Northern Reflections Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Wardrobe Consultant/ Sales / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
I worked in sales, layout changes, restocking, mark downs, and cashier. Cross selling was a big must. I also helped with administration, and on line orders.
Pros
Good company, and great customers
Cons
Less hours during slow periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely wonderful
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 September 2017
I enjoyed working here very much, only made average wages but other than that it was a wonderful work experience. You do have to purchase their clothes that are in season to work there but you do get a 50% discount on all clothes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need help? Not gonna Happen.
Fashion Consultant (Former Employee) –  Truro, NS31 August 2017
I was hired as part time. The DM tried to convince me to quit my main job to continue full time there. The only reason why I stayed was my manager who recently quit. The DSM is of no help when it comes to needing questions answered and support for her store managers. I've worked there for over a year and have met the DSM once.
Pros
The customers
Cons
Dsm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON19 May 2017
Very interesting and learned a lot about women's clothing.
Surprised at how hard it is to work in a clothing store. How many times you change the look of the store. How much folding there is on short tables. How rude a lot of customers are to the staff at retail stores, thankfully not all customers. It is good for a part time job, but very hard on a full time manager.
Pros
Discount on clothes
Cons
Had to buy so much clothes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary Women's Apparel Chain
Owner (Current Employee) –  Toronto - Canada20 April 2017
An historical Canadian gem with a loyal customer base and outstanding employees. A staple for Canadian women looking for comfortable and stylish work and casual wear.
Pros
On trend, reliable, well-run
Cons
Competitive marketplace
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work there
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brandon, MB19 April 2017
The employees are all fun to work with, you learn a variety of different things when you work there. The latest fashion trends, and how to re do a store.
Pros
easy to work
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and Easy to manage
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 March 2017
I have just joined the team and the staff and managers are very welcoming, and let you work on your pace! They teach you very thoroughly. The job itself is not hard, you must be able to communicate effectively with older clients and help them out with their purchase, and fittings.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Sometimes it can be very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice warehouse
Material Handler/ Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON3 March 2017
Over all a really good place to work
Full time
Order Picking
Ticketing
Binning
Cleaning
A lot of early days
No heavy lifting (50 lbs or less)
Pros
clothing discount
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers
Regular Part Time Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2017
My location was great, I loved working with my co-workers, and the customers come to be like family. The company on the whole is a wonderful company to work for.
Pros
great family like place
Cons
Manager sometimes isn't professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly work envirment
Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Orangeville, ON6 February 2017
Always enjoy going and being at work, regular customers that you look forward to seeing every time.
Great learning opportunities given to employess
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 August 2016
There was lots of drama among coworkers, no communication. Was a decent job for the year but would not go back.In the beginning i had a great amount of hours but near the end i was recieving 10 or less when i was promised 25+.
Cons
no hours, rude staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS26 July 2016
I was hired in November 2015, as a shift leader, which is part of the management team. (Not where I work). The management team at this store needs training on working with the staff. I made two errors in the last month, and the manager. instead of working with me an coaching she started taking hours from me. (This is not the first time she has done this to an employee. She has it that you are forced to quit. I put in my two week notice yesterday as I can not deal with the mistreatment of certain staff members.
If this is how management is with staff at Northern Reflections, I want no part of it.
Pros
great product
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy environment
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 April 2016
A comfortable workplace,

Everyone worked as a team

We always give good customer service

Assisting customers with outfits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work fun environment
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC23 February 2016
The staff are friendly, outgoing, easy to work with.The customers are great to serve, and enjoy their time with you.I love dealing with new people and everyday is a new and wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff and good selection of product
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 February 2016
A typical day at work was roughly a 5 hour shift. During this shift I would organize stock in according to size, communicate and assist customers and prepare dressing rooms. I learned how to produce a sale and learn proper sizing techniques as well as preparing displays. My co workers were fun to work with but also guided me into being a better sales associate. The hardest part of the job was meeting to sales goal of the day. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers, producing a big sale and overall customer satisfaction.
Pros
convient in location, managable
Cons
limited about of shifts/ week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE9 January 2016
you would wait on customers and assist them with their shopping needs and to help them. Providing customer with the best experience.
Pros
Great team, great learning experience, customer service knowledge
Cons
down time meaning sent home because business was slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Workers were a lot of fun and made it very easy to work as a team
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BC8 January 2016
Day-to-day activities were mostly tidying up clothing, twice a week we did stock. This entailed re-organizing racks to ensure that all the new product was displayed to advantage as well as following layout plans supplied by the company. Could be a very quiet environment customer wise, but there is always something to do to keep you busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor wages no hours available to workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB4 January 2016
Good product to sell but there's poor remuneration no regular pay increases and no cash paid for performance bonuses.

District Sales manager is rude and never says please or thank you
Pros
Co-workers friendly
Cons
Limited earning hours - poor incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON24 November 2015
learning something new and learning the cash co-workers were very like able l like all the new clothes that came and a chance to see what new in fashion
Pros
always busy
Cons
sometimes there long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kirkland Lake, ON13 October 2015
This was my first job in Retail and there was so much to learn. I loved my customers and I could usually find something they were looking for.
Pros
Half Price clothes
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northern Reflections. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6