Find companies:
Pactiv
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
232 reviews

Pactiv Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a temporary position
Cash Applications Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 2, 2013
It's a good work/life balance.

Co-workers and management are excellent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Purchasing/Procurement Administrator (Current Employee), Conyers, GADecember 18, 2014
I enjoy working here.

Great environment.

My coworkers are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok swing shift not bad enjoyu the co-workers
Exturtion Operator (Former Employee), covington gaDecember 13, 2014
watching line route gage check saaftey work on lines trouble shooting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jobs Opportunities
Machine Operator/Team Leader (Former Employee), Frankfort, ILDecember 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hrs
Operating, repairing thermoformers machines paperwork at the end of the shift.
I learned about working in a team setting, how to be a team leader and various maintenance skills. I also learned about 401Ks and how to purchase stocks and bonds.
Co-workers was willing to learn how to do their jobs more efficiently and grow with the company.
The hardest – more... part of the job was the work hours. we worked 12 hours shifts
The enjoyable part of the job was the company everyone worked well together to reach our goals. The pay was great also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PACKAGING
Packer/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Mooresville, NCDecember 2, 2014
Pros: great work experiece
• Mark and label containers, container tags, or products, using marking tools and preprinted labels.
• Measure, weigh, and count products and materials.
• Examine and inspect containers, materials, and products in order to ensure that packing specifications are met.
• Record product, packaging, and order information on specified forms and records.
 – more... Remove completed or defective products or materials, placing them on moving equipment such as pallet jack or moving them in specified areas such as loading docks.
• Make adjustments to machine to ensure product specifications.
• Detailed inspections of product in order to maintain best quality upon customer delivery.
• Work in a high energy, fast paced environment.
• Keep work area clean and clutter-free.
• Effectively communicate with team leader and co-workers to relay information regarding quality of product and machine operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Thermoforming Machine Operator (Former Employee), Conyers, GADecember 1, 2014
Pros: good place to work.
Cons: sometimes it was to hot.
I was happy working at pactiv, I had a injury away from work, and I am not sure I could work to my expectations there any more, so I am trying to find a new career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job long hours
Assembly Line Operator (Former Employee), Mount Carmel, PANovember 20, 2014
it was a good job but it was also long hours to work and with so many assembly lines it was sometimes difficult to keep up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked 60+ hours a week
Set-up Technician (Former Employee), Grant Park, ILNovember 19, 2014
Responsible for overall tooling changeover of all thermoforming machines to meet production for assigned tasks including removal and replacements of tool dies, make needed adjustments for maximum performance, and ensure first run parts meet quality criteria. Complete preventive maintenance on all tooling. Assist Team Leads with plant production as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stepping stone
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), Kinston, NCNovember 7, 2014
Pros: concrete schedule
Cons: awful enviroment
A typical day at work is absolutely dull and devoid of any thing resembling interest or excitement, however this job serves as a great stepping stone to something better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice exprience
packing (Former Employee), Temple, TXNovember 6, 2014
Pros: could go home early
Cons: breaks
i like to have different things under my belt.This was something different an i won't to see if i could accomplish it an i did
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pactiv
forklift tugger (Former Employee), Frankfort, ILNovember 6, 2014
a typical day at work, didn't really like how they ran the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful working environment
Packaging Line Worker (Former Employee), Mooresville, NCNovember 6, 2014
Pros: working by yourself or with co-workers yours friends with
Cons: healthcare, hot space
Typical day started at 6:45 A.M. Clocking in, going to your work station and releasing the night shift. First off you have to load plastic cups on to a machine, check the print on the cups, pack cups into to boxes. If the machine stopped you had to figure out how to fix it and get it running again and also make sure the print is right on the cups. At – more... the end of the day 6:45 P.M. we went to empty the messed up cups to the back and cleaned up our area. Management was hard because everybody was everywhere and very busy. MY co-workers were fun to be around and we taught each other different things that we learned from different shift/line leader that day on what to do and not to do. The hardest thing about the job was getting blamed for not looking for print and make sure the paint was okay for the cups, when your the only one at the machine. Some machines needed two people and if someone was out you was the only one at the machine. The most enjoyable about the job was that you was at a different machine everyday or working with new people and getting to know them and helping them. This job was easy because it was a temp job and getting paid every Friday is always good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotes from within
Product Design Engineer (Current Employee), South Portland, MENovember 5, 2014
Great people, Lots of different projects at one time.
very flexible on hours, But when needed lots of overtime which I loved
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 5, 2014
Cons: temporary
Fun experience, Great Co-Workers, and there was nothing hard about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comradery On Four Wheels
Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee), Canandaigua, NYOctober 24, 2014
Pros: equipment break down were fixed in a realitively feasable time table.
The day would start out with teasing and non-physical hazing amongst myself and my fellow co-workers while waiting for the daily start up meeting. Once the daily assignments were passed out, assistance was given when needed, depending on the assigned task.
The greatest lessen learned was the importance of working with your team and asking for help prior – more... to a situation becoming critical.
Personality conflicts is single handedly the toughest part of the job.

