Find companies:
ONTARIO POWER GENERATION
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

ONTARIO POWER GENERATION Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 31, 2012
People were very supportive, Received two complimentary e-mails from co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense procedures.
Control Technician (Current Employee), Tiverton, ONAugust 22, 2012
Pros: safe work environment
Cons: intense procedures, very sensitive workforce
No overtime, no chance of a full time job, no chance of using 25 years experience in the Electrical industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specialized and Unique Industry
Instrumentation & Control Technician (Former Employee), Pickering, ONAugust 14, 2012
Spent two years on Appendix A working as as Instrumentation and Control Technician. I value my experience at OPG nuclear greatly. I was exposed to instrumentation and technology not seen in any other industry. I appreciate my time, experience and training very much, the other Technicians and co-workers at OPG are some of the most qualified and competent – more... people I've ever met. I enjoyed the work, people and industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ontario Power Generation
Field Shift Operating Supervisor (Former Employee), Bowmanville, ONJuly 28, 2012
Pros: learning to deal with people and understanding that for most part, it is better to be pushed upward than to be pulled.
Cons: as much as a large company can afford upward mobility, people can get lost in the sheer numbers.
Ontario Power Generation is a very large corporation whose goal is to produce Electrical Power Safely, Economically while being a good Environmental Steward. As such, it has a wide variance of nuances that offers the right candidate the ability to contribute to the company goals. The employees are highly intelligent with a focus on Continuous Improvement. – more... I had the opportunity to learn a great deal about the operation of a Nuclear Power Plant, but to me, the more important lessons I learned and applied were in the area of being a Supervisor. I learned what it takes to be an effective supervisor and that if you work hard to support the needs of those you supervise while maintaining a high standard performance with a clear set of expectations, you can positively effect the work performed. My track record as a supervisor supports that theory. My crews consistently showed improved performance and is well documented. If I had to say anything negative about this company, it is that I believe that there is a disjoint between Management and Supervision that could improve the whole operation and effectiveness of the people it employs. Other than that, this is very good company with high values and concern for the people it employs. My time with this company was full of life lessons and I enjoyed the job immensely even with the daily ups and downs. It provides an environment where people can experience personal growth as well as performing a job. You can get out of it what you put into it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly ethical and respectable company in Ontario
Senior Technical Engineer (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 27, 2012
Pros: respectable reputation and image, bright future
Cons: confidential
Work day is usually busy with lots of discussions, messages, meetings, future planning and developing new designs for future.
Learned about design, engineering, high standards of ethics,
Employees have a great sense of contributing to the company more than earning.
Co-workers: Experts in their fields
Hardest part of the job: Remaining idle
To see a – more... determination and synnergy of various groups and highly educated and experienced leaders to drive forward in order to achieve objectives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of men ,afty job 1
Construction site labour (Former Employee), Niagara falls OntarioJuly 10, 2012
Pros: was offerd full time with ontario power generation, but union said no
Cons: missed oppertunity, after working so hard to make a good imprestion for the hydro
Construction site lbour,keeping site cleaned up,how to work with out side contractors ie:sub trades. Management very clear on my job discription and resposabilitiesCo-workers very helpfull,always ndigging in,lending a hand.Very busy site,always double checking to make sure things were secure and safe Being accepted as part of the team and not just a – more... labourer from the labourers union local 837 Hamilton. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive atmosphere, room for development as a student
Developmental Intern, Reporting and Controls (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 6, 2012
As an eight-month developmental student working in Nuclear Refurbishment, I was always provided with new challenges and opportunities to further myself. My manager provided excellent opportunities equivalent to a full-time worker that allowed me to set goals, and establish myself as an individual within the organization.

I worked to manage the spending, – more... forecasting and cost allocation for a major nuclear project. I worked heavily in Microsoft Excel, developing methods to accurately manage the spending and costs. I worked directly with the Finance department to help manage accruals, spending, purchase orders, and organizational and change requests.

I was able to learn much about the industry, how to communicate with others, was able to conduct many presentations, and how to effectively meet deadlines. The hardest part of my job was picking up where another student had left off, with zero training or information provided on how to effectively do the job. When I left after about eight and a half months, I had successfully created a large binder to be used by the entire department on how to most efficiently complete the tasks that role required.

