Find companies:
Ontario Provincial Police
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Ontario Provincial Police Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work, loved every part of my job
Case Preparation Analyst Technician (Former Employee), Orillia, ONOctober 1, 2014
Pros: loved my position and my superiors i worked closely with
Cons: contract, not permanent, no benefits
This was such a rewarding area to work, and the professionalism of such an organization was such a delight and benefit.

It was a wonderfully paced position, my superiors were always wonderful mentors to explain certain areas of questions.

The hardest part of this job was that my contract ended and there were no other jobs available.

This was and – more... is my overall favorite position I had and am so grateful for the wonderful opportunity it provided me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Room to advance
COMMISSIONER OF OATH (Current Employee), CaledonSeptember 29, 2014
Enter police specific data, create court folders, interact with people,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Career
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Orillia, ONJune 24, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: long hours
The most exciting career a person can have. Spent 30 years on a policing career and then retired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enforce the MSVA
SPECIAL CONSTABLE (Current Employee), Perth, ONMay 21, 2014
Duties: Enforce the Motorized Snowmobile Vehicle Act, Highway Traffic Act as it pertains to snowmobiles, Arrest, transport and detain in accordance with these acts, Keep record of all patrols and information, obtaining information and preparing reports or case histories, preparing crown briefs, laying charges and issuing Provincial Offence Notices Part – more... 1 and 3, appearing in court, arrest and rights procedures and inputting daily patrol reports into a centralized computer system, complete patrols on a regular basis, work with OPP Officers in the line of duty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very interesting, diverse position
Matron (female guard) presently employeed (Former Employee), Dufferin and Wellington countiesOctober 9, 2013
Pros: you are learning something new on every shift
Cons: long hours
Arriving on time, obtaining the necessary paper work for each prisoner; recording and physically observing each person every 15 minutes; until signing off at end of shift.
I have learned a lot about human nature from their up bringing, culture, religion and different environments.
Management and co-workers have always been compassionate, caring, understanding – more... and helpful with prisoners and other employees.
The hardest part of the job is when the young offenders are arrested and brought to the holding cells.
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with most of the prisoners and with the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ontario Provincial Police
Auxillary Constable (Former Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 12, 2013
Pros: great learning opportunity
Cons: did not advance to level i had hoped
I attended the Ontario Provincial Police College, and completed the curriculum at Aylmer Police College as well. 2 of my subjects were below 75%, therefore, they were not able to advance me to constable status. Sadly, Ontario had just cut the budget for OPP funding, and could not afford to have me re-do these courses. It was disappointing to me, but – more... I believe that had this not occurred, I would not have met my husband, and had our son, if I had been working with the OPP. I guess everything happens for a reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O.P.P.
Provincial Constable First Class (Former Employee), Madoc, OntarioJuly 3, 2013
Pros: integrity
Cons: three shifts
A profession that is far and away most satisfying for those people that have the norms and integrity to do the job. Politics is a major downfall as every profession now a days has some degree of it in it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Emergency Communicator (Current Employee), Orillia, ONMay 16, 2013
Security and confidentiality are priority within this environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer retired after 30 years of service
Police Officer (Former Employee), London, ONMay 9, 2013
Enjoyed serving the communities I policed.
I had a varied career all over Ontario with opportunities to work with schools, community groups and the general public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op Student
Student Co-op (Former Employee), Arnprior, ONMay 7, 2013
Pros: great experience overall
Cons: police officers were very busy
Ride alongs with police officers and learning about the criminal code. Police Constables were great to work with and when not busy with own prioritys they would educate and help me as much as they could. Hardest part was witnessing some of the crime that went on in the small town where I grew up. Most enjoyable was experiencing the everyday life of – more... a police officer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience, lifelong bonds made
Communications Operator (Dispatcher) (Former Employee), Smiths Falls, ONOctober 12, 2012
Pros: salary
Cons: rotating shifts 3-2 is hard with a large family
Fast-faced, blood-pumping one minute, then watching paint dry the next. You must be prepared at any moment to be dealing with a crisis, and to be on your A game.
I worked with fabulous could-workers some of whom will be lifelong friends. I say the same of most of the management. Everyone pitched in at the end of the day to get the job done.
Hardest – more... part of the job was the twelve hour rotations. With four kids it took a toll.
The most enjoyable part was the comraderie when things were hectic, as well as the sense of accomplishment when things worked out in the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience.Wearing a uniform and being for the most part respected as a officer of the law.
Police officer (Former Employee), Tecumseh ontarioOctober 11, 2012
Pros: being respected
Cons: at times dangerous
Did much growing up. Salary was decent, but going to Hiram Walkers I almost doubled my salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civilian Radio Operator, computer input technician
CRO (Former Employee), Hearst, ONSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: steady, but demanding
Cons: unknown variables could arise anytime. working indoors fulltime
Shift work, varying. 5 on 2 off, for two weeks, then rotate, day, afternoon, graveyard shift

Responsible for dispatching cars to complaints, emergencies, assistance etc. 20 cars, 55 members.
Responsible for front counter complaints, assistance, fluent in both French/English
Responsibile to in put information to computer, respond to member's requests – more... for warrants, info searches etc
Assist in lockup. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense work. Very interesting though.
Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Orillia, ONAugust 29, 2012
Pros: great people throughout the organization
Cons: you really discover the worst of humanity.
Enjoyed every moment of my time at the OPP. Learned a lot about the CJS even when I though I already knew it.
Long hours, but it was always worth it.
Rewarding work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work!
Guard (Current Employee), Burlington, ONJuly 6, 2012
The Burlington O.P.P. is a great place to work. Everyone there is so supportive and willing to help. Constant training and upgrading is provided and information readily available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, wonderful people to work with, very knowledgeable
Marine Patrol Assistant (Former Employee), Huntsville, ONMay 24, 2012
Pros: gain experience in enforcement, note writing, administrative skills
Cons: none; very fulfilling, great experience
- Maintained the boat (Seaswirl Striper)
- Gathered equipment for the day (tickets, life jackets, keys for the boat)
- Trailered the boat
- Assisted police officers with report writing, note taking, arrests, stopping vessels and vehicles, promoting safe boating practices, and enforcement of various legislation including Highway Traffic Act, Small Vessels – more... Regulations, Criminal Code, Liquor License Act, Canada Shipping Act, and Contraventions Act – less