Find companies:
Once Upon a Child
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

Once Upon a Child Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier and product stocking (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great customer service
Cons: not enough hours
Once Upon a Child is a great place to work with fantastic customer service. The staff are very approachable and always have smiles on their faces, even in the more stressful situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment, Terrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Great environment if you love being around children daily! Terrible place to work if you want to get along with your boss, be treated fairly, get decent hours, and to be paid for the labour you are doing.
The owner has terrible manners, talks down to you and is not honest. Neither is more than half of her staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, ONDecember 17, 2013
Pros: staff
* Typical work day is pretty busy. There is always something to do.
* I learned management skills.
* I am very comfortable with my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer service oriented (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: no benifits, low pay
Once Upon a Child was a great work place. management and emplyees were very welcoming. Unfortunately as a franchise company they could not offer benifits or full time hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun and Family Oriented Place
Key Holder / Buyer - Laid Off - Ownership Change (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONApril 2, 2012
Pros: teamwork, family oriented, fun, social
Cons: owners sold it
I loved working at this store with the staff that was there before the owners sold it and laid me off.

Everyone I worked with was just like family and treated each other as if they were. We were a very close knit team that worked very well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable, unstable and unfair place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Mesquite, TXAugust 23, 2014
Pros: there is always something that needs to be done.
Cons: too much burden on those that pull their weight by those that don't.
The place lacks sound management and a support system that fosters positive employee moral, teamwork and fairness across the board. The work schedule is posted within a few days of the next work week, not allowing for you to plan things outside of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable workplace.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 19, 2014
Cons: not a good environment.
Coworkers were disrespectful and very "catty," and management did not respect the schedule or the workers. Also not a clean workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Work Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 8, 2014
Pros: educational, fun
This was a fun and educational job. As a mother I am always up to learning new things when it comes to clothes, toys, educational tools, and equipment for my child. I can honestly say that I learned a lot working here. I learned what to expect from my child as he grew, based off of toys or equipment we sold in his age group. I was also able to instill – more... what I learned to customers who came in as well. This business people think is just retail, but I can assure you it is WAY more then that. I believe the educational process of the job was my favorite part about working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,Fun, Great people to work withx
cashier/customer service (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 28, 2014
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work is started off by clocking in and checking to see what you will be doing for the day.Mondays amd the weekend days are usually our most busy days. We have customers coming in to sell there gently used items or to just simply buy items, ive learned that when dealing with customers you have to use certain terms when explaining there – more... buy process to them. Making them feel welcome and invited to come back to try again. Our Management must say hands down they do there best with every situation. they try and work out anything they can to make sure our customers are happy with results.My coworkers are amazing, helpful,friedly, always working hard to make sure our store was ran in a professinal order.I think the hardest part of the job was getting use to telling the customers that we could not purchase there items just being carful on how i said it. But then again with the help from a manager and some roll play we had down what to say!I loved most about working there is just having happy outgoing people to motivate you everyday and building trust on an private level was great! i loved seeing the same customers in that meant they loved coming to once upon a child and i was happy knowing they enjoyed our store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TeamWork
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 18, 2014
Pros: fast pace
Cons: healthcare, lack of comunication
This Job would be great if there were better teamwork and everybody helped each other we are all there to do better but everyone don't put in there all. I learned that a great shift leader comes with teamwork, respect, and hard work. As far as management goes I just wish that they were stricter on other employees and really enforce the rules and not – more... just threaten time after time, the hardest thing about the job is you being the only one who cares about doing a great job and want the best for the job. the most enjoyable part is the great customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at OUAC
Store Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 8, 2014
Pros: working with people
My typical day starts with running reports, and filling in reports to ensure that sales, labor and cash handling guidelines are met. Then I proceed with my to do list to make sure that these guidelines will be met today. Also I make sure that all employees are in compliance with uniform policy, meeting the 5 non-negotiable standards when taking care – more... of the customers. I also like to create a fun and enjoyable environment not only for my employees but for my customers as well – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
SALES (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 6, 2014
Pros: some of the girls that work there are some of the loveliest people i have ever met
Cons: terrible place to work
Owner is very rude and does not care for any of her employees as a person. Criticism is never to build but meant to point out your defects. Hours are randomly changed without notice. High volume of people quit due to the terrible enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Shift Manager (Current Employee), Durham, NCJuly 4, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling, friendly staff.
Cons: disgruntled customers, and sometimes sorting through soiled items
The best part of the job is the friendly staff and flexible hours. The store owner has a strong presence and is open to suggestions on productivity and marketing from staff members and management staff. The work environment is very relaxed and allows for socializing with customers and team members while completing daily tasks. At times performing daily – more... tasks becomes difficult when supplies are minimal. The hardest part of the job is sorting through sometimes soiled or infested items, and informing the customer of the condition. In this position, I have learned the importance of what you say and how you say it; which can be the difference in a negative review and a repeat customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Store Manager/Operator (Former Employee), Evansville, INJune 30, 2014
Pros: great discounts, 1st choice of items
Cons: no insurance
I learned so many things from my 12 year stint at OUAC. I learned merchandising, store layout, everything about childrens products.

A typical day working is very fun but fast paced. I liked looking through customers items for sale , pricing and tagging merchandise.

You have to get along & work as a TEAM in this environment or the core will fail.

The – more... hardest part of this job is telling people you don't want to buy their items, they tend to take it personally.

The most enjoyable part is at the end of the day seeing how much you were able to accomplish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNJune 26, 2014
A typical day at this job would be taking care of customer needs, maintaining cleanliness inside the store, and working the cash register.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work environment
Crew Member (Former Employee), beavercreek phioJune 18, 2014
Pros: 20% off all merchandise and first pick through all merchandise
Cons: low hourly pay for work, and sporadic hours
wonderful place to work, great people to work amongst and great perks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great Job.
Cashier (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAJune 9, 2014
It was a great first job and learning new things. Working with customers and computers. It was a fun place to work, and great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Bloomington, INMay 28, 2014
Pros: most of the managers are great
Cons: no regular pay raises and you work every saturday!
Tough job as far as being on your feet. One 15-minute break every shift. In the busy season you sometimes work 10-12 hours with only one break and end up staying until midnight. Most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the regular customers. One of the worst parts was picking up after people, especially during the sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OUAC is a fun place to work
Customer Service/Supervisor (Current Employee), glenway aveMay 17, 2014
Cons: a job
buy used childs clothing, toys and equipment, also ring customers up, do returns supervise the employees to make sure they are doing what needs to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, and fast paced
Night Manager (Current Employee), Elk Grove, CAMay 6, 2014
Pros: works great with my schedule.
Cons: not enough hours, low pay
Certified buyer
Buy gently used clothing and equipment for the store.
Follow opening and closing procedures for the store

Hardest partof the job was getting employees to respect me in a leadership role.

1 2 3 4 5