Octagon

32 reviews

Octagon Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly busy, always something to do.
technician (Former Employee), MaineJanuary 31, 2016
Can get cold during the winter months, but loved the job otherwise. Great people and great work environment. Would recommend to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, opportunity for travel
Trainee (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTNovember 18, 2015
Good company, great people and a lot of perks with work, low compensation and long hours. Octagon gives the opportunity to work with several corporate brands and get great account management and client service experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to start your career, but not for the long haul
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee), Rogers, ARNovember 16, 2015
Pros: Fun Young Culture
Cons: Low pay
Depending on your account it can be a very fun position. It's great to start out your career because you get some great experience. Like most sports marketing positions pay is not great. I do feel like they struggle to train new talent. It's very much a sink or swim mentality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace and fantastic people
Labourer (Former Employee), Farnborough, ENGNovember 9, 2015
A typical day at work would be to unpack the equipment from the van, move the equipment to the actual work place, we would then get instructed on what needs to be done and then get to work.

I've learned how to operate heavy machinery in a safe way to prevent causing accidents in the work place. Iv learned how to effectively work in a team and communicate with my co-workers.

The management was helpful, always there to show us how to do something if we needed it.

My co-workers tough me a lot about sight working, we all got along and had a laugh while at work. We co-operated well and were a great working team.

Operating heavy machinery was the hardest part of the job, especially learning how to operate them.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working in a team with lovely people which made every job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company with great success and happiness ,work commitment
IT Officer (Former Employee), BaghdadOctober 12, 2015
stick to job tasked instantly , I had learned to be a job commitment
and got an experience for many software , the was a great respect ,work commitment and sense of hummer among the co-workers in the brake, the hardest part is when the employer in rush and should finish the task so quickly. the most enjoyable part is the great relations among the other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large agency that can provide great experience
Senior Account Executive, Events and Hospitality (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTAugust 31, 2015
Octagon is a large agency that has great clients. It offers people who are new to the industry great opportunities to learn the business of sports marketing. However the way they treat their employees in some cases is not the best, being a large agency sometimes good quality work is overlooked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace environment
Sports Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTMay 23, 2015
I loved interning at Octagon, it was a great place to work and what I did really mattered. My boss was very fair and intelligent and it made it easy to work for her
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old School sports agency - very traditional
Account Director (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTMay 6, 2015
Pros: healthcare, PTO, summer Fridays, big name clients
Cons: fitting in is more important, homogenous
Big name clients, lots of opportunities to work on interesting projects and a foot in the door in the sports industry.

Very traditional and homogenous culture - being a cultural fit is more important than performance. Does not pay well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start career
Account Trainee (Current Employee), Norwalk, ctApril 13, 2015
Octagon is a solid company, which is great for those starting their career as I did.

Octagon has a culture like no other and the employees are relatively young.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard mentality
Account Executive (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 24, 2015
Good structure and great coworkers. Learned client management skills, budgeting and event management. My managers always had my best interest in mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
account manager
Event Coordinator BMW Account Team (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTMarch 4, 2015
Pros: travel
Cons: travel
Position was held in Norwalk CT. Traveled and set up ride and drive events for BMW. Responsiblities event set up and take down, and event reporting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure and experience
Event Trainee (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: great benefits and exposure
Cons: long travel hours for those who like to travel long distance.
Awesome company. Employees are very organized. Management structure is very effective. Great company culture. Represents fortune 500 companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work work
CRM Manager (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTJanuary 21, 2015
Pros: fun, co-workers
Cons: salary
Good company to work for. Lots of interesting clients/projects to work on. Fun office environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee), breckenridge, CODecember 26, 2014
Consulting Agency - Sports Marketing Focused

Multiple Clients including, Sprint, Bank of America, Johnson and Johnson, Mastercard, BMW, Lexus, LG, Home Depot, Sirus XM

Offices in Norwalk, CT, Chicago, IL, Charlotte, NC, Atlanta GA, NYC, LA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTDecember 1, 2014
Good company to start working for. Young people, fun happy hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very young office
BMW Product Specialist, GKL+ (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTNovember 30, 2014
Pros: travel
Great place to work for a young professional. Everyone is relaxed and professional. Jobs get done and it is a very positive place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced agency that allows employees the opportunity to flourish
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTOctober 1, 2014
Enjoyable place to work with a great team atmosphere
Strong sense of community
Teaches employees a great deal
Industry leader
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start off in out of college
BMW Un4gettable Test Drive, Event Trainee (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: per diem & company expense card
I enjoyed the constant travel and the experience I gained as an event trainee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Octagon Review
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee), Huntersville, NCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: salary
Good work environment, learn event management skills and budget management, good supervisors, great co-workers

A lot of travel, long hours, little reward, low compensation

Most enjoyable is the experience of leading major events
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTJuly 18, 2014
Great opportunities are available for recent college grads to work on national marketing campaigns. Unfortunately, beyond that it is quite a revolving door. Entry and mid level employees seem to last no more than 2-3 years unless they advance quickly (which is really rare) due to lack of competitive salaries and benefits, poor communication from management and poor work-life balance.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
800 Connecticut Ave.
2nd Fl.
Norwalk CT, United States 06854
Revenue
less than $1m (CAD)
Employees
2 to 10
Industry
Links
Octagon website