Find companies:
Omni Hotels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
135 reviews

Omni Hotels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
dinning room attandant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 2, 2013
took food to cutomers
seeing happy cutomers
all co workers are nice
it getting busy all dayand no breaks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management expects to much out of you!
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Nashville, Tn.November 24, 2013
Pros: benifits
Cons: poor management in housekeeping!
Nice hotel ! Management expects to much out of you! And all they do is sit behind the desk all day. You never hear anything that you have done good only negative comments. And when you try to tell them something they get a attitude and hold it against you and after that you are on their sh.t list and they make it hard for you and just stay on your back! – more... Management does not like to be corrected or told what needs to be look at, but if all they do is sit behind a desk then something is wrong! My boss was very rude after I tried to tell her about something that was going on with another shift after that it was all down hill. – less

18c9qfmtpak4g9gh – December 20, 2013

Omni Corporate needs to come to this hotel unexpected one day and just see what their management is doing in Housekeeping! Or be on Undercover- Boss! The director of Housekeeping in Nashville has no people skills! No communication skills and this is not coming from a former employee this is coming from an employee that works in housekeeping now! There are two men that work second shift supervisors and they are excellent but the assistant and the director of Housekeeping in Nashville, Tn. needs to be look into!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Customer Service Skills
Bartender/Server (Current Employee), Amelia Island, FL/ Atlanta, GANovember 16, 2013
Pros: advancement and benefits
Cons: short breaks and long hours
I have worked in many different departments at the Omni. I have learned how to anticipate guest needs and make drinks for the service station. I am very good with handling money and always providing correct change. I am very friendly and always get a long with my coworkers.

I would say the hardest part about my job, is to remain calm when there are – more... stressful situation. I have learn to maintain a smile no matter how difficult the situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working employees, who are open to helping one another
Call banquet Server (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 12, 2013
Pros: i was able to interact with an array of employees, which resulted in a better working environment.
Cons: experienced banquet servers expected new employees could perform all banquet duties on the first day
The staff and managers will willing to go above and beyond to help a new team member. When a person could not carry heavy trays, the men or more experienced employees would step in, and give advice or take on the responsibility personally. I learned the importance of good communication between team members and guests. Exceeding expectations is a high – more... priority in hospitality, and working frequently with customers allowed me to strengthen my customer service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning the lobby
Lobby Attendant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXNovember 11, 2013
Pros: friendly people
Cons: short lunch breaks
this job was fun I got to do a lot from the kids summer program to swimming pool attendant to spa and turn down attendant to lobby attendant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity filled
Ideal Services/PBX (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 9, 2013
Pros: great company to grow with, great pay
While I was at the Omni I was not limited to just doing my job. I had the chance to learn the functions of other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laundry Attendant
Laundry Attendant/Linen Runner (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 24, 2013
i wash dry large loads of linen and use folding and waxing machines. push carts of linen for housekeepers linen closet on the hotel floor, greet customers and help when they ask questions or any request. transport dirty linen from north and south towers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting
Line Cook (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 14, 2013
Pros: free lunch, learned a lot, healthcare
Cons: inconsistent managers, lazy co-workers
I got to help open the restaurant which is a great working experience, lazy co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good start to work your way up
BANQUET COOK (Current Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: discounted rooms, benefits
Cons: management
My typical day at work consist of preparing foods for large banquets, helping on the hot and cold line, helping the pastry chef plate desserts and doing buffet presentation styles. I also do prep for days ahead and help wherever I am needed. At this job I've learned plating presentation, how to read and prepare ticket orders and how to properly prep – more... ahead of time. Honestly my management isn't all that great, my days at work are very stressful because of management and I will say it could be better. My co-workers are great! They help me if I need help and answer all of my questions that I have. They also correct me when I'm doing something the wrong way. The hardest part of the job for me are the hours. Some days are very long and it puts a lot stress and pain on my body. The most enjoyable part for me is the cooking of course. It also serving people great food. Nobody wants to eat nasty food that doesn't taste good so if I don't like it I don't give it to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lobby attendant
Lobby Attendant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 30, 2013
clean restrooms stock restrooms clean swimming pool surroundings it was alright
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviornment
Front Desk Supervisor and PBX Operator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: enjoyable environment, fun activities, free meals.
Cons: short breaks, and required to work most holidays.
Worked as PBX operator and front office supervisor. Learned how to provide excellent customer service. However, management was unfair and showed favoritism towards preferred individuals. Most enjoyable part of the job was the different activities, conventions and individuals served.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun loving work place
Valet/bellman/dishwasher (Former Employee), charlottesville , virginaSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: free lunch, bounces every month and plus over time cross train in other department
. I possess acute knowledge of dishwashing machines and trash compactors along with extensive knowledge of recycling machines. Additionally, I am comfortable with the different types of chemicals and cleaning aides that are used for different pots and pans. Furthermore, my ability to stand in for other staff within in hotel including managing cooking – more... activities is a definitive plus. I am positive that I possess the ability to remain composed, attentive and work unsupervised. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST PLACE TO WORK
Business Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 20, 2013
CUSTOMER SERVICE
BUSINESS CENTER
COFFEE SHOP
CONCIERGE
FRONT DESK
OPERATOR
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Normal Day at my work
RETAIL ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Hot Springs, VASeptember 20, 2013
Pros: good lunches cheif inspired
Cons: rellitivly boaring
First starts with a meeting if you work the early shift, then at 9am the shops are opened up for the day. we are to clean and streighten up as we go through out the day. we have to do our daily sales report which is easy to do. Although i work 830am to 6pm it still makes for a long day , not alot of the guests come in because the murchandice is so expencive. – more... Due to this reason we don't get many guests that come in its so to speak not a booming shop so it gets kinda boaring even with all the choars to do. then 6pm comes and we lock up shop and go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very professional environment.
Room Service Busser (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: a beautiful work environment.
Cons: no being able to be in the public as much.
We made guest feel at home. I learned how to conduct myself in a professional work place. My managers were very kind. My co-workers were funny and easy to talk to. The hardest part about the jobs was taking the elevator up and down all day because it made me dizzy. I enjoyed making guest feel so welcomed into our hotel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management from top to bottom, if you want to learn absolutely nothing ,work here
cook (Former Employee), houstonAugust 28, 2013
Pros: can`t really think of any
Cons: everything, no one seem`s to care about employee`s
Worked there in kitchen, terrible place to work, no support from chef`s. No support from f&b , overloaded with work. No breaks.People are nice but most of them have been there their 20 plus years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun working place, no one smiles behind scenes.
Rooftop Attendant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 20, 2013
Pros: i work with people all day mostly outdoors.
Cons: negative working enviroment.
I rarely get breaks, my managers forget about me all the time. supplies brake and are never replaced. My co-workers are all grumpy. The hardest part of my job is being happy and keeping my spirit up even wanting to show up. My manager once told me I was smiling too much. I work in a hospitality business. I'm never allowed to go to a company outing because – more... I am always scheduled to work. I enjoy my customers the most. Putting a smile on their face makes me forget about my job behind the scenes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just was not the right fit.
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 20, 2013
My review is based on my experience and the Omni's corporation as a whole.

