Oldcastle Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, on13 October 2017
Stared with the company as a Customer Service Representative and left the organization as a Quality Manager. Assistance is paid for courses as long as you acheive good marks. Only reason for leaving was I was relocating to the States for personal reasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC20 July 2017
Moving from site to site and using hand tools busy not boring
I learned new skills and how to work friendly in a team
I enjoy working in this company and I liked to be busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON6 June 2017
Smaller companies under 1 big umbrella that operate independently within the CRH guidelines. Each plant differs however each have their own sense of unity and family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Administration / Sales (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 April 2017
Its a great company to work as a team and grow and an individual. Management is very supportive, they give you the essential tools to get where you need to go to be successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Half days on fridays are the only redeeming quality I can say about this place
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON14 December 2016
Like the title said, half days on fridays are not too bad. The salary is competitive, however I do not find much room for advancement within the company and in a few years, based on what my coworkers who have been there for ages before me said that the wage doesn't go up as much as they want.
Pros
Half day on Fridays
Cons
Horrible Management, co-workers take advantage of you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emplois étudiant
Travail étudiant, opérateur de presse (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC4 April 2016
Malheureusement ce n'était que pour une duré indéterminée, l'employeur m'a embaucher pour la période étudiante, j'aimais ce travail, c'était physique mais j'aimais bien l’ambiance de travail et j'était aussi avec mon grand-frère qui travail encore là.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for work, not great for your health
Labourer/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Candiac, QC1 March 2016
a great place to find work but the constant cooking of fiberglass and cement is very hard on your lungs. I worked at the press, you fill it with cement and fiberglass and after 7-14 minute a rough product is relesed from the press. You are then expected to sand and cut the final product to be shipped
Pros
good salary, nice staff
Cons
odor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to learn things about windows
associate (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON13 January 2016
I've learned that cooperation within people works well with the work environment and helps the production speed while I was working at Oldcastle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Plant Manager (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC15 June 2015
Hard work, great results. Planning production and dealing with production issues. creating a safety culture and behaviour based safety system.
Pros
Good salary and benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great firm to work for
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC2 June 2015
Great firm to work for and a very supportive work environment. My co-workers and office staff were very helpful. I worked 9am until 6pm with a lot of overtime.
Pros
good people and knew what they were doing
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelent workin place
drawer (Former Employee) –  blainville20 May 2015
nice place to work.
perfect first stage experience.
nice & performing equipment (3D mouse is fun to work with :) )
ive worked with 2 screen. its was pretty nice. the people here know what there are talkin about & what they do. workin with Revit & Inventor
AutoCAD is an old useless CAD
Pros
free coffe
Cons
fat girl wont shut the fuk up -_- she was annoying
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company was fun now it is sad
Forvet Operator (Former Employee) –  Concord9 April 2015
Company is good ,But the old guys (Lead hands) in company are will never allow company to grow.New Hr is not fair and does not know to handle employees.
Pros
plant Manager is good
Cons
Lead hands want employees to kiss their feet to survive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bien
Électromécanicien (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 November 2014
14ans d’expériences dans la maintenance électromécanique.
Programmer des machines automatisées avec STEP7 et RSlogix5/500.
Effectuer des travaux neufs, rechercher les améliorations, et analyser les accidents du travail.
Planifier les interventions correctives et préventives et remises à jour des dossiers techniques.
Gérer le stock de pièces de rechange, outillages, appareils de contrôles.
Démonter, réparer, remonter et entretenir les machines industrielles.
Réparer des PC industrielles et installation des systèmes d’exploitation et logiciels de pilotages.
Mettre en œuvre le projet 5S (lean management) au département maintenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company in transition
Production Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 May 2013
Oldcastle is a great company with many talented individuals that are experts in the field. The company made numerous acquisitions during the mid 2000s and integrating those companies was the biggest challenge I saw during my time at Oldcastle. There is a great depth of talent and opportunities for synergies. At the same time the integration of cultures from different offices and a coherent strategy understood company wide are still a work in progress. There remain many opportunities for highly motivated individuals to make a real impact with this company however nothing worthwhile is ever easy. Many challenges remain and a modernization needs to take place both in terms of infrastructure and the approach to execution of complex projects.
Pros
Early finish on Fridays, appreciation lunches and events
Cons
Disorganized at times, Strategy a work in progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Auto Cutting Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON30 April 2013
The day begins by opening and starting the production line for my co-workers, as a review the production schudule and unload glass packs. Start the cutting line and reorganize the glass packs in order to have the schudule and cutting line run smoothly. I learn everyday more skills to make me a better worker in my field. My management is great and keeps me satisified by encouraging my work load. My co-workers follow instructions and enjoy working along side of me. As a lead hand I enjoy having a great relationship with all my co-workers to established a great work environment. I have to say that at the end of the day, the heavy lifting is one of the hardest things of my job. I enjoy the co-workers and learning more and more everyday. I feel there is always room for improvement and growing.
Pros
Free lunches, gift cards, friendly co-workers
Cons
Long hours, heavy lifting, wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for learning and great people!
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 April 2013
finding and handling products
interacting with consumers daily
some computer work
lifting of products from 75lbs and up
Pros
the environment and people
Cons
leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more Oldcastle reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oldcastle. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 377 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1