Northlands Employee Reviews

Found 55 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Guest Experience (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 November 2016
Extremely guest orientated, fast paced environment , and quick thinking involved. Always trying to answer any guests questions and really getting to enjoy the show or even that is going on that day. The hardest part of the job is that it is a very big building and there is a lot of walking involved, but the most enjoyable part of my job is making sure every guest who attends the events have the best time ever.
Pros
Getting to work events you may not able to afford to go to.
Cons
Standing for most or all of the shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day in busy restaurant.
Food runner (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 October 2016
The restaurant was a fast paced environment. I learned skills on costumer service and how to serve food, and drinks. There was a strong sense of support among the co workers. The hardest part of the job was adjusting to the fast paced environment especially during the rush hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2016
it was a good place to work got to meet lots of new people and learned new skills the team leaders were nice but at other times they would just pick favorites
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to build your career
Interim F&B Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2016
Northlands is a great place to work and explore your career. The company as a whole is quite diverse and has various opportunities for a growth driven individual.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Parking Attendant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 July 2016
good place to work, the people are good, the supervisors understand and listen and given specific details when asked a question and have a open door policy if you need to talk
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 July 2016
Cater events, manage sections of about 6 tables, 10 peaople.
I have learned patience.
The hardest part of the job is having to deal with people that do not want to work, but want to get paid.
I enjoy interacting with guests and and seeing the satisfied look on their faces.
Pros
Lots of freebies
Cons
Inadequate break
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but not enough hours
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 July 2016
I enjoy working here immensely. Between the fellow employees and management it's a fun job. As it is event heavy, the shifts can be quite limited though with nothing going on, or more staff then hours to be handed out.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place with great people
Banquet server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 July 2016
Northlands is a great place to work at, the people are friendly and work isn't difficult. the atmosphere overall is professional and very productive.
Pros
free lunch food for lunch
Cons
no opportunity for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Parking Attendant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 June 2016
It was a good experience. I learned a lot on how to deal with different types of people.I learned to work under pressure and how to react to different scenarios.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VP's need to be replaced
Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2016
Poor communication
CEO and VP's have poor communication
Union people rule the place
Under rated management salaries
Lot's of good people leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work with nice people
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 May 2016
Wide variety of employees, bosses are nice and understanding. Really enjoyed working with the community. And the hardest part of the job would be not getting locked out during break outside if some one outside does not have a key.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
Heavy trays, could maybe be some young people working there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sign Shop Worker
Sign Maker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 May 2016
Beautiful Place to Work and good pay but....very poor manage because this place it's so big there is no supervision at all. "The Real" supervisor will be 10 blocks away from this place.
You would have to be an Asskisser to the supervisor in other to give you the "better" Jobs or less hard work if not prepare to do eventually everything else while everyone else will chat in the office on working hours.
They hired me under knowledge of computers and adobe illustrator skills but it was the VERY LEAST thing I did, in fact ! you will be replace by some gardener or student first on the computer before you!
It was very disappointment to had lived this experience, I apply for this job for the opportunities that would had come for my future but I had to quit before my time because it was absurd to work like that!
DON'T APPLY HERE.
YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED!
Pros
Half Price Lunch, Good Paid
Cons
Lack of Work Ethics
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome tobe security guard
SECURITY GUARD (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 April 2016
Its was first time to work as security and I love it and everyone there as well but problem is I worked only on k-days time after when so slow
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful compnay to work with
Guest Experience (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 March 2016
It was a great work atmosphere and wonderful staff to be with.
Worked with lenses, not frames.
Work with other optical companies.
Pros
Work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Hostess/Expo (Current Employee) –  expo and rexall21 March 2016
Our company have valued our contribution. All team work in an amiable environment. We are a non-profit organization that value everyone of its member. This is the only company that makes me feel a part of its core values and I am very appreciative of the flexibility in schedule. I love working with this company.
Pros
memory maker card for iniatives
Cons
standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 March 2016
Excellent company.

They treat their employees very well.

Possibility of getting a raise if you work many shifts and do the courses.
Pros
Nice managers
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, great people to work with
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 March 2016
Good people to work with for the most part. I learned to do proper paper work for files, how to properly deal with a situation that arises.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Some co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good place to work
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 March 2016
northlands was an awesome company to work with. they offered reasonable pay for pretty good work. over all i world rate them 6/10
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, energetic workplace.
Community Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 February 2016
Enjoyed the people and the culture.
Every day was different!
Worked there during a transition period and fell victim to the first Indy fail and lay-offs.
Pros
Decent Wages, Multicultural Atmosphere.
Cons
Poor morale at the time due to pending lay-offs company wide.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and supportive work enviroment
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 December 2015
Excellent place to work. Managers were fair and there was great training to ensure you were ready to handle guests and their inquiries. They also used you to your talents, which made you feel like you were part of the team.
Pros
Very flexible schedule
Cons
Not enough hours or opportunity to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Northlands Reviews by Location