Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,649 reviews

Olive Garden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCAugust 8, 2014
Pros: discount on food
ok place to work, lots of drama, does have decent benefits for full time employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olive Garden
Serving Job (Former Employee), Mankato, MNAugust 8, 2014
Really enjoyed getting to meet so many new faces and work with a lot of interesting unique people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team feel
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Bethel Park, PAAugust 8, 2014
Loved the employees made it feel like we were all one team. loved the pay and employees didnt like the few hours that were givin and how we had to stay after everyone else
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Server/Certified Trainer (Former Employee), Farmington, NMAugust 7, 2014
This job was never boring. The customers that came in were always different and it was character building dealing with each and every one of them. You learn how to talk to people and how to put a spin on something in order to make a sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitaliano!
Server (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJAugust 7, 2014
Pros: enthusiastic encouragement, open management team, co-workers that act as a team.
Cons: no end times to shifts, lack of daily communication to waitstaff that informs them of products out of stock.
Working at Olive Garden was a pretty good experience for me. Previous to working there, I really didn't appreciate the cuisine. Once I became an employee, I learned that there are several enjoyable foods to be had there! The training was very extensive and thorough. I felt confident serving my guests with perfect knowledge of the menu. I had previously – more... worked in other restaurants, and I can say with most certainty that the teamwork of the staff is very good, and the side work is very light. The most challenging part of the job is not having an end time to a shift. When your shift ends depends on what particular room you are serving in that shift, and when business declines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic, Challenging, Intense
Floor Assistant (Former Employee), Newton Aycliffe, ENGAugust 7, 2014
Pros: friendly colleagues
Cons: no discount
A typical day at work involved, keeping the workplace clean, preparing food, serving customers, washing up, answering the phone and checking stock. I learned that despite who your colleagues are it's best to get along with them, it makes things a lot easier. I also learned tolerance for difficult customers and calmness under pressure. I wasn't always – more... in agreement with the management, the owners on the other hand were lovely but the management was difficult, although the place was ran brilliantly, the treatment of some of the staff wasn't always fair. I got along with all of my co-workers as that was the best was to go about having to spend 5-6 hours with them several nights a week. The hardest part of this job was dealing with difficult customers, there's a pub nearby and at closing time the drunks would flock in and cause a bit of trouble, but learning how best to deal with them is now something I consider a skill. The most enjoyable part of the job was the busier periods, time flew by and having lots to do is something I enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Server (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 6, 2014
Pros: simple place to work
Cons: severely underpay top performers.
Typical hours.
Easy place to work.
Not much room for upward mobility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
line cook
Line Cook (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNAugust 6, 2014
Pros: get company discounts
Cons: long hours
Produce quality food
give great customer satisfaction
follow every order without complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENJOYABLE PLACE TO WORK
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), Muskegon, MIAugust 6, 2014
Pros: cash/tips daily
Cons: hours/weekends/nights schedule
SERVED/WAITED TABLES
LEARNED: MULTITASK, HOW TO TRAIN NEW EMPLOYEES, AND CASH HANDLING/MANAGERIAL RESPONSIBILITIES
MANAGEMENT: FAIR
CO-WORKERS: MIXTURE, GOOD AND BAD EMPLOYEES
HARDERST PART: NO GUARANTEED/SET PAY,HOURS
MOST ENJOYABLE: HAVING CASH EVERYDAY, MEETING NEW PEOPLE, DEVELOPING REGULAR GUESTS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met a lot of people
Host and Busser (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches
My role was to clean tables, and take Customers to their tables.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a five star waitress who work her way up to manager
service professional (Former Employee), cheecktowaga nyAugust 4, 2014
Pros: hard work paid off for me.
Cons: no job security
I came in help set dinning area . Had morning meeting ralley in the alley.I motivated and kept spirits high. I worked passionately, and like what i was doing.I was always a person who got the ob done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job at Olive Garden.
Host (Part Time) (Current Employee), Pueblo, COAugust 4, 2014
Pros: ge to sample the foods.
Cons: need more hours per week.
Love all the people and work I do at Olive Garden. I enjoy all the people I work with and meeting the meeting and greeting new customers each and every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When you are here you're family
Server (Current Employee), La Mesa, CAAugust 4, 2014
By far the most diverse place I have been a waitress at! We are all family here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Server (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 2, 2014
Worst Experience working as a server. Management team were not doing their job and didn't care about the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic
SERVER (Former Employee), North riverside ilAugust 2, 2014
I went to work and did my job and went home. I do not wish to review anymore for this company. Darden restaurants are professional excluding most olive gardens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse in employees
Hostess (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXAugust 1, 2014
The servers are lazy and complain a lot about being there longer than three hours. Very few employees are there to work. Many of the employees are an enjoyment to be around outside of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 stars
Line Cook (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: good enviroment
Cons: no team work
love the job but no team work. iof you need help and someone is free they will not help you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized, fun, professional place to work.
Server (Current Employee), Rochester, MNAugust 1, 2014
Pros: food discounts
Cons: corporate rules
I spent a week in training just learning about the food and wine, which was all extremely beneficial. The management is the best I've ever had anywhere and they were patient with my learning to become a better server.
My co-workers were also amazing. Everyone there was positive and helped each other all the time.
It is corporate so there are a lot of – more... rules and standards that seem silly, but it all helps run a smooth ship. I've worked in other restaurants were it's not organized in the least and it makes it hard to develop a rhythm.
When I started I had not idea what I was doing and they stuck with me to see that I learn from my mistakes and now I feel as though I am a competent server. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLJuly 31, 2014
A typical would be productive, there is constant movement and making sure all guest are satisfied.
I learned how cost of food is important
The management is good
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the co workers and learning new recipes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the ideal palce to work because you barely get any hours
Carside Specialist (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 30, 2014
My typical day at work was taking phone orders and preparing the food orders.
I didn't get a chance to learn too much.
Management was very rude and was never around when you needed help.
My co-workers were all in cliques so I was pretty much by myself.
It wasn't a hard job.
Leaving at the end of my shift.

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more