Find companies:
Oxfam
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
223 reviews

Oxfam Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Me
Full time Volunteer (Former Employee), Durham, ENGSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: free travel
Cons: un payed
Worked with a diverse team as Volunteer, when your out of work you can be very productive when you volunteer for a great cause.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect and fun workplace
System Admin Volunteer (Current Employee), CardiffSeptember 6, 2014
flexible timing
Admin work
friendly co workers
learning new skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and funworking place
work experience (Former Employee), wrexhamSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: new expeirence
Cons: nomal hours
it was a new expeirence as i never knew what working in oxfam would be like so i wanted to give oxfam a try to see what types of people went their and what items the store sold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
motivated and like to work as a team
Shop Assistant/Till Operator (Current Employee), Wembley, ENGSeptember 4, 2014
I am very motivated and hard worker I enjoy working as a group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good friendly place to work.
Shop Assistant (Former Employee), ENGSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: free coffee and discount in shop.
Cons: pay.
Serving customers sorting goods and stock sorting. Working the till taking prices of discounts. Refunding customers busy shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and friendly workplace
Voluntary Sale Assistant (Former Employee), Bristol, ENGAugust 30, 2014
Pros: contributing to charity
Cons: organising donations was sometimes challenging
The Oxfam shop provided a welcoming and pleasant environment for both customers and staff. The management was excellent and I never felt as though I didn't Know what I was doing or that I didn't know what my Objectives were. Everybody who I met and worked with were professional yet approachable and were always willing to assist customers whenever necessary.
The – more... hardest part of the job was stock taking and keeping on top of the finances because this is such a vital part to the shop and charity's success.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people, helping customers and knowing that your work is benefiting those who are less fortunate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable working environment
Volunteering at Oxfam (Former Employee), Glasgow, SCTAugust 29, 2014
Pros: not bad hours
I would usually work on the till and help with tidying the shop floor to make it presentable to customers. I would also do banking and help with stock. Through my experience in Oxfam i have learnt how to handle certain situations being under pressure and dealing with difficult customers. My manager was very helpful and let me have the opportunity to – more... do different jobs within the workplace. I wouldn't say there was any hard parts about the job apart from difficult customers. The most enjoyable part was working as a team to make sure every customer is satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee), Bishopbriggs, GlasgpwAugust 28, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and customers
Cons: repetitive.
My main task was to stock shelves and organise donations. Management and my co-workers we very friendly. The hardest part of the job was it could be quite slow and repetitive. The most enjoyable part was helping customers with any problems or questions that they had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable working environment
Volunteer (Current Employee), Kingston upon Hull, ENGAugust 15, 2014
A typical day at work consists of me and a colleague working on the till, serving customers and making the shop a happy environment. One of my responsibilities is to dress the manikin in the window as to attract more customers. I find it very satisfying that when I dress the manikin the outfits are sold within a matter of hours. I also enjoy giving – more... advice to customers regarding their purchases. I feel that I have a very strong professional relationship with the manager of Newland Avenue's Oxfam, we often have conversations about things such as the way the shop is set out, product pricing and the working environment of the shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good yet I need more
Part time volunteer Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Lincoln, ENGAugust 15, 2014
A typical day at work would mean that I would fill the till with the previous day's float, restock any shelves that need filling while serving any customers that want to purchase something and keeping the store tidy. I have learned that working in a store takes cooperation, as you may be busy with one customer and another comes along so you ask a colleague – more... to help the new customer.the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I have done my bit to help the less fortunate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Good Experience
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Lichfield, ENGAugust 13, 2014
Pros: good experience in till work
Cons: it was voluntary hence no salary
I was in charge of operating the till and helping out with any questions the customers had , i also dealt with returns and in coming donations . I also contributed to managing stock levels and pricing of stock. The best part of this job was the interaction with customers , i enjoyed talking to and helping customers get what they wanted , the most enjoyable – more... part of the job was working on the till. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people
Customer service and satisfaction (Former Employee), Guisborough, ENGAugust 9, 2014
cash handling stock control serving customers going out with the drivers to pick up unwanted items
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned new skills
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lanark, SCTAugust 8, 2014
Pros: enjoyed everything i learned.
Cons: nothing
I really enjoyed this job, learned so much with my time at oxfam. enjoyed meeting new people. a typical day was opening the shop, making sure the display was ok. making sure everything was topped up on the shop floor. made sure the other volunteers knew what jobs they were doing, meeting and greeting customers which was the most enjoyable part. And – more... the hardest part was counting and making sure the till had the correct money at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Oxfam (Former Employee), NorthamptonAugust 7, 2014
I learnt how to stock varies of items, the most enjoyable apart of the job was helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyably Productive.
Voluntary Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Cheadle Hulme, ENGAugust 6, 2014
Pros: close to a bank, cheap stores around for use at lunch, entertaining colleagues... this list could go on, but let's keep it short.
Cons: lack of pay, after all this was a voluntary position.
Whilst working here I met a handful of good colleagues, as well as many more happy customers. All colleagues were happy to help if I had some form of problem, as I was happy to help them with whatever they asked of me, even buying lunch or making a brew.
The work wasn't so hard and there was a level of enjoyment to its practice. I learnt to use charity – more... shop machinery, such as a PC, Steamer and Tills, I learnt about stock rotation and used such skills on their weekly rota. The toughest part of the job was cleaning some of the donated products that came in, some of them came through the door in a disgraceful state... I changed that and made the best and most of whatever product we received through cleansing. The most enjoyably/easiest part of the job was using the PC to print off Gift-Aid labels, print prices and research prices to give our customers the best deal possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voulnter
Voluntary Sales Assistant (Current Employee), londonAugust 4, 2014
Great working environment and nice people and nice place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beverley Oxfam
Volunteer (Current Employee), Beverley, ENGJuly 31, 2014
I would start at 9 am and would start preparing for the day ahead eg tidy up around the shop, put all clothing back in size. During my time at Beverley Oxfam I have learned lot of skills like how to use an Till at Oxfam, steaming clothings. The management at the Beverley Oxfam is super because she listens, take suggests of ideas. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is being able to work in the environment where everyone is kind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Assistant
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Southampton, ENGJuly 16, 2014
- Greeting customers at the shop entrance
- Helping and advising customers with enquiries
- Maintaining the shop floor appearance and stock availability
- Processing cash and card payments
- Signing up customers for the gift aid scheme
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Canterbury, ENGJuly 12, 2014
I have learned how to work on the till and also everything about the customer care, The most enjoyable part of the work was to talk with my clients and to make new friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Volunteer Shop Worker (Former Employee), Andover, ENGJuly 11, 2014
I worked at Oxfam I worked on the till and help re-stock the store.

1 2 3 4 5

About Oxfam

Oxfam is an international confederation of 15 organisations working in 98 countries worldwide to find lasting solutions to poverty – Read more

Oxfam Photos