Find companies:
Otis Elevator Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Otis Elevator Company Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dynamic and fast enviorment
NEQ/MOD Superintendent (Former Employee), Albany, NYDecember 1, 2014
Pros: endless resourceses
Cons: no down time
Otis does expect you to be on the job 24/7. There is no way to get around this, the way the system works. Pay is fair and benefits are good. The long history of this company has enriched their knowledge of the industry and its equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Quality Engineer (Current Employee), Madrid, MDNovember 17, 2014
It was an important opportunity to make some practices in this company. Also, people can participate in important projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is best company.
QUALITY,PURCHASE,PRODUCTION,STORE,TECH EXP. (Former Employee), Bangalore, KANovember 16, 2014
i got to learn many things in otis eg. business development, customer satisfaction, team leading , new creation. etc but im leaving this company because of my family problem . thank you otis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Customer Service Representative/ Elite Specialist (Former Employee), Farmington CTOctober 22, 2014
Excellent benefits and there's a lot of growth room. The food in the cafeteria is really good too
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UTC Company with great benefits
Sr Controls Design Technician (Former Employee), Farmington, CTOctober 17, 2014
Pros: utc training
Cons: long hours
Engineering and design for people mover systems.
great people and management.
Some travel but not extreme.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schedule and Organize reapirs
Code Compliance Financial Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 1, 2014
Operations work, and sales

Learned Sales and operations work

Knowledge of tough is industry is tough to figure out.

Flexible hours and ability to work from home is most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Farmington, CTOctober 1, 2014
Pros: work space
Cons: no benefits
Taking inbound calls & making calls.
Good work space.
Teamwork & enjoyable coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging to meet the daily schedule and shippment dates..
Product Manager for Escalator (Former Employee), Mumbai, MHSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: had retiring paln, medical
I joined as shop supervisor and left the company as product manager.
Got chance to work in each department from production to accounts. Attended each programme which were sponsored by company. Had full job satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and production place to work
Technical Assembler (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 22, 2014
Great place to work, the work was not hard at all. i enjoyed my co-workers they all were very friendly and eager to help you learn your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
securied job but less salary
Sales coordinator (Former Employee), hyderabadSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: 10am - 6pm
JOB PROFILE

1. Sending Quotations to the customer through SMS through online, EMAIL, and Fax or by Courier.
2. Preparing of Supply order Confirmation (SOC) for Purchase Orders (in Excel Sheet).
3. Sending Confirmation to factory and to the customer through fax, informing through phone and through Email also.
4. Checking the Status of the Tankers (Whether – more... they are booked or not, if booked at what time they are going to come to the factory, if late for how much time they will take to come).
5. Getting Calls from the customers and reply them according to the situation in polite manner (no time limit I will get calls in the morning and at night time also)
6. Strong Follow up
7. Preparation of Dispatch Advice (in Excel Sheet)
8. Dispatch Information will be sent to Party by SMS, Dispatch Advice through Fax and by Phone and information will be sent to our CEO sir and Sales Executive Persons through Phone and SMS.
Reports:

1. Preparation of Daily report (Monthly Day wise status and Pending Status) this information will be given to MD, CEO and GM.

2. Apart from this weekly payment details will be sent to CEO, GM and to Sales Executives through E-mail (the details will be sent through E-Mail and area wise details will be sent to Executives only).

3. Daily Checking the Payment details through online banking, keeping record of every transaction and it should not exceed the due date.

4. Preparing of External Memos regarding Advance, Non-Receipt of payment and short payment and sending them through E-mail Fax and Courier to the concern party and executives of that area.

5. Preparing Salary Sheet, Offer letters, Appointment Letters, Writing vochur for TA Bills and collecting Employee details.

