Paladin Security Employee Reviews

Found 323 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Ontario10 July 2017
Average security company salaries
Usual 12 hour shifts
Constant possibilities of career advancements
No delays on salary payments
Use of Force and NVCI training
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Security Guard, Brampton Civic Hospital (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 July 2017
They make me sad. Terrible staff and work culture. I hated every moment I was there. Rude Rude Rude Rude Rude Rude Rude Rude Rude Rude Rude so rudeeee
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, expected employees to perform duties for which they had no training.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE5 July 2017
I was not impressed by this employer. They were disorganized, not responsive to communication, expected employees to come in "on call" after having worked an 8 or 12 hour shift just a few hours previous. The manager was a big part of the problem. Not the best employment experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wages
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB5 July 2017
Not good enough wages for health care guards. Parking gets just as much as health care guards do which is not right. Not given raises properly and now with minimum wage going up were probably not getting raises either. We should be making like $20 an hour. Benefits are great if you opt to take them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 July 2017
would not reccommed as several sites are employed by supervisors that do not show courtesy towards non-site trained employees. also operations are outrageous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a very great communication network
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2017
I've started as a full-time in Scarborough Hospital. Learned many things and were able to communicate with many people. After 3 months of working i had to switch to a casual position due to school time table. The head office sends me e-mails every Thursdays for shifts that are near where i live (York Region) and i just call them back by phone and book the shifts i want to work.
I recommend ANYONE to join Paladin Security as a casual to earn extra cash on the side, but don't expect a very high wage since this is a job for no-brainers.
Pros
Excellent time management for Casuals and Part-timers
Cons
They are too friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB29 June 2017
I found a lot of flexibility within the company when it comes to needing shifts, vacations, time off etc.
For my particular position, I believe I could be making more with what it entails, but also depends on the client. Pay is also nerve-wracking. Double check your schedules just in case.

