Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,618 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, dedicated managers and committed workforce
Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 18, 2014
Pros: 50% discount off
Cons: can get stressful during rush hour
A day at Panera is always fun and exciting. From giving customers their best experience to gaining more knowledge about customer support, something new is always happening at Panera.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 23, 2014
Pros: fun, 50% discount
Cons: short hours
I love working at panera but lately management has cut down people's hours unfairly. The workers and management are all friendly though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, OntarioMay 1, 2014
Pros: 70% off discount
Cons: short hours for full time
The workplace is a really fun environment. The general manager is really nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Active, busy
Serving food and assisting customers on all needs (Former Employee), 9350 Yonge St Richmond Hill, ONApril 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches, friendly people
Cons: tedious work.
A fun active place to work in, learn a lot about how the food industry works and free food as well. Very active environment. The occasional loud and angry customer but not the biggest deal in the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at Panera Bread
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: 50% discount on food
Cons: selfish and mean staff, no form of training, too much gossip
Life at Panera bread consisted of various tasks including doing dishes and table service (for me at least). I would greet customers and service them by bringing their ordered food to their selected table. Before closing, I would sweep, mop, and vacuum the floors, bring dishes and utensils to their original spot (if I was assigned to dishes) and overall – more... make sure the area I was assigned to is clean. Instructions are easy to follow but management (including shift supervisors) would present expectation on the spot and not beforehand which served as a problem due to the location being a food franchise. Customs and new rules not stated within the handbook would also be relayed as an excuse to get angry at the workers (from what I've seen). The co-workers are friendly but most do gossip and give each other tension. The only hard part of the job is during lunch hour because of the rush. Food needs to be brought to tables in less than five minutes and depending how well our Line Cooks finish, then that will determine if I make it to the table early or late. The most enjoyable part of the job is servicing the customers and working as a team with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open communication, respected management and great products
Baker (Current Employee), North York, ONDecember 17, 2013
Pros: lunches are given, new products are rolled out each quarter
A typical day consists of prepping the dough for the night baker, baking what is required of the cafe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very teamwork oriented, fun at times.
Catering Co-ordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 12, 2013
Pros: great colleagues.
Cons: inexperienced management.
Very early days.
I learned to function outside of my comfort zone.
Management, somewhat easy going, but not too cohesive and lacking in experience.
Colleagues are great and dedicated to ensuring the guest/ customer does not suffer.
The hardest part of my job is waking up early.
The most enjoyable, working with my colleagues and meeting the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too bad ZERO is not an option...
Baker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 17, 2013
Pros: none!!!!
Cons: do not pay for months!!!!!!!!
I worked for Panera bread as a baker but did not like the night shifts so I stopped working for them, they said they would pay me the money owed (for 64.5 hours of work), 5 weeks went by of continuous contact and phone calls to head office and the district manager trying to get my money... I had to file a complaint with the Labour Board before finally – more... getting some attention!!!! Even then, the lady in the payroll department was rude and disgusting to deal with!!! I am glad I filed that claim because hopefully they will get fined!!! I still have not received my cheque but at least the labour board has contacted me and guaranteed me that one way or another I will get my money - and if Panera does not pay it willingly they will be compelled by law!!! This is an afull company to work for that does not value its employees and breaks the law by not paying them for months at a time!!!!! TERRIBLE!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Workplace; our work is appreciated.
Overnight Baker/ Certified Baker Trainer (Current Employee), Inland Empire, CAJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: friendly people, independent workplace, lunch credit
Cons: graveyard shift
Working as a baker for Panera Bread is a very rewarding experience. Knowing that our baked product is on display day after day really provides an incentive for us to do our best.
We start at 10 PM and work through the night. All of the bread is baked fresh every night, no exceptions. I've learned to be a leader in my workplace and have advanced into – more... a position of leadership as a Certified Baker Trainer. Upper management is always supportive and have a big presence in the workplace despite not being able to be at every cafe in one night. Being that there are 15+ cafes in the inland empire, management relies on the baker trainers to ensure that Panera standards are being followed day in and day out.
The hardest part of this job would have to be the hours. The job itself is enjoyable but it takes time to adjust to the graveyard shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work!
Via Panera Coordinator (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches and learning new techniques to market the product.
Cons: sometimes i would work 21+ days in a row.
I absolutely loved my job!! I did all the layouts and catering. I loved going out and meeting new people to introduce the new catering concept Panera Bread put out. I got along great with my co-workers and management staff. We all worked like a well-oiled machine, preparing breakfast and lunch catering orders. I delivered all the orders on time and – more... in the best condition. I would have to say that the hardest part of the job was speaking in front of large groups of people without much notice. My favorite part of the job though was seeing the look on customers faces when I made them the "star" of the meeting with great food prepared and packaged to perfection. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee), Pittsfield, MAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: discounted lunches
Cons: bad pay bad benefits
FUN PLACE TO WORK, NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT BAD PAY BAD BENEFITS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera Bread
Cashier (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJAugust 25, 2014
fast paste environment
customer service
sale new items
maintenance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very chill atmosphere with some great food
Associate (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEAugust 23, 2014
Pros: great food, great atmosphere.
Cons: ability to move up in the company is almost non-existent
Days always started by coming in and prepping area for the rest of the night. I learned a lot of different skills like inventory management because i would put the truck away twice a week. Management was pretty flexible and understanding of many different things which made it easy to work there. My coworkers were usually pretty open and really included – more... everyone that walked through those doors. The job had really good bread and awesome stuff to put on it, needless to say my favorite part about that place was the food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworker
Cashier (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 23, 2014
Pros: very relaxed on certain days
Cons: not enough structure. managers do not agree on how to handle issues.
I get there after lunch rush, So I have to restock everything in time for dinner rush. I have learned that the food industry is very difficult. Its hard to please every guests needs and wants. Management was pretty relaxed until they hired new managers who have no idea what they are doing or how to handle such a busy environment. As long as everybody – more... knows what they are doing and are doing it your time can go by quickly and smoothly. I work with a great crew at night. I love almost everybody I work with we understand each other and help each other out. I enjoy my regular customers the make my job ten times esier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall company message, but not all stores hold true
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Chester, VAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: 65% discount on $10 of product per shift, free soda/coffee
Cons: new terrible smoking policy, lazy managers
Managers are disorganized and often times blatantly ignore associates in need. More worried about having their morning latte or three (which they don't ring up or account for) than if their associates are under control and not overworked. They would rather delegate work and create unfair policies than get their hands dirty. I see many newer managers – more... show a lot of spunk and enthusiasm for their jobs. If their stores are hiring I'd say go ahead. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a well run machine
Assitant Manager (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIAugust 19, 2014
My personal experiences working with Panera Bread have been nothing but positive. Every person I have met within the brand has a wonderful attitude and is service focused. They demand a lot of their staff but take care of them well. A good training program and a focus on development from within creates a lot of upward mobility. These constant opportunities – more... allow you to take from the job what you want not what your stuck with. Overall, a wonderful company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and very friendly
Associate (Current Employee), Brooklyn, OhioAugust 18, 2014
I learned how to manage my time at this job. A typical morning starts out fast here. When you work on the line you have to have things set up for lunch while making breakfast for customers. Everyone is so friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about employees
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), PAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: you have no life
They don't care about their employees and there is NO work life balance unless you are the store manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera bread
Cashier/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: management
They honestly are a great company, but some locations are trained better then others they promise there employees things and never follow up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Trainer, Austin and San Marcos (Former Employee), San Marcos, TXAugust 16, 2014
its a job. ok for students but would not want to work here forever

1 2 3 4 5

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more