Find companies:
Omni Hotels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Omni Hotels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Supervisor (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: negative minds
On the job I learned how to work with equipment, with different people, handle myself, and how to work with other peoples needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high class nice place to work
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 7, 2013
Pros: nice people and great atmosphere
Cons: n/a
Great Hotel with lots of opportunity. Fun place to work that has a fitness center and employee lounges
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Reservations Manager/Front Office Supervisor (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJuly 1, 2013
Omni has a great reputation, takes good care of it's hotel and it's employees. Liked working for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great experience
Telecommunications Operator (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 30, 2013
Pros: worked with great staff
Cons: working till midnight
being able to communicate with all types of people and being able
to assist in their individual needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and productive work place.
Hostess and cocktail waitress (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 30, 2013
A typical day at work involved me performing my job duties as well as assisting others, as well. Management pushes the employees to perform better by having meetings & relaying what needs improved in our company. The most difficult part of my job is when we are extremely busy and understaffed, this is because the restaurant business cannot effectively – more... operate without all employees present and performing at their 100%. The most enjoyable part of my job is the salesmanship part of being a hostess and server, meeting and conversing with different kinds of people, and most of all - making customers happy by providing excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture and commitment to making an impact with guests
Executive Sous Chef (Current Employee), Irving, TXMay 20, 2013
Great company with great growth potential. The company will continue to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful property in downtown Indianapolis
Operations Management (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 15, 2013
Hardworking employees with high standards for themselves and each other. If you work in operations, you will work every single night, weekend and holiday....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Mini-Bar Attendant (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 14, 2013
Pros: medical insurance, benefits, 401k, employee discount on rooms
Cons: short breaks, low pay/high work and can not advance in some positions.
Being the honesty/mini-bar clerk is an okay job at Omni. You learn as much as you would being a door-to door salesman and how to provide excellent customer service. The management is relaxed as long as you complete your assigned tasks. The co-workers are co-workers and are nice but will try to get over on you if you let them. The hardest part of the – more... jobs is when special events come to the hotel and Sundays because most people check out late and your work is condensed. The most enjoyable part of the job is the employee perks and the hotel guest you meet. Overall, if you can get pass the low pay the job can be very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't ever plan on having a baby while working here!
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Fort WorthMay 12, 2013
Pros: bonus structure
Cons: the executive team at omni ft worth
The harassment started just a week after I told them I was pregnant. No congratulations or anything from the DOS or regional DOS. I was brought in the office several times a week and told that I was not a good fit and I needed to find another job or quit, but because I was pregnant I had to ride out the constant abuse day to day. I suppose they needed – more... to "build a case" or something because when I had no prior write ups and continued to make my goals it took about 5months before they fired me...then I was told "it's just not working out"...and at that point I was 7 & 1/2 months pregnant. The stress was unbearable and I was forced to go to my doctor about 4 times to make sure there were no effects on by unborn baby. The funny thing is my dr. even told me she had known this hotel to have this reputation in the past.

I was recently told the HR director was fired for harassment which was no suprise to me.

