Ottawa Citizen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule, decent work load.
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 December 2017
Though my time working at the Ottawa citizen as a courier was shot I did enjoy the time I did spend working. The hours were very easy to complete seeing as how I got to choose how long I wanted to work for
Pros
get to choose your own shifts.
Cons
short hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early morning runs
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 July 2017
over the summer it is a great job although the early mornings are difficult to get used to, you are done your route within 3 hours especially since i did my runs along my parents and siblings.
Pros
early finish`
Cons
early start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A joy!
Freelance Columnist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 May 2017
During my time at the Ottawa Citizen as a weekly columnist I had the pleasure of working with a wonderful editor. He pushed me to to really discover who I was as writer. I am forever grateful for this experience.
Pros
continued learning
Cons
deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift manager needs to work on management skills
Machine Feeder – Ottawa Citizen (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 May 2016
This company is a good place to work but does have need for improvements
manager leaves much to be desired as far as giving direction is concerned
Shift work
On feed for long periods of time
hr. rate not good
very fast paced environment
Cons
Pay, shift work at nights need more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mailroom
MF2 (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON11 April 2016
Once you enter into the mailroom, usually 5-10 minutes before your shift starts. You check the LIST to see what LINE you have been placed on/assigned. There are 3 LINES that the newspapers come off of(A),(B) and (C LINE). Each line comes from the Printing /Press Room,runs along conveyers of sorts,then dropped into the stackers on either side of the line,so two stackers per line, 6 stackers in total.
Management happened to be okay & understanding especially if you were a student or had another job. Co-workers were okay too, 60 plus people working together can be difficult at times especially when they are not separated by a cubical. The Most enjoyable part of the job for me was the diversity, cultural exposure , meeting people of different age groups,Each shift you had meant being assigned a different task, so it made it less boring and more challenging this way.
Pros
Weekly pay cheque, Easy shifts, fun environment to work
Cons
Favoritism, nepotism, Night Shift, Short shifts. No longer has a union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inserter at Ottawa Citize
Inserter (newspaper mailroom) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 September 2014
- Worked quickly to insert flyers into the daily paper using large, loud machines
- Regular breaks
- Good pay
- Great management
- Great co-workers
- Double shifting was the hardest part of this job
- Most enjoyable was becoming a team player
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advertising Sales Consultant
Advertising Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 June 2014
This company is a dinosaur that is dying.

The manager of the new business team is the most negative, dismissive human i have ever met. He has no sales experience and is creating a culture that is poisoning any chance for that organization to pull it out of it's death spin.

It will be a sad day when this 169 yr old company breathes it's last breath. The sales staff are doing the best they can with poor leadership. There are some amazing people there trying to make it work.
Pros
Free paper, great people in sales positions
Cons
Horrible manager in the new business division.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good stepping stone for young employee
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 January 2014
Night shift, not so good on the road.
hard to negotiate new contract,job protection
is lacking.
Pros
stress free job
Cons
verbal contract (accept it or loose it)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gave Newspapers early in the Morning to houses.
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 February 2013
It was was not the best job. It gave me exercise. I went somewhere and picked up our newspapers and put it in the car. Then I gave them out to houses that ordered them.
Pros
it helped me do exercise
Cons
it started at 3:00am to 6:00am
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Reader Sales and Services Customer/Office support (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 January 2013
This was the best job i have ever had. Unfourtantly due to cut backs and modern technology the Newspaper went digital and no longer needed certain positions..I am going to miss working for such a wonderful company.
Pros
great caring company
Cons
no more work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience to showcase my writing
Blogger (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 November 2012
Blogging for the Ottawa Citizen has proven to be a great experience to showcase my writing.

I write a tech blog and several entertainment blogs for the Citizen including the exclusive blog coverage of Ottawa Bluesfest and the now defunct Capital Hoedown Music Festival.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hello,
Inserter (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 July 2012
I am very organized and like to do my job the best i can do. I have learned to work well with others and be multitask. The hardest part of the job is to work nights without being tired. The most enjoyable part of the job is to work with people and know that i finished the work without making mistakes.
Pros
paid lunches
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carrier
Carrier (Current Employee) –  ottawa ont12 March 2012
Good company ,,,, friendly mid management

Great hours

Very well organized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ottawa Citizen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 14 reviews
56
42
34
21
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.6Culture

Ottawa Citizen Reviews by Location