Find companies:
Pacific National Exhibition
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Pacific National Exhibition Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good relationship with customers
Shuttle bus driver (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 26, 2014
Pros: having fun with customers
Cons: fair time only
Short period of time
fair time only
management good
good relationship with co-workers
having fun with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average (temporary) work experience
wheel dearler (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCMarch 30, 2014
Pros: minor discount with fair merchandise, free entry while employed.
Cons: long standing hours, strict dress code.
Pacific National Exhibition (PNE) is a renowned company that utilizes light-shows and extravaganzas to cover up the mediocre work environment.

Throughout the brief period of time I work at the PNE, as a wheel dealer, my supervisor at most, once a day; expects his/her subordinates to be super-enthusiastic, and super energetic like an autistic kid on – more... a sugar high. Despite the fact that his/her subordinates shows more enthusiasm in a minute than he/she does in an entire day.

The PNE will provide a colored shirt with it's logo as part of an uniform, as for the rest of the uniform, we were told to wear black pants to work. Taking into account that PNE took place during the summer times, I choose black shorts instead of trousers; upon arriving at work, I was told that I need trousers instead of shorts, or at the very least, longer pant-legs. As defined by the policy, while at work, all your loose items needs to be stored inside a storage space near your station, and you need to wear a black apron-like attire to store loose change while hosting games. Combined with the scrutiny they took with the pant leads to the conclusion that the PNE have a serious distrust with they temporary employee, so much so that they make their employee and themselves jump through hoops just to make sure that their employee knows that they're not trusted or welcomed here.

For the most part, work at the PNE involves hosting various games while standing for several hours at a time. Ensure that the fair attendee have a pleasurable experience. However, given that most fair games have a win/lose scenario, there will always be a conflict of interest; on one hand, attendee may not enjoy losing, on the other hand, one have to ensure that the rule of the game is followed properly; the most enjoyable, or rather the most laughable part of the job is that among the regular attendee who play and lose at the gambling game, there are several attendee who won big time and probably walk away with hundreds or thousands of dollar at a time. Which makes me question whether the management have any idea how to host gambling games properly.

