be sure i had one. Even though the town's average pay rate for delivery driving is between $7.00 and $9.00 per delivery our owners insist on paying our drivers $4.00 per delivery wich made it next to imposssible to keep drivers let alone hire ones that would represent ppj's properly. i would then spend the day preping and cleaning and solving problems as they came up. Twice a week i would wrestle with a too small budget to re-supply the store and once every 2 weeks i would make up the schedule. Every employee was expected to be able to handle store at any time by themselves regardless of training or experience. I was expected to be availible to come in at anytime to rescue them (not an issue with me) but an issue that could have been resolved better if the owner was willing to spend the money and time on better training and more hours for the employees to improve their levels of experience. Hardest part was juggling ppj's expectaions with my owners expectations with what was phiscally possible by my employees and I. The people themselves that i worked with were the most enjoyable part of this job and the next, was the reponsibility of being a manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Even paced steady work environment!
Cook/Dish Washer/Customer Service (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKDecember 6, 2012
Day to day work was to make,prepare and store pizza dough. Sauce and put toppings on the pizzas according to the order and cook them. work the cashier and provide the best customer service possible. The management was layed back and often off there feet when it came to there duties such as providing work materials.
My co workers were easy to get along – more... with and did there part.
The hardest part of the job was cleaning the oven every time it needed to be cleaned. The best part of the job for me was preparing the pizzas to be cooked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing workplace with friendly a staff!
Cook/Dish Washer/Customer Service (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: layed back and fun work
Cons: not enough hours
it was a good working environment, never had any problems and the job was fairly layed back but i did not enjoy the lack of hours with this job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pizza and customers equal pride in product
Store Manager (Former Employee), brantford ontarioApril 10, 2012
team oriented. customer oriented. product quality is above many many pizza places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
DRIVER (Current Employee), Mesa, ArizonaSeptember 29, 2014
It feels like a family environment when you are working. Nobody is being negative or making the job uncomfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, very team oriented
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Cedar Falls, IowaSeptember 29, 2014
As the hours were not promising here, it was a joy to work for this store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on the go and busy
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Saint Charles, MOSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no bbreaks
Manageing a large group of people on a daily basis.I learned a lot of computer skills with money etc. As managment i learned how to control a fast pased envirement with a lot of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Papa Johns Review
Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: 50% off your order
Cons: no benfits
It is a very fast pace work environment. However, there are no benefits. I have learned a lot working at papa johns management has really brought me far such as patience with customers. Multitasking is a big part to the job . The co-workers are pretty amazing some days are not always good but that's everywhere. The hardest part about papa johns is there – more... is no set hour to leave because being in a food business its not about do this much at this time its all about the customers and when will they stop ordering. I enjoy money that's the most favorite part of the job . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Papa maker (Former Employee), Flemington, PASeptember 28, 2014
too stressful of a work environment, did not work with e mployees schedules, scheduling done night before the start of a new week, did enjoy the work and working with the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Inside Representative (Current Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: cool job, laid back, interaction, and hands on activities
Cons: not a lot of hours available, no bonus, no benefit, no raise
A typical day at work consist of constantly interacting with customers as well as employees. I enjoy providing great customer service to customers i greet them by name and am very polite i enjoy making our customers feel comfortable and taken care of . I enjoy my job here but i am looking for something more stable.In June of 2014 i graduated high school – more... i now realize that it is time for me to aim higher and set bigger goals for myself. I would like to be full time and to make more money . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for all ages
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 25, 2014
This was my starting job and I would come in and make pizza's for the customers, eventually I moved up to management and being preforming opening and closing procedures. This is a great job and it teaches food safety, customer service, and the company I was working for even paid for management to go to Dave Ramsey's seminars to help with money management. – more... They were supportive and really reached out to their employees; honestly I didn't feel like another body but actually somebody when I worked there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Team Member (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: half off food
Cons: short hours or cut when slow
• Take food and drink orders and receive payment from customers.
• Prepare dough, following recipe.
• Measure ingredients required for specific food items being prepared.
• Clean food preparation areas, cooking surfaces, and utensils.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
ASST MANAGER (Former Employee), Auburn, ALSeptember 25, 2014
The store is in a college city so you see a lot of people come in and out. You start to build relationships with customers. It was a fun-filled atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Future Employee
In-Store Worker (Current Employee), Rocky Mount, NcSeptember 24, 2014
I excel in almost everything. I am a nice person and everyone seems to love me. I get along with all types of people and employes. I attend work every day I am scheduled, unless I become ill. I never had a company I worked for write me up. I am a hard worker and I stay on task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job with flexibility
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: easy as pie, very fair pay with tips
Cons: no free evenings
Easy job for the most part, learning the in's and out's of making pizza and taking customer orders was more difficult than the driving aspect of the job. For the most part the job's hours are flexible, however you will be expected to work evenings and weekends and if you somehow avoid doing that, you'll miss out on where the money is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The top of the line pizza chain. But it's still just pizza...
Insider, Shift Leader (Former Employee), Castle Rock, CO & Melbourne, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: very easy work
Cons: horrible hours, night and weekend work, low pay
If you want to work at the most professional pizza place then Papa John's is the place. Expect to only work nights and weekends unless you're very lucky. If you're an insider expect about 15 hours a week, 5-8 nights and weekends making minimum wage. If you are a manager, expect your schedule to never be consistent. When you get down to it, your success – more... all depends on the GM you work for. I've had great experiences working for this company and not so great ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day at work
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: get to get out of the store
Cons: can not pick your deliveries
in the mornings, i make sauce bucket and start working on prep before deliveries come through. I like my co workers they are nice. My managers are fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promising business
cashier in training (Former Employee), Bronx New yorkSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Cons: no breaks
Was a very hot environment, I learned how to deal with customers under high stress levels. The management there was unprofessional and they were vague on answers when I would question them. My co-workers were a little too friendly & were a distraction from work. The hardest part was knowing I was going back there. Knowing I was getting paid was a bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Papa John's Pizza
Michael Doyle, Pizza delivery driver (Current Employee), Renton, WASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: free food, flexible schedule, great customers and work environment
Cons: no benefits, low hours
My normal work day revolves around folding boxes, topping pizza but mainly cutting, boxing and delivering the pizza in a timely manner. I learn to keep a tight schedule around getting the pizzas out on time and helping management with topping pizzas and helping customers. I get along very well with my managers, I usually close so good manager/employee – more... relations are a must. Its usually the hardest part of the job when I, or someone else, forgets to take the right pizza and we have to go back down to the destination we just went to to give the person a free pizza but I love the freedom of driving all the time and people being so excited to get their pizzas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Papa johns
Insider (Former Employee), Tampa fl. Evansville indianaSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: good people to work with, excellent pizza. very busy !
Cons: got sick of the pizza fast
My first job, learned how to make pizzas and answer phones, and lateron when i worked for this company again , I learned how to doe slap.

About Papa John's

Papa John's Pizza is the third largest take-out and delivery pizza restaurant chain in the United States, behind Pizza Hut and – Read more