Find companies:
Papa John's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,596 reviews

Papa John's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Even paced steady work environment!
Cook/Dish Washer/Customer Service (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKDecember 6, 2012
Day to day work was to make,prepare and store pizza dough. Sauce and put toppings on the pizzas according to the order and cook them. work the cashier and provide the best customer service possible. The management was layed back and often off there feet when it came to there duties such as providing work materials.
My co workers were easy to get along – more... with and did there part.
The hardest part of the job was cleaning the oven every time it needed to be cleaned. The best part of the job for me was preparing the pizzas to be cooked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing workplace with friendly a staff!
Cook/Dish Washer/Customer Service (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: layed back and fun work
Cons: not enough hours
it was a good working environment, never had any problems and the job was fairly layed back but i did not enjoy the lack of hours with this job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pizza and customers equal pride in product
Store Manager (Former Employee), brantford ontarioApril 10, 2012
team oriented. customer oriented. product quality is above many many pizza places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, bad morals.
General Manager (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: lack of work/life balance
High-ranking sales location: increase profitability, manage increased number of team members, report weekly profit and loss, hire and train new employees, and set S.M.A.R.T. goals (specific, measureable, achievable, realistic, and time-targeted)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work shitfs
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Lake Wales, FLSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: good tips, fun driving
Cons: not enough hours given in a shift
After I clock in to begin my shift I start washing dishes, then I fold boxes. Until I receive a delivery. that's the best part about this job is the different places and customers I meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement available for hard-working employees and that's the only benefit
Insider (Current Employee), Walkertown, NCSeptember 15, 2014
If you like a fast-paced environment and multi-tasking, this is an easy job. The pay is what you would expect from this type of job- not very good. But if you work hard you can get more hours. However, there is a lazy staff and ineffective managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast
Delivery Driver/Team Member (Former Employee), Gallipolis, OHSeptember 15, 2014
it had to be good to make it in this job .good with people and good with pizza.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Galveston, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: discounted pizza sometimes free
Cons: use own vehicle puts mileage and tear on personal vehicles
Management works well with employees to have life outside of work place, I learned the trick to making money is keeping busy during down time as an driver because if slow allowed to go home but it always picks up as extra drivers leave. Do not like the payout system and payroll is quite confusing. I also think that if we are using our own vehicles that – more... the company should supply us with emergency gas money because not every customer tips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: 50% off pizzas
Cons: friday nights are intense
Easy, straight forward work. Great tips if you are a driver. Scheduling is easy to work around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to be an employee
CASHIER/FRONT COUNTER (Former Employee), Auburndale, FLSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: sales experience
Cons: no reliable hours
I enjoyed working as a cashier at Papa Johns. I learned many new skills, many like customer service appreciation. I learned how to up-sell when someone makes orders, I also learned how to handle customers who are upset . I thoroughly enjoyed working with customers. The manager was not the best manager. In my own personal opinion he was not mature enough – more... to be a manager, he did not take his job as serious as he should. He favored certain employees by giving them more hours or letting them leave early in the middle of dinner rush. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean workplace but management needs work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Sioux City, IASeptember 13, 2014
A typical workday simply included preparing pizzas and delivering them to the customer and just cleaning the workplace so it wasn't messy or dirty. The management though could use some work. They would act more as friends than managers and you could literally get away with pretty much anything. It was super laid back but due to the "friendships" the – more... managers tried making it was dramaful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work always busy
Store Manager (Former Employee), Lynwood, CASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch and well paid
Cons: no health care and very little time off
I would open and count all the store cash then make last nights deposit. After that i would check last nights inventory and sales id set new ones for the day. Twice a week id place a food order and once a week id order sodas. Id also make a schedule and set goals for the weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and friendly enviroment
manager (Former Employee), Salina, KSSeptember 11, 2014
Everybody helped everybody nobody got in to disagreements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Suffolk, VASeptember 11, 2014
• Delivered pizza’s when orders where ready
• Maintained cleanliness in work environment
• Prepped various pizza’s
• Operated cashier when needed
• Took orders over the phone and assisted customers as they walked in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for college students!
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Selden, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: free pizza
Cons: minimum pay
The store I managed had a fun atmosphere. Flexible hours, time went by quickly. Pay wasn't great, but for the amount of actual work to be done it was reasonable. Can be a great part time job for delivery drivers, particularly rewarding during evening rush hours were you could make the most tip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here was alright.
Team Member (Former Employee), Houma, LASeptember 9, 2014
Clocked in, Washed my hands, Started making pizzas, I learned how to shape dough, The managers were cool and easy to work with, The hardest part of the job was the supper rush, The most enjoyable part of the job was when it was slow and was able to talk to co- workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Food Processor/Cashier (Former Employee), New Orleans, LASeptember 9, 2014
Flexible hours and great management! Co-workers were fun and we were really a great team. I learned A lot and there was always room to row.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment and family-like co-workers
Shift manager (Former Employee), Sapulpa, OKSeptember 9, 2014
A day at work included, stretching dough, counting inventory, food prep, answering phones, taking orders, making sure food and deliveries were on time, keeping employees on task, cleaning the store, counting/depositing money. I learned how to manage a restaurant by myself and how to manage labor and sales. The management team and co-workers were helpful – more... and flexible. There were stressful nights, but we pulled through and made a great team. The hardest part of the job was learning how to balance everything alone during a shift. The most enjoyable part was the amazing people I worked with and the hard work they helped me with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful work environment.
SHIFT LEAD (Current Employee), Dothan, ALSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: no breaks over 5 minutes, work on holidays and every weekend, and only certain people get healthcare.
I would go in at either 9:00 am, 5:00 pm, and get off at either 7:00 pm, 1:00 am respectively. I learned how to multi task and do it quickly and effectively. I learned how to deal with upset customers and how to monitor labor, service, and food requirements. I was a shift-lead and the upper management would blame issues on the shift leads. The hardest – more... part of the job was working on every holiday and every weekend and missing so much family time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the great people I came in contact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and success can lead you places
In-Store (Former Employee), Jamestown, NYSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: no breaks
When I began they sat me down and had me learn phones and the computer system. I had on hand training and experience. They gave me 15 minutes to learn and had me deal with real calls for 15 minutes and they hired on the spot. I learned fast and took criticism well to improve myself and the store. I did not receive any breaks. Management would expect – more... me to do everything, so I learned anything I could. I started with phones and moved up to casshier, then to prep, and making the food, and then cutting and sending out orders. I was fast and diligent. I did excellent at my job and management had me train new employees, even the shift manager. I would train others and had no advancement in my posistion. My coworkers were fun and easy going and great to work with. The overall environment was nice. The hardest part was dealing with upset coworkers or upset customers, I do not like when people are upset, I strive to make others happy. Best part was working with the other employees. – less

About Papa John's

Papa John's Pizza is the third largest take-out and delivery pizza restaurant chain in the United States, behind Pizza Hut and – Read more