Okanagan College Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unionized environment - good & bad
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCMarch 9, 2016
Depending on the dept. makes all the difference in the world. I have had bad experiences in some, but other dept. are wonderful too. People are generally nice, but clicky. As a temp, be prepared to do your time before anything permanent comes your way.
Pros
Toonie pot buffet - beautiful feast for employees
Cons
Big workload
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Biology Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BCFebruary 6, 2016
• Creating lesson plans dependent on the abilities of student
• Ensuring safety while developing the skating skills of individuals
• Motivating students and critiquing areas in need of further progress
• Communicating with program supervisor about student progress
• Informing student of their progress in report cards

Fantastic co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Aboriginal Transitions Planner (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BCJuly 31, 2015
I enjoyed working in this college environment. If you like helping others this is a great place to work.
If you like working with students and assisting them this is a great place to help students.
The college is involved in many events and this can be a lot of fun as well.
Pros
very interesting and varied work
Cons
very busy not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and honest
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BCMay 14, 2015
I felt that working at Okanagan College was a great experience. It offered an open and honest work environment as well as the the flexibility to work on school work and set aside the research for a few days so I could catch up on assignments and readings. I thoroughly enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the experience
College Professor (Former Employee) –  Kelowna BCApril 23, 2015
Can't complain. Wish the position was a lot longer. I was supported when I needed help, I felt appreciated, and I truly enjoyed the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very challenging and interesting program
First Year Mechanical Engineering student (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BCNovember 21, 2013
Most days the classes start at 8:30. The instructors are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about teaching. They are willing and able to assist any students who feels they may need extra help. The course load is quite heavy, with seven total courses in the first semester.
Pros
up to date technology
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learing atmosphere
student (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCSeptember 11, 2013
Worked at school in a mock up house wiring and connecting wires, pipe bending, drilling knock-outs etc
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Instructors very knowledgeable
Training to be Carpenter,Framer (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC ,Revelstoke B.C.February 10, 2013
I was training to be a Carpenter .Loved every minute of it. Learned very interesting aspects of the job I was training for.
Pros
feeling of accomplishment when completed house
Cons
rainy days!!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marginal step up from McDonalds
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BCDecember 7, 2012
Yes it's a government job, however the management leaves a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No18Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Okanagan College Reviews by Location