Nova Scotia Health Authority Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Casual Worker (Current Employee) –  NS28 November 2017
Positions always being posted and room for advancement within the building. Hiring for positions is based on seniority only so it's hard to get a position until you've established seniority, regardless of qualifications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Continuing Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  alc unit2 November 2017
My day consists of getting 8 patients (residents) ready for there day. This could consists of just setting them up for breakfast or totally doing everything for them. My job is to make them feel good, like they mean something to someone. I have learned that life is not easy it throws you curve balls all the time. It has made me a stronger person, my job is very rewarding to me because when I go home each nite I know I did whatever I could to make that persons day a better day for them. I helped someone that needed the help. I would not be in the profession if I didn't care about people. You really have to be a certain type of person to do this job. It is so rewarding to see the smiles on the faces of these people. This job can also be stressful mentally and physically, emotional, very rewarding and depressing. I know when I leave everyday I did my best for each and everyone of these people.
Pros
Very rewarding
Cons
Can be depressing at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a fun place to work.
Care Team Assistant (Current Employee) –  Simpson Landing, IWK30 October 2017
Its a harmonious work environment that makes you want to come to work daily. My superiors as well as my colleagues make the welcoming. Mutual respect is adhered to.
Pros
Discounted healthy meal options.
Cons
Expensive Staff parking rates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes for the worse when the districts merged
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS15 September 2017
Hard to get permanent job.

The unions don't do anything for you unless you are full time.

Parking at the Regional hospital is hard to find for staff and employees should't have to pay for parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 August 2017
I was able to complete a student co-op here. It was a great earning experience and I really enjoyed my time. I would recommend this to any nursing student interested in mental health!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co-workers
Register Nurse (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 July 2017
There are alot of great oppurtunities to excell your career at this hospital. The best thing about working here is the people you work with. I would recommend my floor to others.
Pros
self scheduling
Cons
unsupported staff regarding patient to nurse abuse
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding place to work
Manager Warehousing and Distribution (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 July 2017
Rewarding place to work. New structure and management have changed the value of working for this organization, and not in a good way.
Management is out of touch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will always find something to do or someone to help
CCA (Former Employee) –  Middleton, NS14 June 2017
I had a great job as a CCA, worked with great people and had great clients. I helped people with activities of daily living such as bathing, dressing and feeding. If I did not move to another Province I would still be there!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Therapeutic Recreation Intern (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS29 May 2017
Wonderful opportunity and great experience. It was a good introduction to what working in the health field will be. I was fortunate to receive this internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Collaborative, client based organization
Ward Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kentville, NS1 May 2017
12 hour work day, rotational shifts, great flexibility, able to earn more money due to overtime and holiday wages. Opportunity within the zone of employment.
Pros
good recogniztion
Cons
not much room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full-time
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NS12 March 2017
12 hour shifts with short week/long week rotations.

Primary Nursing.

Give meds for a small amount of clients and care coordinating as well.

Supported to go seminars and education opportunities.

Great Clinical co-staff.
Pros
Free parking, can wear street clothes.
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace competitive work place
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS16 February 2017
I cant say much, this is a highly confidential work place.. but the benefits are great and its a highly demanding and rewarding job
Pros
decent pay, good benifits
Cons
Short staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Authority
Clerk/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Nova Scotia31 January 2017
Working for Health Authority is very stressful. Not many people take any type of responsibility for their actions or mistakes which leads to work management problems. Nothing is every stable or consistent. Best part of my job is that we do have flexibility for yours to work around, also has medical benefit coverage available. Pay is OK but should be more based on department and responsibilities.
Truthfully money is not everything.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Too much stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Talent and Organizational Development Consultant (Current Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS12 January 2017
Doing a lot to make Nova Scotians healthy. Needs to continue its good work for better services to under-served populations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environemnt
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES WORKER (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, NS10 November 2016
ensuring a clean and safe hospital environment
day to day interaction with patients
part of infection control team and call out team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuously short staffed, low wages
OR Nurse (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 July 2016
Provincial government has taken a hostile approach to unionized public employees. Increasing monetary gap between management and staff employee wages. Bullying behavior is rampant throughout the system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS8 January 2016
Working at the NSHA has been a great experience where I have gained great experience and skills that I can transfer to any aspect of HR.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physiotherapist
Physical Therapist (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS24 December 2015
Overall, a great place to work! Management is supportive and colleagues are team oriented players with optimal management of patients the primary goal.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderplace to work at and had great experience working with the team
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 October 2015
Excellent team members and fun place to work at with such a wonderful colleagues and QA team. Had no problems with co-workers and the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Accounting Technician (Current Employee) –  Cape Breton Regional Hospital, Sydney, N.S.1 October 2015
Extremely busy daily.
Learned importance of accurate records.
Management not supportive of seniority with 25 plus years experience for employment applications.
Pros
Enjoyed work responsibilities emensely.
Cons
Used to be a confident place to work until NSHA took over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nova Scotia Health Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

Nova Scotia Health Authority Reviews by Location