Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,775 reviews

Olive Garden Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work for
Hostess/Server (Former Employee), Morehead City, NCOctober 17, 2014
Pros: discount on food and free food tasting
Cons: not a full time position
busy, interacting with guest as they walk in and out, I learned a little bit of wine which wine goes along with what foods, also how to delegate and direct servers and busers to which table and what tables need help. When the restaurant is busy and there are no tables available, sometimes guests can get impatient so as a host I have to be calm and friendly – more... and let them know how much longer they have to wait and that we are doing are best to seat them as soon as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server (Current Employee), Rochester, MNOctober 17, 2014
Manager and staff are very friendly.
Work days are fast paced and I enjoy my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly atmosphere with a diversity of people
Server (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, NYOctober 16, 2014
Pros: flexibility of hours; can give away or pick up shifts as needed.
Cons: no breaks and late hours
Typically, a day at Olive Garden is a very busy, fast paced, productive one.

I have learned a whole new level of multitasking.

Management is very professional and respectful.

Co-workers are great, everyone gets along well.

The hardest part of the job is the fact that income lacks consistency because I work for tips.

The most enjoyable part of the – more... job is the interaction with the public, and being able to provide an exceptional dining experience for my guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Server (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 16, 2014
You can learn alot working from this company. The upbeat enviornment and the training will teach you what you need to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible job, good for a chain store
Server/Bartender (Current Employee), Cranberry Twp., PAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: inconsistent cash flow, late hours
Working in a restaurant was a fun experience. It can become tedious and stressful at times especially in busy and popular places like the Olive Garden. I learned how to efficiently work in a high volume establishment and how to professionally handle the public. I also learned about training and staff development in a large company.

Management varied – more... from day-to-day and person-to-person. Overall, the managers are paid well and have a decent work-life balance, so they usually did their job well and were there to serve their staff.

The hardest part of being a bartender/server is to be on your feet from sometimes 12 hours a day with little to no break. In my opinion, once you get used to the job and if you don't work a lot of double shifts, you'll be okay.

The most enjoyable part of the job is making, people, especially children and elderly feel happy and special on birthdays or celebrations. Just being around people and making them feel joy and happiness while they are there is what it is all about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good place to work at.
Line Cook (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNOctober 16, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: short staffing
I have learned many cooking techniques from the olive garden and it has proved as a good place to work. I receive more than minimum wage and communicate and work well with managers as well as coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun family oriented workplace.
Server, Host, and To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDOctober 15, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: no breaks
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the content faces of my guests after enjoying a well dine-in experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun family oriented workplace.
Server, Host, and To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDOctober 15, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: no breaks
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the content faces of my guests after enjoying a well dine-in experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun family oriented workplace.
Server, Host, and To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDOctober 15, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: no breaks
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the content faces of my guests after enjoying a well dine-in experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food great people who treated me like family
server (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZOctober 15, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: unsteady hours/pay
The hardest part working for Olive Garden was the unsteady hours/pay.
I worked at Olive Garden for over 4 years and in that time i learned a lot. I was able to be cross trained into a numerous of different positions. My co-workers and management was always upbeat and a great team. It helped me grow and learn to cope with the any problems I might run – more... into. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Culinary Assistant (Current Employee), 60 and regence squareOctober 15, 2014
I thing this would be a great place to work. I would enjoy working for a company that is well established such as you company is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Utility (Former Employee), Vallejo, CAOctober 14, 2014
A typical day at work was to wash and put away dishes we received from both the kitchen and waiters. I learned how to use a dish washing machine as well as being able to fix it. Management was very helpful and nice as well as my coworkers. The hardest part of the job was being left alone handling thousands of dishes with no help at times. The most enjoyable – more... part was being able to make friends both in the kitchen and on the floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working here
Server (Former Employee), Salisbury, NCOctober 13, 2014
typical serving job. they were good with working around my schedule and never complained if I asked for the day off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Host, Certified Trainer, and Togo Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Gratiot, MIOctober 13, 2014
Gained a lot of knowledge of how to work in a jail and as a deputy on the road.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible for current students
Server/Host (Former Employee), Orange, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, discount on meals
Cons: stressful
Stressful, you need t have thick skin and have the ability to work under pressure
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the plague
Server (Current Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 12, 2014
Management at the Dublin location is awful. All locations treat servers like dirt and they go through staff like water.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Waitress (Current Employee), Irving, TXOctober 12, 2014
I work almost everyday. Its hard being a server when the restaurant has little business. I enjoy my co-workers but I just wish the store got more business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server
Server (Former Employee), Maplewood, MNOctober 12, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great management!, great flexability, great coworkers
Cons: just cant make a living off of min-wage and tips and part time.
Best company ive worked for! Just cant make a living off of min-wage and tips and part time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have a passion for what I do
Supervisor (Current Employee), Sandy, UTOctober 9, 2014
Help keep up and improve the quality and standards of restaurant.

Come up with plans, execute them, direct and redirect, manage and supervise over other employees and tasks given to them. Make sure that company standards are being kept. And that guest always feel welcome and taken care of. Create a welcoming and safe environment for guest as well as – more... employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible work environment with space for advancement
Server, Carry-Out Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 9, 2014
Pros: team based environment, understanding management, meal discounts, training made easy
Cons: n/a
I loved working for Olive Garden, let alone Darden. They really care about their team members. The management I worked with put me on the fast track because that is what I wanted to do and I appreciated every part of the training. My co workers were willing to help in any way possible and it was such a great environment to be in. There wasnt a hard – more... part of the job thus far upon me working there in a short time but the best part was being able to switch into different roles and learn more every single day. – less

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more