Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,701 reviews

Olive Garden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are single and looking for a career while in school
Food Server (Former Employee), Deptford, NJSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: half prices on meals, bosses were very approachable, treated equally always.
Cons: did not have breaks just basically had time to grab food but other that no cons.
I loved working there, I basically sat and waited on customers. This definitely requires a lot of customer service and patience but it also very fun. I love being busy and multi-tasking so this was perfect at that time in my life. Management was very friendly and personable and so were the coworkers. The hardest part was I I believe as any job, just – more... getting acclimated to your new surroundings and how things work in that type of place. Thank goodness I am a fast learner. The hardest part was definitely when people who were team members would slack off and did not care about their jobs leaving the people who did to do all of the work but that rarely happened. The most enjoyable part was working with people and putting a smile of peoples faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Corperate
Food Server (Former Employee), Pittsburg, CASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: discounted meals
Cons: no healthcare
Greeting Guest and processing food orders.
Worked well with all.
Hardest part was closing up.
I enjoyed serving repeat guests
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Culinary Assistant (Current Employee), Southaven, MSSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
There are great benefits, the food is amazing, half off food, get to try new food, managers are fun. Great staff and training was so much fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy
To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VASeptember 3, 2014
Restaurant life is stressful and you just have to be able to handle it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun in Times Square
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 3, 2014
Professional, but fun work environment. Very diverse staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PRODUCTIVE
TO-GO SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: no free meal
OLIVE GARDEN HAS ITS SPECIAL MOMENTS WHEN YOU GET TO SEE A COUPLE GET ENGAGED.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Server (Former Employee), Fayetteville, GASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: 50% off dine-in meals
Cons: low-pay, your pay is tips basically
i loved working here each day was a great experience.......................................... ............................ ........... ......... ........ .......... .......... ........... ........... .......... .............. .....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Dishwasher/Cook (Former Employee), Greenacres, FLSeptember 2, 2014
The type of work I did was good for me since my language background is not super strong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work an a good learning experience
Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Hoover, ALSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: always busy
Cons: healthcare
I love my job at Olive Garden I love working in Restaurants it is always busy an I make good tips an they are very flexible with my schedule an I work for good mgrs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice people to wok for
Server (Former Employee), Columbus GASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: no advancement opportunity
Great group of people There just was no advancement opportunity
Great group of people There just was no advancement opportunity
Great group of people There just was no advancement opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company went from a fun place to work to just a job in less than 2 years
General Manager (Former Employee), Houston,TxAugust 31, 2014
Pros: great work/life balance
Cons: stress of not knowing what was next
Opening manager works from 8am until 5pm, mid manager from 10am -8pm and closers 3pm-12am.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Server Job
Server (Current Employee), Tukwila, WAAugust 30, 2014
Typical server job, very corporate. Not very much benefits. As with most corporate restaurants, either looking to move up or move on to a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out going work environment with great co workers and many fun personalities to work with.
Server (Former Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: enjoying free breadsticks through out the shift and having a secure position with fun management
Cons: breaks were a little too short
serving was a great job. It was a good feeling to go home with cash in your pocket at the end of every shift. i really enjoyed working with my co workers. they were all fun and around the same age as I. the hardest part of my job was working on extremely slow days and not having more than two tables with very little cash to go home with that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past fun working environment
Line Cook (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GAAugust 29, 2014
I bounce around a lot when i'm at work. I tend to work more then one station. when everyone communicates everything goes smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best first job
Server, Certified Trainer (Former Employee), Whittier, CAAugust 28, 2014
This was such a great first job! Friendly and professional atmosphere. The general manager was excellent! Opportunities to grow in the company and a real feel of what teamwork should be!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace.
Server (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: discounts on food
Cons: bad attitudes of some servers
Olive Garden was a great experience, the atmosphere could be difficult at time but employees always seemed to complete the task. The general manager was a very kind, understanding guy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse work environment
Busser/Dishwasher (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHAugust 28, 2014
It can get very busy at the oilve garden. I have learned in the food industry, the guest is the number one priority. One bad review and lead to thousands. I love the management team here. They all work together to assist us employees with providing our guest with a wonderful dinning experience. I have came to understand there is no hard part of the – more... job, everything that goes on while i'm clocked in, is all part of the job. I love the fact that i have a impact on hundreds of people day each day i go to work.-Lloyd Booker – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice job to have on the side I feel.
Sales associate- Server, Busser, Host (Current Employee), KnoxvilleAugust 28, 2014
Pros: 1$ soup salad breadsticks
Cons: hours are random every week. unpredictable shifts on how much you will make
I like most the people and managers I have worked with. Just the pay and stuff you have to do in certain job codes are way more work for what you getting paid. They will not let you become a server if your a busser, because they need people to buss and no one wants to because it is the one of the worst 2 job codes in the building other then the dish – more... pit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment onoccasion
Server (Former Employee), Blue Springs, MOAugust 28, 2014
Pros: great discount, friendly coworkers
Cons: hugely varied management, terrible money
I loved my coworkers. Mostly. Like any workplace, there are those you can't stand, but I liked it here for the most part.

My biggest complaint was that I had a hard time getting anything done because I was busy either getting yelled at (yes, yelled) by one of the managers, ignored by another, or being commanded by the one that yelled to run hot food – more... when my tables all needed things. I had a lot of potential for great tips, but because they constantly forced me to run other peoples' food, I had to ignore my own guests.

I also really hated how they pushed the 'family' feeling on me in training, but any time I needed help, people would scatter unless they were the good friends I had made there.

Also, for a company that gives dishwashers $10/hour, they sure don't want their servers making any money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working as a team
Dish Machine Operator (Former Employee), Valdosta, GaAugust 28, 2014
A typical day of work for me is filled with smiles, and getting things accomplished. What I mean by smiles is, in some cases getting to know the customer of consumer. Making small talk with them therefore making us both feel more comfortable and assuring that he/she leaves my workplace happy. Another example would be having a good time as I work. Whether – more... it be coming up with ways to make work easier or more fun, and/or getting to know my co-workers. The most enjoyable part of a job to me is getting to know both the people that I'm working with as well as the people that I'm working for. i.e. the customer/consumer. – less

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more