Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,878 reviews

Olive Garden Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome environment to work in and great employees.
Bartender, Server, Trainer, Cashier, Cash Drops (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 7, 2014
Pros: 50% off all food
Cons: benefits
I get to work on time and set up my area where ever it may be (my bar or my section). Greet my guests with a smiling presence and give them the best experience I can possible. I keep my guests happy along with helping other employee's in need. Olive Garden is strictly a team effort. Having a "Blue Card" (Trainer/Manager card only) makes my work as speedy – more... as it can get, but it also keeps me busy and also helps me make sure all guests are satisfied.
When I finish my shift, I count my drawer, collect all wine bottles off of the floor, pump them, mark dates on all bottles and dump out the old ones. I clean my station whiling checking out my other team members' sections making sure they cleaned properly to allow them to pay out and go home. I then cash out the servers and do numerous cash drops throughout the end of the day/night. Making sure my bar/area is clean and usually being the second to last to leave I patiently wait on or help the manager on duty to finish all work needed. We then set the alarms and it is policy to walk out with at least two to three people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Server/Waiter (Former Employee), Barboursville, WVNovember 6, 2014
My co-workers were like family. It is hard being a server in general, but the atmosphere was positive for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits available
Assistant Culinary Manager (Former Employee), Champaign, ILNovember 6, 2014
Typical corporate restaurant.

Employs mostly younger people from all walks of life.

The programs and specials are designed to bring in people who wouldn't normally go to a restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Server/To Go Specialist (Current Employee), Baytown, TXNovember 5, 2014
Pros: half priced lunches
Cons: long hours little pay
A typical day at Olive Garden starts at 10:45 a.m. as a server. As a To Go Specialist (TGS as I will call it for now on) it starts at 9:30 a.m. You spend you time before opening getting the restaurant ready for the day. As TGS you get the salad station ready, make to go salads, and desserts as well as prepare for any orders that you have first thing. – more... Then you start to serve your guest as they come in. The hardest part of the job is ensuring that all orders are correct. I enjoy every minute that I am there. Management tries really hard to make everyone happy, to a fault almost. Sometimes my co-workers are hit and miss. My most enjoyable part of the job is the people that I get to meet on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place to work and to eat
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNNovember 5, 2014
Pros: loved everything about this job
Cons: wanted waitresses to make more than $2.13 hour
Wonderful people and bosses to work for and with. Great food and atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Staffing and Training Manager (Former Employee), Burbank, ILNovember 5, 2014
Its a good place to work but no room for advancement. I really don't have much to say in this review I would like to discuss in person
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server/Bartended (Former Employee), San Luis Obispo, CANovember 4, 2014
I did somewhat enjoy being a server and bartender at Olive Garden. A typical day was pretty much the same thing, depending on the flow of guests coming in. Slow days were spent mainly cleaning, and big dinner rushes were always a blast. I loved moving fast and making my guests happy. The hardest part of that job, was dealing with employees who didnt – more... want to be a part of the team. Most enoyable part, was knowing i had a great shift, and pleased all my guests – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busser
Busser/Food Runner/Waiter (Former Employee), myrtle beachNovember 4, 2014
a typical day at work would be to clean tables, interact with customers and help out the servers. I learned about a lot of different foods. The managers are pretty good as long as you do your job right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun get to greet new people everyone is freindly
Server (Current Employee), cutler bayNovember 4, 2014
I would always greet my guest with a nice wine sample offer inform and endorse an item on the menu and always did it with a smile offer appetizers and desserts and leave guest happy and coming back for more
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy busy
Server (Current Employee), Reading, PANovember 1, 2014
i like working here.... all the managers are awesome and approachable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Professional
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 30, 2014
Maintain good morale with guest and employees
monitor labor hours, ensure quality food proper safety procedures are followed at all times. enjoy having happy guest and employees. hardest part is ensuring avst is in good standing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server, To-Go Specialist, Bartender, and Hostess (Current Employee), Boardman, OHOctober 30, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: healthcare
Benefits are not that great but its a great job for people just getting out of high school or going through college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly work environment
Culinary Laborer (Former Employee), Idaho Falls, IdahoOctober 30, 2014
Pros: discounts on food
Cons: no breaks. broken glass hazards. slippery wet floors. confined work area.
Fast paced work environment
Learned time management and organizational skills.
Learned the importance of proper sanitization set by both state and
corporate standards in the Restaurant industry.
The co-workers were friendly and made a less than desirable job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude, cheap customers and horrible management.
Waiter (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 30, 2014
I worked at the Olive Garden at Challenge Way in Sacramento, CA.
I've worked in the service industry for 5+ years and will never work for The Olive Garden of its affiliate companies every again. I'd give out zero stars if I could.