Bottom line is this, it's temporary work, it's a job that pays, you go to work, you go home, and you're not going anywhere else, not to a higher position, or any form of advancement, period. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Temp - Gambling Wheel (Former Employee), VancouverJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
The PNE is a great place to work. Working in the outdoor casino was a blast. The people I worked with were the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Candy Foreperson (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 19, 2013
It has an awesome atmosphere and everyone is very friendly. A typical day at work is preparing food and cleaning the stand to make sure it's in tip top shape and serving the food and putting a smile on the customer's faces. The hardest part is when it gets very busy and it becomes stressful when we have to serve lots of people in a short amount of time. – more... The most enjoyable part is that you're among friends and it usually ends on a good note. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A viable job for students
Sweeper/Facility Attendant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 7, 2013
Pros: cheap access to fairground, after-work parties
Cons: minimum wage, physically intensive work, long hours in sun
Working at the PNE was a much more enjoyable experience than I could have imagined. Even though the work was physical and boring at times, we got the privilege of wandering around the fairgrounds during our job. The co-workers aren't always the nicest of people, but they tend to get along with you when they have to. A guaranteed wage increase of $0.50 – more... is minimal but it is better than other places that leave you at bare minimum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent summer job
Games Attendant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 12, 2013
Pros: great coworkers, decent hours, fun environment
Cons: management plays favourites, repetitive tasks
I worked as Games Attendant at Playland for a good number of years. In a typical day at work, you open the game, and start selling right away. There's a specific bar you have to meet each day in order to meet expectations. The amount you make depends on the number of guests that enter the park. The more guests there are, the more you have to make. While – more... working, you're basically competing against your coworkers to make more money. This job requires a lot of effort in speaking out and creating rapport with the guests. You're constantly yelling and calling out to get guests to play your game. The co workers are great and the entire atmosphere is high and lively. The job requires a lot of mental and physical energy. Mental being; you have to maintain a positive attitude throughout, which becomes exhausting if you're working everyday with 7-8 hour shifts. The physical endurance requires you to stand for long periods of time, which is hard the first couple of days. Overall, it's a great summer job. The one big negative aspect of the job is the management. The managers play favourites and give shifts to who they like. Same goes for when they decide to promote people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it the fair ground how dont you not have fun
Grill Cook SEASONAL WORK (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 14, 2013
Pros: its the fair to have fun
Cons: work late nights
grill cooking burger/chicken/ hotdog frying fries/chicken fingers
busy from the time you start to time you finish the job
it great fast day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun experience
ticket seller (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 16, 2013
learned about handling cards and various types of tickets, teamwork with co-workers was a valuable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job for any student
Cook/Vendor (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: free lunch, welcoming staff
Cons: none.
Good part time job for any student
Good training, good place to start and learn about work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Patrol Ambassador (Former Employee), VancouverOctober 30, 2012
Pros: professional work environment
Cons: skunks on the grounds
Really fun work environment including great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pacific National Exhibition
Guard watcher (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 26, 2012
Pros: half an hour
Cons: 12 hours
Indeed l had a lots of fund working there as guard watch I did injoy it my supper visior was a nice person,any people were so good to each others.it was a part-time at night from 10pm to 8am in morning like three days a week some four,my job I have to the garden inside the fance and make sure nobody break in on climp up the fance.I was making $14 an – more... hour the job is it only at summer for four month my co-worker was from native we have lunch to gether in the lunch room and we chart too at coffee time,so far I did liked the job but after year later in summer I was very sick in summer then I when went back every thinges change my supper retired and they saide we full this year but we will called you that was short term job.What I enjoy much the company administeration invited all worker for great big party for the last month off the work,that all I can say and thank you very much and I hope to hear from you good news . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but repetitive work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Vancouver B.C.October 16, 2012
The day starts by handling money and serving customer. Management decide where you would go and deal the game you are assigned. The hardest part of the job is when customer fights over money. the most enjoyable part of the job is talking to customer and co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Watchman (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 19, 2012
Pros: good working atmosphere, friendly employees
Cons: isolated.
I performed general security with site maintenance. Including painting, operating a forklift, site clean up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Received no job satisfaction and mediocre management
Games Attendant (Former Employee), VancouverSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: managers, supervisors, commuting, management, hospitality
I applied for the fair as a fair worker, and after 4 hours of commuting and 4 hours of interviews/orientation, I was assigned only two 4-hour shifts. The managers that were working with me could have exhibited a stronger sense of approachability and helpfulness. On my second day at work, one of the supervisors asked why I was "skipping work," instead – more... of asking why I was 10 minutes late (this is due to the bus schedule, cause it takes me 1hour to commute to PNE). On my last day, the supervisor also said she "misplaced" my void cheque, meaning I had to commute to PNE AGAIN just to hand them a new void cheque. Upon returning to PNE to return my garments and pick up my cheque, I was notified that the void cheque was no longer needed. In fact it was never needed.... I was also made aware that cheques for fair employees were only given during the weekdays.
So a couple of days later, I returned to pick up my pay-cheque, only to find that I was paid for HALF of my work hours. Now I have to email their offices to review my hours, and probably commute back to PNE AGAIN to pick up the latter half of my paycheque.

I will not be working for PNE ever again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment
Game Technician (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 11, 2012
Pros: friendly work environment, personable superiors with friendly attitudes
Cons: none!
Employees had the ability to work on their own terms - given they provided the support they were supposed to in efficient manners. Employees were given the freedom to spend their free time as they wish, eg pursuing personal hobbies and interests.

About Pacific National Exhibition

The PNE and its employees support several important charities through the following projects and partnerships: Year-round charitable – Read more