What was most enjoyable about this experience was being able to work in the initial stages of a large, multi-million dollar project. It was exciting to be able to assist in the development and management of the costs to such an important project that aims to benefit the entire province. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Communications Assistant, Clarington, (Former Employee), ClaringtonJuly 2, 2012
Lots of learning opportunity. Great hours and pay. Enjoyed learning about power and etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Welder Fitter (Former Employee), Bowmanville, ONMay 22, 2012
good place to work
great benifits and pay
all the people i worked with were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and challenging place to work
Engineering Co-op Development Student (Former Employee), Pickering, ONMay 2, 2012
Projects were challenging and provided me with a great learning experience
Coworkers were welcoming and I enjoyed working with them.
Manager was very helpful in providing directions and advice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manage new build and facility modifications for Nuclear Waste Division
Supervising Project Engineer/ Project Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 30, 2012
Meet with client and define business needs.
Submit business case for senior management approval.
Prepare scope of work & coordinate RFP package.
Review EPC vendor proposals and negotiate contracts.
For larger building projects, manage Owner Engineer contacts an
Coordinate design approvals with internal stakeholders.
Administer EPC contractors including – more... safety and environmental planning and approval.
Engineering change controls.
Coordinate Regulatory approval.
Project closeout. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a very challenging environment, learning a lot of new engineering skills and getting supports from mangagement, society and co-workers
Technical Engineer (Former Employee), PickeringApril 7, 2012
Pros: working in a challenging environment, lots of support from management and co-workers.
Cons: negative factors not noticeable.
- I was loaded with lots of work every day.
- I had learned so many things in the areas of licensing and nuclear safety; e.g., how to perform nuclear safety assessments or analyses, nuclear design calculations; how to work independently as well as work in a team environment or matrix set up; how to put a nuclear licensing package submission together; – more... how to manage work requests and completion on schedule for Section Mangers, Department Managers, as well as Station Engineering Directors etc
- The management had been very supportive in providing the necessary coaching and feedback.
- My Co-workers had been very supportive and co-operative in working towards a common goal or work objective.
- I did not consider the hardest part of the job to be an issue.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was that I was able to resolve the problem with a cost effective solution such that my Section Manager, Department Manager and Station Engineering Director were always pleased with my hard work or contributions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tim Hortons on site
millwright (Former Employee), Bowmanville, ONApril 4, 2012
Pros: not far away
Worked there on a contract job and wished the job would have lasted a lot longer. Was a great job while it lasted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked independent and in a team
VMware / SAN Consultant (Former Employee), Bruce, ONFebruary 1, 2013
I have worked eight years in IT field. I have worked on installing, configuring and troubleshooting and upgrading; Microsoft AD, Windows 2003, 2008, MS Clustering and as VMWare Consultant. I have worked as SAN consultant and created and documented processes using ITIL procedure skills. I would be the suitable candidate for this role. (I am Canadian – more... Citizen - I would need TN visa for onsite role). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are awesome to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioJune 7, 2012
Pros: a gym right downstairs
Cons: not enough challenges
I helped the V.P.'s, Managers and other staff. I helped with things they could not get to. I booked travel, accomodations, car rentals, conference rooms, materials required for meetings, meeting beverages and food. I created, submitted and approved expense reports. Management and co-workers are great. There really wasn't a hard part of the job except – more... for maybe getting more challenging things to do. I believe I am a jack of all trades and will try and find our or figure out anything if I can. I enjoy helping people - it makes me feel good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer!
Security Peace Officer (Former Employee), NanticokeOctober 24, 2011
Pros: proft sharing, shift bonuses, free meals when called in for overtime (you choice
Hands down, best employer ever! Not only do they have above average pay but the perks that came with the job was by far unbeatable. I was only a temporary employee knowing there would be no advancement into a permanent job, but I took it anyways just to experience this employer!
Unfortunately, this employer was forced to yield to the current trend of – more... renewable energy generation and had to close 4 fossil fuel stations and wont ever hire how they once did due to the massive redeployment of its 3000 workers in those plants.
I was there almost 2 years on a temporary basis that was originally only to last for 1 year but they added more time until I found work elsewhere to help me out. – less