Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,356 reviews

Olive Garden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Line Cook (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDApril 10, 2014
The best part of the job was preparing good food for people. Knowing that they're enjoying a meal that you prepared is a good feeling. I don't think that there was anything that I didn't like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is always very important
Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GaApril 10, 2014
Pros: family discount
Cons: long hours
I have learned that customer service is always important. Management always need help from their employees. My co-workers are great and always willing to help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse place to work.
Host (Current Employee), Michigan City, INApril 9, 2014
I enjoy working here, I have learned a lot of new skills with different computer software and POS system. I have also learned to work with a diverse group of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When You Here You Family
Bartender/Server (Current Employee), Wilson,NCApril 9, 2014
A day at work for me is always great. I try to provide the best possible service to the guests that walk through the door. I learned how to anticipate guests needs accordingly and just being myself. Our management is in the transformation stages but they are great and learning as well as myself but we they will get there. I love all my coworkers I have – more... good social relationship with many of them outside of work as well. The hardest thing I would say about my job is learning the new menu since its entirely new but it takes me no time to get it but the most enjoyable part of my job is being there meeting old and new faces and building relationships with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive the ideal college student job
waiter (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARApril 9, 2014
Pros: the opportunity to communicate with like minded college students.
Cons: sometimes the hours are cut tremendously
I enjoyed my time at Olive Garden the environment was phenomenal.
This was truly the ideal place for a college student like myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and fun people to work with.
Host (Former Employee), Portland, ORApril 9, 2014
Pros: communicate with customers.
Cons: not enough pay and could get stuck doing one thing all day.
Would seat people. I learned how to interact with a variety of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place to work a summer or two
Culinary Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 8, 2014
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: no breaks, low pay etc....
this is very cold and uncaring company to work for. the benefits are horrible. No paid time off, no paid holidays, and the only day they close is Christmas. some days you work until your body gives up and some days your criticized chastised and belittled. the management team members are human, they make mistakes but when you make similar mistakes they – more... will behead you, figuratively speaking. But I do enjoy cooking and at the end of the day the occasional compliment makes it seem worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sketchy
HOST (Former Employee), Lafayette, LAApril 8, 2014
Your typical restaurant chain. Full of off beat characters. Sketchy work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Cook (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLApril 8, 2014
Is ok place to work, changed for moved to Sarasota, always with a lot work in season, but they reduce your time/ hours, went the season end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational Workplace
Server (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLApril 8, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: short/no breaks, staffing issues
I enjoyed working at Olive Garden because it provided me with the opportunity to work in a fast paced environment, which improved my ability to multitask and my communication skills. We typically work 4-10 hour shifts, and we work with guests, employees, and managers all day, answering phones, running food, and dealing with any customer interaction – more... for our specified section. Depending on volume, it could become difficult to manage a 6 table section with 30 people, but after working there for 3 years I have come to revel in that challenge. In some instances, like this one, I work better under pressure and enjoy overcoming obstacles, though another difficulty presented itself when managers would not schedule enough individuals for a shift. Those employees working would have to manage 3 jobs instead of one, and even though it made things very hectic, I've only ever received guest compliments. My favorite thing about Olive Garden was the relationships I was able to create, I love working with and learning about people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced but easy job
Host (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAApril 7, 2014
greet/seat guests
maintain areas
assist other employees
co-workers were friendly
easy job
got hectic on busy nights/holidays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place, to forge many life long Bonds
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), Mesa, ArizonaApril 7, 2014
Pros: always busy
Cons: the large turnover ration, usally ment you were working with a large number of people, that did not know what they were doing.
Like most restaurants, I am sure they all have their share of fantastic, bright, and wonderful employees, and the Olive Garden, was no different. The pace everyday, was very quick, and easy to groove to, allowing you give a lot of attention to your guests, which is where everyone gets their income in the Food/Bev industry. All in all, my only complaint – more... about this establishment, is that it was 30+ miles away from my house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realtor
Server (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 6, 2014
Pros: own boss
Cons: market conditions
Knowledge of Real Estate market
Negotiation of sale/listing contracts
Staff/Management cooperation and functionality
Customer Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place with great people
Server (Current Employee), Jonesboro, ARApril 4, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: healthcare
a typical day at olive garden is u go to work, clock in, get chatted in by a manager, check your section to make sure it is nice and clean and ready for guest. In the mean time go around and make sure everything is ready for the day. After you have checked those things off you can visit with other employees to see how they are and if they need any help – more... from you, by then you should already have guest seated, because at Olive Garden, we are always busy and there is always something to do, but over all Olive Garden is a nice work environment and good money as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Server/Cashier (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCApril 3, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: short breaks, bad pay
I really enjoyed working here. I was able to work at my pace and interact with the customers. Management was great for the most part. It was kind of like a competition with your co-workers to see who could handle the most tables and who got the most tips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olive garden is an amazing place to work
Server/Sales Person (Current Employee), concord, ncApril 3, 2014
I would advice anyone looking for a stable job with great people, this is the place for you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Job
Server/Sales Person (Current Employee), Triadelphia, WVApril 3, 2014
I truly enjoy working at Olive Garden. Not only have I worked there for six years, but it's allowed me to pursue my education full time. I have had a strong management team that has taught a team- based approach in being successful in this line of work. Working with the public in a restaurant has taught me communication and multitasking are valuable – more... assets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sassy, fun, chic
Host (Former Employee), College StationApril 2, 2014
This particular VS is in a mall in the "higher-end" part of Dallas. With that being said this store was always busy! Keeping the store clean and being attentive to all customers was a challenge, but I loved it! I tried to keep the two balanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, like family.
Server (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 2, 2014
Pros: 1/2 price lunch, very flexible schedule
Cons: variable pay based on perceived satisfaction and common courtesy
Being a server is not for everyone. The toughest part of being successful on the job is learning to deliver perfect guest satisfaction. It can be difficult to cater to the individual needs of everyone when the place gets busy. I've seen the stress get to some people, however the staff I worked with was the most supportive I've known. The Managers are – more... very helpful and understanding of your circumstances. No better way to sharpen your interpersonal skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freeflowing place with plenty of interaction
Server (Current Employee), Findlay, OHApril 2, 2014
Get to know both coworkers and guests on a personal level while building connections for the future.

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more