Northlands Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with friends and goof off environment
Stewardess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 9, 2013
Typical work day was putting on our jackets/ chef shirts, and then heading down to the dish pit/ kitchen, to find out what we needed to bring up to the banquet halls. we'd carry racks for putting glasses in and carts for plates. and sometimes the chefs would get us to push there portable ovens up to the banquet areas. Then once we got up there we'd set up our clearing tables behind the banquet, so that the public does not see us dealing with there dirty dishes. Once the event would start some of us would be chosen to plate pull, which was pulling the already made plates of food out of a hot oven.
Once they were all pulled out we'd start clearing or plates and pours out drinks and putting them in there racks. We'd continue on doing this until we had all of the eatery ready to pull back down stairs to the dish pit.
Hardest part standing and walking for any where between 8 to 10 hours and the handling of hot plates.
Most enjoyable would be the working with friends staff were friendly.
Pros
lunch provided
Cons
long hours, very low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced with Great Attention to Detail
Pari-Mutual Teller (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2015
Everyday you were required to have precise attention to detail and what the customers were telling you. You would be working with over 10 race tracks per shift that all had specific codes. As an employee you were required to be fast when entering customer bets as well as overly accurate to make sure the bet was placed correctly before the race began or Northlands would take financial losses.


All about how your data was input into the system, one mistake could cost a customer hundreds to thousands of dollars, and it was always a fast paced environment with repetitive tasks.

Overall it was a fun place to work once you knew how to do your job correctly, although the training provided was short of what should be taught to new employees.
Pros
Tips
Cons
No Breaks even on 8 hour shifts, unable to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn to do a great job
Northlands Park Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 27, 2012
My Days start at 0600 or 1800 hours. Day shifts are slow until 0930 and then busy until shift end. Nights shifts are busy right off the bat and quiet afterwards. The Job is enjoyable, but there is alot to learn. I have seen a change in management over the last two years. I am on my fourth manager since I started six and half years ago. As with any job, this job has had alot of turn over.

This job has taught me to schedule better, to be a better supervisor, how to handle disagreements between staff and how to be more effective in teaching. My report writing has gotten better and I have to give credit to my current manager, she teaches me to the point I understand what she wants. I am still learning.
Pros
50% off food, every other weekend off
Cons
two weeks days, two weeks nights
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit workplace
Cashier (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 30, 2015
A typical day at work would include me making popcorn, setting up the concession, getting the float and saying hello to the locals. Next me and my coworkers would work until the concession closed. then at this point we would count the cash and send it off to the bank. i learned how to use a cash register, and i became more of a people person. the coworkers we more like friends to me, especially the people i worked with in the concession. the hardest part of the job was derby day because of how busy it was, and the most enjoyable part was working with cool people.
Pros
free food, cool people, tips
Cons
weird hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and postive working environment
Assistant to the Director of Major Events (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 11, 2013
A positive place to work and grow within the organization. It was a continuous learning scale both internally and externally with clients and staff. The most enjoyable part of my day was assisting Albertans and clients with our publications and knowing I was making a difference.
Pros
led events for aadac such as christmas parties, united way events, conference galas, and many more
Cons
government retraints often changed priorities and learning sometimes was postponed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular work place, enjoyable depending on the task.
Food and Beverage Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 3, 2015
Personally, I didn't enjoy my northlands experience. new employees were treated unfairly, and old employees had an advantage. Managers were disrespectful and not only did we work long hour even if we were underage but we had to do hard work and weren't allowed breaks less told so, which was usually towards the end. But after all the hard work, the pay was worth it.
Pros
free lunches when northlands had banquets and fancy dinners
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced & a good place to work.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2012
I learned organizational & timing skills, i.e getting orders out as fast as i can, keeping areas clean for easy access to certain items i needed at our work stations. It was easy to get along with all the staff everyone was friendly. The hardest part was when it got really busy & i would panic but i always got the job done sometimes with help from my awesome co-workers. At the end of the day the panic would all be worth it from the tips i made.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Memories
Guest Services Host (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 26, 2013
There is nothing I like better than to great someone new to a Northlands event and give them the best customer service I can possibly give them. I love how the guests respond and feel like they've rec'd special treatment and that I've given them some little secret tidbit of information that they would never have known otherwise.
Pros
meeting new people and lighting up their face with a smile! it's truly magical.
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, fun people
Guest Services Host (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 7, 2015
Great workplace, fun events and opportunites. Fits just about any kind of person, flexible hours, but mainly evenings. Friendly guests/customers, and even better staff. Aside from the fun though, whatever needs to get done, gets done, whether it's a task during hours or a request within the company.
Pros
Fun job, great people, great opportunites.
Cons
Relatively-low pay grade
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Alcohol Service Monitor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 5, 2015
Wish to have full time work with this company. The people are awesome. The work environment is easy going. you work outside most of the time Co-workers are very helpful. Lots of perks to enjoy if you can find the time. Very team oriented environment. Even the customers are pleasant to be around.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Job is not full time work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 10, 2015
I learned how to prepare and tear down events, There was work for almost every time period desired. Early morning and day for set up and cleaning, evening and later at night for serving.
Pros
Diverse customers
Cons
I was hired at a job fair along with a bunch of youth, they didn't take the job seriously and caused some potentially dangerous episodes
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and awesome place for teens and students
Server, Bartender, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  AlbertaJune 17, 2015
Fun and awesome place for teens and students. Co-Workers were awesome, customers are enjoyable. Paid training and certification. Lots of summer work. Loved it. Until outgrew it.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Your Own Age. (30+ isn't ideal at northlands F/S department)
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work culture is excellent
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 29, 2015
Just like one family. Everyone works as a team. This increases the productivity of the employers because everyone works hard knowing that he/she is cared for and appreciated by the management and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,interesting
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 17, 2015
working at northlands is fun, always was and always will be.
we had alot of events and they were all different had a chance to work with alot of different people, my age and some older.
Pros
free lunches and discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service was satisfiying.
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 20, 2013
Working with the guests was a very positive experience.
Job expectations were reasonable and the tips were GREAT!!!
Pros
customer relatations were great!
Cons
teamwork was unacceptable or non-existant.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict
Parking Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AbOctober 22, 2015
I would walk in to the parking office and immediately count the money that will go into my till. It was hard to work for because most of the staff was very uptight, also very judgemental. I never felt welcome.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Steward (Former Employee) –  Edmonton ABJanuary 19, 2015
I would help bring down all equipent to clean up after banquets. Working as a team to clear all tables, as quickly and efficiently as possible.
Pros
free lunch, working with friends
Cons
low pay, no benefits, little hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tips were great
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 7, 2013
it was a fast paced enviroment
had to set up an hour early
co workers were great alot of them were willing to help
hardest part of the job was being constantly on your feet
most enjoyable meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Guest Experience (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 5, 2015
Boring work, but the people were fairly nice, fairly calm place. Certainly fun watching concerts and such for free! Can be very very tedious, Standing around for 6 hours not doing much;
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part time but that's about it
Host (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 2, 2012
met alot of people seen alot of sweeet shows and hockey games, boses were pretty easy going as long as you did your job
Pros
free hockey and events
Cons
long amounts of standing in one spot
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture