Find companies:
Northstar Aerospace
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Northstar Aerospace Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work
CNC Machinist (Former Employee), Bedford Park, ILOctober 15, 2014
The original company has been around for over 150 years. The company that bought it (from Canada) is only interested in the bottom line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Government poperty Administrator (Former Employee), Bedford Park, IlJune 23, 2014
Monetary goal oriented company. Atmosphere and moral is dictated by the months goals attainment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aviation involement
Data Entry Processor (Former Employee), Bedford Park, ILMarch 17, 2014
I enjoyed my position at North star Aerospace. I learned a lot of new
adventures on a daily basis.
My superivisor taught me a lot of job related avenues. Wonderful co-workers and excellent management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various Positions
Long term temp (Former Employee), Bedford Park, ILOctober 7, 2013
Pros: variety
As a temp I floated from department to department as the projects dictated.
This made wonderful working conditions as there was always something new around the corner.

The hardest part was the fact that as a temp, I knew I would eventually have to leave.

I learned about helicopter production and machine maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Bedford Park, ILJune 23, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: short employment time
Busy manufacturing company,

I learned more about the gear manufacturing processes
Staff had important roles
I enjoyed using the tools and gages
Didn't like the computer system
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of best companies in the world for Gears
Manufacturing Operations Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 3, 2012
Pros: great manufacturing facility
Cons: commute, working relationship with union leadership?
Mature product line, heavily dependent on DOD contracts. DIverse union workforce with old style beliefs in a negative way.
The facility in Chicago is world class in gear manufacturing,heat treating and plating in one location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE,ENJOYABLE CO-WORKERS,GOOD BOSSES
QUALITY INSPECTOR (Former Employee), Bedford Park, ILMay 2, 2012
Pros: paid 15 min lunch, optional overtime, great benefits, pay
Cons: union seniority, workforce reductions
AS FINAL QUALITY INSPECTOR,LAST EYES ON PARTS,WORKED TO PROVIDE NECCESSSARY DOCUMENTATION,AND VISUAL INSPECTION OF AEROSPACE GEARS,AND SIMILAR PARTS OF HELICOPTER TRANSMISSIONS. USED BORE GAUGES,ASSORTED CLOSE TOLERANCE MEASURING DEVICES.SUPERVISORS RESPECTED WORKERS AND VICE VERSA,GOOD TEAM ENVIORNMENT,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but terrible Union environment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Bedford Park, ILMay 1, 2012
Pros: fantastic benefits for union and non employees
Cons: unable to work with a belligerent union
Manufacture transmissions for the CH-47 and AH-64 helicopters for the Army. Great company with a long history of producing a product to be proud of.Except the Union getting out of hand and running the company into the ground. Company facing bankruptcy due to upper management giving everything to an ungrateful union that only wants more and giving NOTHING – more... in return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production/Quality supervisor (Former Employee), MiltonFebruary 3, 2012
Pros: exposure to aerospace
Cons: company is not expanding or in grwoth mode
Friendly atmosphere with attention to detail, take pride in their work and good management