My GM was known to be 'on something', due to his persistent post nasal drip, as well as his preference to sort dinner plates – more... during peak business hours instead of assisting in getting hot food to the tables. Not to mention erratic behavior whereas he would be cool and collected and then blow up on us minutes later. Our sales were never good enough even if we didn't have a single customer complaint (which happens here regularly). You will also be expected to run a full service dining experience (wine sampling, food and beverage service, unlimited refills for soup/salad, dessert and artisan coffee) for your guests will being triple seated and/or taking care of large parties (20+ people, with a partner), even if their are 14 servers on the hosts/hostesses seem to share only a few brain cells and would rather fill up one section at a time instead of rotating tables and fluidly managing the shift floor

The customers at this location were the worst I have ever encountered. They are entitled, rude, crass and many will run you around during their stay only to complain to your manager to attempt to get their meal free or any number of items comped off their ticket. Customers will attempt to customize every aspect of their plate (pasta, sauce, or composition) and then complain that you have to charge them to swap out items or that they shouldn't have to pay for Alfredo sauce when all they want to do is use it as a dip for their never ending bread sticks (which they can't seem to stuff enough into their face). Oh and don't even think about a tip, many will leave you less than %5 percent on a table if they leave anything.

During the spring and summer months we had flies everywhere. In our kitchen pass through our food expediter would wield a fly-swatter and smash them in between setting up plates of food. Who knows where they ended up or what food they splattered into.If our customers were better I think maybe somebody on the staff would have cared. One time we had a customer who complained about the flies and my shift manager came out and sprayed aerosol commercial Raid out on the dining floor around the customer and her table. It is illegal to spray for bugs without using a licensed contractor and inexcusable to use it when there are customers present, afterwards people complained that their food tasted like insect spray. Yum.

Also, just to dispel the myth of fresh and authentic Italian food in a fine dining setting -- everything is microwaved before being served and the pasta is pre-made and reheated in plastic boil bags before being combined with whatever delicious sides the customers order.

In my experience I have worked as a Host, Busser, Server, Shift Manager and done employee training. I do not recommend working for this company, and at the very least stay clear of this location. We also had a high turnover with our server 'classes' of 6 or so, only one or two would end up lasting, I saw entire groups wash out after their first or second day or working on the floor when they were allowed to finally work by their self after training. Abandon all Hope, Ye who enter Here.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Server/Waiter (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 29, 2014
- Taking inputting and delivering a phenomenal dining experience
- Learned to Multitask
- Management was organized
- Coworkers were wonderful
- Hardest part of the job was doing doubles
- Serving diverse groups of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Restaraunt
DMO operator (Current Employee), Canton, GAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: 50% off on anything
Cons: getting dirty.
My day consists of washing dishes for everyone in the house.

Management allows you to work in several areas to test your competency levels.

I enjoy the culture. For the most part everyone laughs and compete with each others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bubbly
Server (Former Employee), Onalaska, WIOctober 28, 2014
Pros: good tips
Cons: yelled at everyday for something that wasn't your fault
loved olive garden until "higher ups" started trying to change things for the worse
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment and fun working with guests
server (Current Employee), Allen, TXOctober 28, 2014
Pros: half off food, your pay check is getting cash every night.
Cons: being on your feet all day, getting bad tips or non.
A typical day at work can be hectic or boring. I love being around all the exotic and different people throughout my day. I learn how to multitask better. My co-workers are amazing but in the hectic days it can get pretty hostile. The hardest part of the job is when you make a mistake and owning up to that mistake to the guests. The most enjoyable part – more... of the day is when you get a really laid back and sweet table and they make your job easy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work good benefits package
Busser/Server (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHOctober 28, 2014
A good restaurant that really caters to the needs of the guests
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job to pay the bills while I seek career advancement
BARTENDER/SERVER (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TXOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good wage for minimal hours
Cons: always on my feet and not treated properly by management
Working as a bartender I have gained many skills to become and better employee. I have learned the necessity of teamwork and multi-tasking while cooperatively learning how to deal with the public. A typical day consists of making drinks, taking care of guests, keeping a clean and neat bar, all while working cooperatively with over 30 other employees.

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more