Northlands Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 14, 2016
Excellent company.

They treat their employees very well.

Possibility of getting a raise if you work many shifts and do the courses.
Pros
Nice managers
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Hostess/Expo (Current Employee) –  expo and rexallMarch 21, 2016
Our company have valued our contribution. All team work in an amiable environment. We are a non-profit organization that value everyone of its member. This is the only company that makes me feel a part of its core values and I am very appreciative of the flexibility in schedule. I love working with this company.
Pros
memory maker card for iniatives
Cons
standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, energetic workplace.
Community Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 23, 2016
Enjoyed the people and the culture.
Every day was different!
Worked there during a transition period and fell victim to the first Indy fail and lay-offs.
Pros
Decent Wages, Multicultural Atmosphere.
Cons
Poor morale at the time due to pending lay-offs company wide.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good place to work
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 6, 2016
northlands was an awesome company to work with. they offered reasonable pay for pretty good work. over all i world rate them 6/10
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,interesting
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 17, 2015
working at northlands is fun, always was and always will be.
we had alot of events and they were all different had a chance to work with alot of different people, my age and some older.
Pros
free lunches and discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and supportive work enviroment
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 11, 2015
Excellent place to work. Managers were fair and there was great training to ensure you were ready to handle guests and their inquiries. They also used you to your talents, which made you feel like you were part of the team.
Pros
Very flexible schedule
Cons
Not enough hours or opportunity to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful compnay to work with
Guest Experience (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 26, 2016
It was a great work atmosphere and wonderful staff to be with.
Worked with lenses, not frames.
Work with other optical companies.
Pros
Work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, great people to work with
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 8, 2016
Good people to work with for the most part. I learned to do proper paper work for files, how to properly deal with a situation that arises.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Some co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Banquet server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 7, 2015
Lots of moving around. The pay was not the best. Usually would work long hours. Good place to start as a server though. Get to meet a lot of new people. Co-workers are usually very nice and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome tobe security guard
SECURITY GUARD (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 22, 2016
Its was first time to work as security and I love it and everyone there as well but problem is I worked only on k-days time after when so slow
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced with Great Attention to Detail
Pari-Mutual Teller (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2015
Everyday you were required to have precise attention to detail and what the customers were telling you. You would be working with over 10 race tracks per shift that all had specific codes. As an employee you were required to be fast when entering customer bets as well as overly accurate to make sure the bet was placed correctly before the race began or Northlands would take financial losses.


All about how your data was input into the system, one mistake could cost a customer hundreds to thousands of dollars, and it was always a fast paced environment with repetitive tasks.

Overall it was a fun place to work once you knew how to do your job correctly, although the training provided was short of what should be taught to new employees.
Pros
Tips
Cons
No Breaks even on 8 hour shifts, unable to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Alcohol Service Monitor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 5, 2015
Wish to have full time work with this company. The people are awesome. The work environment is easy going. you work outside most of the time Co-workers are very helpful. Lots of perks to enjoy if you can find the time. Very team oriented environment. Even the customers are pleasant to be around.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Job is not full time work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Guest Experience (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 5, 2015
Boring work, but the people were fairly nice, fairly calm place. Certainly fun watching concerts and such for free! Can be very very tedious, Standing around for 6 hours not doing much;
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, fun people
Guest Services Host (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 7, 2015
Great workplace, fun events and opportunites. Fits just about any kind of person, flexible hours, but mainly evenings. Friendly guests/customers, and even better staff. Aside from the fun though, whatever needs to get done, gets done, whether it's a task during hours or a request within the company.
Pros
Fun job, great people, great opportunites.
Cons
Relatively-low pay grade
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Steward (Former Employee) –  Edmonton ABJanuary 19, 2015
I would help bring down all equipent to clean up after banquets. Working as a team to clear all tables, as quickly and efficiently as possible.
Pros
free lunch, working with friends
Cons
low pay, no benefits, little hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict
Parking Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AbOctober 22, 2015
I would walk in to the parking office and immediately count the money that will go into my till. It was hard to work for because most of the staff was very uptight, also very judgemental. I never felt welcome.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work at
Parking Attendant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 20, 2015
its a great place to work at but i do not think its where my work skills fit best but its a great place for other people to work.
Pros
nice people
Cons
lack of work time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular work place, enjoyable depending on the task.
Food and Beverage Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 3, 2015
Personally, I didn't enjoy my northlands experience. new employees were treated unfairly, and old employees had an advantage. Managers were disrespectful and not only did we work long hour even if we were underage but we had to do hard work and weren't allowed breaks less told so, which was usually towards the end. But after all the hard work, the pay was worth it.
Pros
free lunches when northlands had banquets and fancy dinners
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 10, 2015
I learned how to prepare and tear down events, There was work for almost every time period desired. Early morning and day for set up and cleaning, evening and later at night for serving.
Pros
Diverse customers
Cons
I was hired at a job fair along with a bunch of youth, they didn't take the job seriously and caused some potentially dangerous episodes
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and awesome place for teens and students
Server, Bartender, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  AlbertaJune 17, 2015
Fun and awesome place for teens and students. Co-Workers were awesome, customers are enjoyable. Paid training and certification. Lots of summer work. Loved it. Until outgrew it.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Your Own Age. (30+ isn't ideal at northlands F/S department)
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture