Find companies:
Olameter
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Olameter Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Metering Technician, Team Lead (Former Employee), Barrie, ONSeptember 16, 2013
I made more money at this job than any other I've had.
You need to be physically fit and have a positive attitude. Piece work is not for everyone, but if you are a hard worker, you will reap the rewards.
Tiring, and a bit hard on the body, but over all a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience.
Project Manager/Installer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 21, 2013
Pros: good pay, good atmosphere, usually working at your own pace.
Cons: occasional overtime, long days, and grumpy customers.
The day to day operations changed depending on which position I was in. Having been at Olameter for almost 5 years I was able to see many of the different aspects of the company. All of which were enjoyable and satisfying. At the end of the day you could easily see the work you had done. Either by tracking you walking routes, looking down at your installations – more... tracking sheets, or looking through production reports. In my opinion this visual helped to keep spirits high when you had a rough day, which was few and far between. Honestly a great place to work, and great people to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is great if you work hard
Field Service Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 24, 2013
Management often springs pay changes on you then demands you sign a new contract.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company
Electric Meter Reader (Former Employee), Wetaskiwin, ABMarch 4, 2013
Pros: able to set own hours (within reason)
Without a doubt, one of the best jobs I have ever had.

When first interbiewed/hired, my supervisor said I would be lucky to break even at the end of two months. By four months I should start to see a bit of profit and by six months, begin to see some real income.

This job was piece work - the more you did, the more you got paid. By the end of the – more... six month mark, I was grossing about $60,000 a year and I was able to regularly take an extra day off to volunteer with an outdoor youth group.

What was supposed to take 4 hours to complete, I would accuratley do in about 2 1/2.

The job was outside and in all kinds of weather (sometimes extreme), but I was able to organize my work accordingly to reduce the environmental impacts I had to face. – less

May 25, 2013

This former employee doesn't say why he/she is no longer employed with them.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Spare" Lead-Hand (Current Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, OntarioFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: good exercise and lots of fresh air.
Cons: bad weather and bad dogs.
My work begins in the morning where I am assigned my route for the day to either read water and electric meters for the P.U.C. or gas meters for Union Gas. This job can be long and tedious on some days or short and easy on other days. My supervisor is good at what she does and is helpful in assisting the readers when we incur problems on our routes. – more... The other readers I work with are all friendly and will assist each other when needed. The hardest part of my job is putting up with the weather, especially in the winter. The most enjoyable part of my job is being outside walking for approximately 4 to 6 hours each day when the weather is nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meter reader cow worker
Meter Field Technician (Former Employee), Lafayette, INApril 22, 2014
great job meter reading weather can suck but the faster you work the sooner your done and still get 8 hours even if your done in 3 hours
cow work great work long hours this is great job but takes lot of your time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a decent place to work.
Meter Reader (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MISeptember 16, 2013
Pros: short days. low stress.
Cons: use of own vehicle. benefits.
I Drive or walk around to read the meters. I enjoyed not having someone look over my back while at work. You learn to drive in harsh road conditions. The most difficult is walking in deep snow to read meters. I enjoyed this job because i get to go home when my work is done, the faster I worked the sooner i got to go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and pleasant place to work
Manager and Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Ann Arbor MIAugust 30, 2013
Pros: professional and pleasant environment, good benefits
Cons: staff layoff
A typical day at work was demanding. Always focused on meeting
required deadlines.

I leaned to manage my team effectively -producing accurate bi-weekly payroll, invoicing billing, journal entries and producing financial statement.

I considered my work a challenge, not hard.

It was a joy balancing all sub-journals and general ledger accounts