I worked nights as a loss prevention officer. I was very grateful to have a job during this time, but in all honesty new that this job was just a temporary stepping stone.

because I worked nights, work/Life balance was not great at all, but it brought money in during hard times.

Management – more... was good in my experience, but even in this position, management had a high turn over rate.

Job security was good, but advancement in this department is non-existent unless you move to a different service in the hotel.

Culture and values were great. Very customer oriented with great service.

Compensation was no commensurate with my experience, but I was grateful to have income.

Overall, if you are in college or high school and looking for a job to pay for gas and maybe a car payment, this is the right place for you. I would not recommend the Omni as a long term solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst corporate job I have ever had
Benefits Analyst (Former Employee), Corporate OfficeAugust 2, 2013
Cons: everything
I only lasted at this job 2 months and it was 2 months of hell. There was no guidance and no training provided. My direct manager never had time for questions and when she did she didn't know the answer anyway. Almost all processes are manual so if you enjoy lots of keying with no guidance then this is the job for you.

I finally quit this job when – more... the vp of HR pulled me into her office to tell me I wasn't a good fit because I wasn't reliable since I had 3 unscheduled days off. I took one because I was very sick and found out I was pregnant and the other two because my cousin passed away in Boston. The stress was too much and they have no work life balance. I was working 9 to 930 hour days and I was told I was still considered as leaving early. I'm so glad to be out of this place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: nothing really
I enjoyed working at the Omni, I got to meet new people everyday and management was good to work with.

About Omni Hotels

Not yet omnipresent, Omni Hotels has a portfolio of 50┬áhotel properties in the US, Canada, and Mexico. The luxury lodgings are – Read more