Much better than my old company, thats for sure.
Pros
Nice people, flexible, caring, catering to needs
Cons
lack of financial organization, could earn more
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good team & great learning experience
Human Resource (Co-Op) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 June 2017
I am here as a HR Co-Op and I really enjoy my work. The team is very welcoming, friendly and cooperative. My experience here has been very good, got to learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All depends on the site you get to work at
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Manitoba23 June 2017
I've been working at various sites with the company and some of them are awful some are quite nice. Company's management is irresponsible at times and doesn't seem to care much about guards, but it doesn't matter all that if you get a good site supervisor. Really flexible hours and scheduling, great for a part time work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Company
Security Guard (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 June 2017
Security Company
Healthcare sector
Casual guards
Alberta Health Services
patient watch
customer services
security watch
patrolling
Lower pay, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 June 2017
Great company to work for, great environment. Worked airport and hospital and various other sites . I had to use my own vehicle for travel. I had to secure properties that had vulnerable assets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Profile Security Officer
High Profile Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Nova Scotia17 June 2017
This is a great job if you are looking for experience and a job to pay the bills, the contacts that the security company has are hospitals and NSLC. The shifts are 12 to 16 hours at length for hospital and 4 to 10 for NSLC shifts and also opportunity for special events such as port of wines and dragon boat festal being their main two .You have the opportunity to work with RCMP, Paramedics, Healthcare staff, Porters, ,Morgue workers, Kitchen staff, Mental Health, Mobile Crisis, Triage, Charge nurses, HRP, NSLC cashiers. Main goal of job is provide safety and security, access control, patient assists, verbal conflict resolution, and most of all Customer Service. No experience is needed to join company, no promotions are given to people with education, all employees treated as they don't know anything The security officer is paid the least amount the company can get away with which is a little more the minimum wage clients give company $25.00 for hospital security staff but company pays less because their contracted not union-ed. Many workers will ask pay but it is confidential as in any job, and workers believe security officers should be paid a reasonable rate for what security officers go through in a regular shift and hours put in. The Security officers you meet on any site are great, awesome people to work with. Management is hard to talk to in for them and the hiring process is done by one person, work is passed on to other officers who don’t get paid to do set extra task, and growth of the company comes down to who you know and connections you have with management. Scheduler  more... will call you for shifts more than 5 times a day even if your answer was no the first time. Paladin security is low staffed so they will use occupational needs and move you to different sites as you have no say if they pay and give you the same hours you normally should of had unless you get put on a NSLC shift then they will take money away, because they don't care for employees they are just pawns to be handed off to clients. Management will lie to your face and tell you if your shift ends that you must stay until someone relieves you or you will be punished, which is incorrect if you tell them that labor board will be called they will pretend nothing was said. Company will put blame on officers whenever possible and write written warnings, for anything. Step on the wrong foot or find out something that could put management in jeopardy you will be put on the no hire list. There is no complaint system in the company, any issues are brought up to one person in management and are normally thrown out. Promotions are given by decisions of person not experience or commitment to company. Evaluations are not given and recorded, there is no performance reviews unless it’s for something bad, or for a person with connections to management, record all conversations and get acceptance of shifts, contracts in writing or by email and save it as management tend to lose, forget or take away shifts contacts or promotions, all training with paladin is paid by employee, training before hire is not paid, policy and procedures are changed regular to fit management needs, Uniform is to be picked up by guard even if you have no transportation and live outside the city, paychecks half the time will be incorrect and take weeks to get back to you, Vacation time is not told by management if your approved or not, but will pay 3 hours if you show up for shift and you’re supposed to be on vacation, . No paid Breaks. Overtime is never approved unless it’s the last option, do have the ability to ask for more money to come in a shift if they really need you but max they will pay out is $18.25 and possible $21.50 for special events. Vacation request need to be asked months before. No sick days. Benefits are given out to full time workers over 48 hours a week with expense of $13.40 each pay check paid by employee and only covered for 50% Medical, and Dentistry.  less
Pros
great teams, lots of experience, great for resume, lots of hours, work with different departments, mental health experience, great resume builder, self ability to learn and become a better speaker and conflict manger
Cons
no breaks, management is for self, vacation need to be set out months before, No sick Days, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under paid and under managed
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON12 June 2017
under paid for years I applied for full time positions several times to find that they where given to family members of the management staff that had just started with the company not a fan of these people at all
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative employee's and no communication
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS8 June 2017
The management at Paladin security relies highly on favouritism when promoting from within. The communication from Management, to supervisors down to everyday workers is absolutely horrendous and it is a shame this company considers itself one of the top security company's in the industry. The screening process upon hiring is almost non-existent as they are always understaffed and will hire almost anyone to fill all their available positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional, ethically strong workplace
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC7 June 2017
every day was different and guaranteed to be busy
i learned a lot in the way of professionalism
Management was always willing to try to accommodate various scheduling problems and any errors that occurred
the hardest part of the job which was in a hospital would be seeing the amount of people whom were in a bad way
the most enjoyable part was knowing that I made a difference
Cons
long hours, on call alot, tiring shifts, short turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON7 June 2017
Paladin has been a great stepping stone to my career in law inforcement. Giving me plenty of great oppertunties and advancement in my job. Great people, great work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paladin
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 June 2017
great company to start up in coming out of highschool,

the company works to help you find the best suitable work condition and have various sites where you can work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is okay
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 June 2017
enjoyed working with them. helped pay the bills and pay for expenses whenever i went out and stuff. company has its flaws management wise and operations wise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff and management
SECURITY GUARD (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 June 2017
it was good, could've have been better. the management had no idea what they were doing. If your looking for minimum wage job this job is chill. If your looking for security a pylon with a camera attached would be better.
Pros
You choose your break
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security job- period
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 May 2017
Very little motivation. managers tried to find fault with employees so they could look good to the boss. I eventually had to get back monies from them through the Employment Standards as they were horrible at paying employees the correct amount for overtime ($4000!)
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Very uncertain where you'd be working
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paladin Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 334 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1