While At Pactiv, I was able to become a certified trainer. What I really enjoyed was taking on a "Newbie" and watching them learn the job tasks and understand the science behind the distribution system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Thermoformer Operator (Current Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: job culture
Working for Pactiv is overall an exciting place to work never a dull moment, it is a fast pace job and there is always room for improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent employer somewhat antiqued equipment, outdated mentality in management
Senior Operator/ Machine Maintenance (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 19, 2014
Cons: short breaks, bad attitudes, my way or the highway mentality
Frustration with having to correct machinery and acquire materials to begin work from one shift to the next, lack of knowledge regarding machinery repair from maintenance dept. Lack of support and / or acknowledgement from management in regards to problems existing in production areas. Very poor training and cross training programs, no opportunities – more... for advancement. Pays well, if all you want is a job. I learned that most just go through the motions, and have no real work ethic. Co workers are okay, but resistant in assisting new hires in learning their positions. The hardest part of this job is realizing that improvements in production areas and attitude adjustments among senior employees would increase company productivity and overall atmosphere, but due to the lack of management promoting this has lead to a lot of personal confrontations within the workforce. The most enjoyable part of the job, no matter what position held, for 8 hours work you may, due to downtime, only actually put in roughly half that time actually producing product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electrical maintenance technician
Electrical Maintenance Technician (Contract) (Current Employee), Mooresville, NCOctober 10, 2014
Typical day starts by meeting with previous shift, passing information over. Then immediately walking the production lines. Management are there when you need them. Co workers are great to get along with especially when getting the common task done efficiently. The hardest part of the job, is trying to get a job done when parts needed are not available. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is when the lines are running great without any hiccups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work for
Analyst Chain Supply 1 (Former Employee), Bedford parkSeptember 27, 2014
They don't care about anyone there.They let people go all the time the longer you are you are the first to be let go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A SAFE NOR PROPER TRAINING IN PLACE
labor temp (Former Employee), Winchester VASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: none this place needs alot of changes
Cons: inproper training expect you to be as fast as ther long time emplopees within a few days
I was hired in as a temp I worked 7 1/2 days the equipment never was in proper working condition so limited training say I could not keep up with bagging product out of seven days the equipment was down at least four of those days and the days that they did work they would run for and hour down for a least two hours they expected me to keep up with – more... people that have been there for 7 to 14 years well the real kicker is they let me go because they have workers come in from NW where people with DISABILITIES come in there to work well in the seven days I have been there I take notice to one of those workers being mistreated so I go to the boss to make her aware of the situation give a written statement about it I also told her how I feel about this I have a family member with the same disability and I made the statement that anyone treated him that way heads would roll just trying to get the point across to her about how important this situation is so later they came to me saying they had to let me go because I made an indirect threat on and employee well I did not make any threats on anyone but if I had known by doing the right thing was going cost me my job I would have just said something to the worker myself but I took this to who I thought would handle this and a proper manner so I was asked to leave and the bully of handicap people still working so bottom line this company has no compassion for the weak that they allow to work in their work place so I hope the new owners come in and clean this place up because we do live in a world with gods special children and it is our job to watch over them so overall PACTIV needs new rules in place Winchester VA REALLY NEEDS AND UNDERCOVER BOSS IN THERE – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Pactiv

At Pactiv, continuous innovation has secured our place as the world’s largest manufacturer and distributor of food packaging – Read more

Pactiv Photos