I believe the company itself is great, but the executive team at the Omni Fort Worth has their own issues. The DOS is good at booking business for the hotel, but THE WORST ATTITUDE I have ever seen in a women. She has a reputation and it is not a good one! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a great place to work
Engineer (Current Employee), Hilton Head Island, SCMay 7, 2013
Pros: good healthcare, etc
Cons: away from home
Omni is a great company to work for, I really cannot say anything bad about the company except it was in Hilton Head Island, S.C., far away from my family here in Dallas, Texas and I wanted to be home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Recruiting Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 30, 2013
Great company to work for with many opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly environment
Restaurant Server (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 30, 2013
Pros: good food, location and employees
Cons: small working spaces since its a old hotel
its a nice and friendly place to work everyone treats you like family and make s you feel both welcome and comfortable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work place
Honor Bar Attendant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 29, 2013
Pros: discounts on hotel rates worldwide
Cons: hard to advance
Depending on the occupancy of the hotel some days were buisier than others. I have learned the basic operations of the hotel i have also improved my customer service skills.I have the upmost respect for management because they had the most difficult job and was able to maintained even in the most difficult situations I have watched them work extremely – more... long hours and still maintained a positive attitude. My co-workers were some time difficult to work with because of the different age groups some felt as though they were there to just get a check and they did the bare minimum of work. Some did not believe in the importance of team work.I loved to be able to interact with different people from all over the world and to extend my helping hands to those that were in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best lobbys I ever seen.
Banquet Chef (Former Employee), Irving, TXApril 19, 2013
Pros: lots of room grerat kitchen good space.
Cons: at the time i didn't like the f&b director.
This place has a separate refrigerator for every culinary department and also one for incoming foods. There was always room in this kitchen. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Assistant Director of banquet (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 12, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: healcare and 401k
Learining new each day
Complete houseman fuctions
teaching me to be a good manager
I had great team to work with
Flipping room between fuction and 45 min when needed hour and half
camaradetie between management and associates

NYker – April 22, 2013

I have to comment on this because, I find it unfair to all those who apply and apply like myself to this and other company jobs and automatically receive an email as it has been reviewed. There are the same positions posted all year around, so you are telling me that throughout the whole year nobody qualified?..I know someone at this hotel and told me that they hire from within and the amount of data from people who may be good candidates do not even get revised..okay, then don't post it all year. It's frustrating to people that qualify and never get the chance to even interview, because instead of speaking and interacting with the candidate to review his/hers qualifications..you leave it up to a computer system. Sometimes old fashion systems work better, it was great when people face to face evaluated people. I guess it must be an easy job to work at Human Resources these days. Sorry but it had to be mentioned.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as far as people and staying busy is concerned.
Chef (Former Employee), Amelia Island, FLMarch 27, 2013
The company was a great place to be for the first 6 months and then the management began making poor decisions as far as staff pay and scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most disfunctional place I have worked at.
Line staff (Former Employee), FloridaMarch 20, 2013
No leadership in hotel. I have never seen a more dysfunctional company in my life. They have no idea what they are doing and how to treat employees. They provide no positive incentives, but they are extremely "write up" friendly. You make one mistake and they jump all over you. Most of the places I have worked they want you to succeed so the company – more... can succeed. There, it seems as they want you to fail and then can't figure out why the company doesn't make money and can't get a lot of repeat business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Valet / Valet Captain Omni Hotel (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 19, 2013
Fun place too work when baseball is in town! Great people to work with and the company treats their employees well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting Place to work
Director of Housekeeping & Laundry Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta GAMarch 19, 2013
Pros: once you work at any omni all the training is the same!! you can work at them all..
Cons: not enough omni hotels for relocation!!
Great and Enjoyable atmosphere to work. Lots of Team work is instilled in the empoyees... hardest part of my job is when i transferred fromone property to the next..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTVE AND CLEAN WORKPLACE
HOUSEKEEPING (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 19, 2013
Pros: 50cent lunches
Cons: 2 15min breaks
TYPICAL DAY AT WORK AT THE OMNI WAS TO KEEP ALL ASSIGNED ROOMS CLEAN TO EXPECTATIONS. MAKING SURE GUESTS WHERE SATISFYIED. I LEARNED TO TREAT OTHERS HOW YOU WOULD WANT TO BE TREAT AND IGNORE ALL IGNORANCE. MY CO-WORKERS WERE WONDERFUL CO-WORKERS COMMITTED. THE HARDEST PART WAS PUSHING AND PULLING A 75LBS CART TO DIFFERENT FLOORS IN A CERTAIN AMOUNT – more... OF TIME. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART WAS DISCOUNTS. – less

About Omni Hotels

Not yet omnipresent, Omni Hotels has a portfolio of 50┬áhotel properties in the US, Canada, and Mexico. The luxury lodgings are – Read more