Office Work:

1. Checking E-mails on daily basis
2. Reply to the E-mail received on instruction of CEO Sir.
3. Attending Phone calls
4. Receiving Official SMS and forwarding them to MD sir and CEO Sir.
5. Maintaing the dispatch invoice records and Maintaing files like purchase Orders, supply Order Confirmation file, dispatch advice files, External Memo File etc.
6. Taking rough draft from CEO sir on existing issue and same (in letter form) send to the customer (for short payment, halt payment, rate difference and freight payment)
7. Follow up of pending payments.
8. Preparing Salary Sheet, Offer letters, Appointment Letters, Writing vochur for TA Bills and collecting Employee details. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge organization
Industrial Engineer (Current Employee), Florence, SCAugust 21, 2014
Pros: freedom to work without interruption.
Cons: so much stuff to do, not enough time in a day.
Assists in department documentation, studying processes, and providing feedback to operations.
Produce process sheets and work instructions for product assembly.
Review drawings and report errors.
Take pictures and videos of the manufacturing process.
Consulted with employees concerning job functions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PROBLEM SOLUTION- Critical situation
Sales & Manufacturing Manager (Former Employee), TehrānAugust 20, 2014
In result of a mistake made by German office, 6 orders of different projects was cancled.
The main problem was to convince the clients to wait another 6-9months in addition to the time already passed depending on their contracts.

There would penalties terms agreed in 4 of the contarcts and no one was willing to be the first one to discuss the matter – more... with teh clients.
I took initiative and I personal contacted one by one and informed them about the situation.

After several meetings with them, i was successful enough to persuade them not charge penalties and also they all kept the contracts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Engineer @ OTIS
Sales Engineer (Current Employee), Dubai, DUAugust 16, 2014
Pros: team work, good management relationship, recorded and respected commitments, continous guidance and training
Cons: long hours, stress, slow professional development, low compensation, customer complaints, etc.
A typical day of work begins at 7:30am setting up my laptop and review my early emails. Then, i move forward to my calender where my major day's tasks are listed for my action. I begin to coordinate with all related team members on shop drawings, contract bookings, receipt of contracts confirmation, order placements and job awards, material shipment – more... details, and then i follow up with our Field Engineers on the status of weekly works on my booked projects. This is very important to maintain a general overview on the progress of our works and relating them to the sign contractural obligations and commitments which i consider my morning tool-box talk. I meet customers daily for finalizations and negotiations of contracts and material orders. I also communicate with our world wide factories and selling suppliers to provide factory prices, fabrication schedule and shipments, discounts, technical design and specificaitons, as every project is different and needs special attention. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good coporation culture and inspiring workplace
Cost Analysis Manager (Former Employee), ChinaAugust 13, 2014
challenging tasks for month-end closing
ERP implementation
open-minded management
easy-going co-workers
meet dead-line
team-work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and easy to work for when you look at the job at the end of every day and you see progress
electrician / construction (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: the pay is great and the people you work with are one of a kind
Cons: having to keep your eye out for people sticking there head into the hoist way
I think that when you look up the hoistway at the end of the day and you see all the doors leading edges and door bucks all in line all perfect you have a great sence of accomplishment and your day that was so hard became a great accomplishment and it was all worth it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International company, Good technical exeperience, Multiple department knowledge.
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee), Mumbai, MHJuly 13, 2014
Pros: housing loans, company car
Cons: working hours
Service operations, Review with all India field engineers. Training, Knowledge sharing, support for major breakdowns, shut downs, accident reporting.
Work Independently, handle big projects, support to R&D projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing times
Manager (Former Employee), Bloomington, INJuly 5, 2014
Pros: people, name recognition of product
Cons: horrible corporate management, typecasting by local management
Otis Elevator has historically been a great place to work. United Technologies (Otis' parent company), in recent years, made decisions and gave orders that were not possible to complete. As a result, the operations that relocated from Bloomington, IN and Nogales, Mexico to Florence, SC caused major problems and unnecessary issues that adversely impacted – more... all the people involved, all the sales people in the field, the products and the company as a whole.

The best part of the job has always been the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to be part of Otis
Planning Manager (Current Employee), Saudi ArabiaJune 26, 2014
Proud to be part of Otis team.
A very good place to gain experiance and learn every day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Assistant Adjustor & Service Engineer (Former Employee), MumbaiJune 12, 2014
I was happy workin previously in this company.I had worked on site in Adjustment of elevators.Servicing of elevators.Maintainance of escalator and its breakdowns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
CAD Designer (Former Employee), Bloomington, InJune 5, 2014
learned all about elevators and gained new skills in Pro-E
learned sheet metal program
gained experience in PDM system Windchill

1 2 3 4

About Otis Elevator Company

Floor, please? Otis Elevator is headed up. A United Technologies (UTC) subsidiary, Otis Elevator (Otis) accounts for some 20% – Read more

Otis Elevator Company Photos