Northern Lakes College Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Administrative Assistant Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB9 August 2017
I worked for great people and I had excelled in my position from when I had started. I would highly recommend the college for other people to work and for future students.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
having to move away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good college to work for.
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Alberta23 May 2017
Northern Lakes College is a good college to work for. Benefits and salaries were competitive, and teaching schedules were flexible. The teaching atmosphere was very good, and we were allowed to experiment new stuff. Teacher developments were good. we were allowed to go to teachers' conventions and development..
It is a good college to work for..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Welding Instructor (Current Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB12 May 2016
good company to work for. must be a self starter, with flexible schedule with summers off and christmas and holidays
hardest part of the job is dealing with the high school students each one comes with challenges and experiences
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I taught a lot of subjects to a lot of people all at the same time.
Learning Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Peerless Lake, AB25 April 2016
I enjoyed the job but not the isolation of a northern First Nations reserve.
I liked the honesty and humour of the students. They showed patience with the faulty equipment.
I had no co-workers, which was difficult. I had to figure many things out by myself.
Pros
learned a lot
Cons
bad roads, expensive groceries
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and people
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB7 January 2016
I was treated extremely well. There was great opportunities for development and advancement. The individualized study with students was fantastic. People and community comes first. A fantastic atmosphere.
Pros
Small town feel
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school, great people.
Student (Current Employee) –  Peace River, AB7 April 2015
The Peace River campus is full of great people who try their best everyday to meet the needs of the student. I would recommend this college to anyone considering to advance their education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly place, great staff, lots of laughs.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB28 April 2014
Answered Phones, made appointments for the Student Counselor, Filed Student files, located student transcripts. Wrote acceptance letters, Mail cards, Info letters, brochures. Delivered mail to the staff.
Pros
Friendly Co-workers
Cons
Sometimes, really slow paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy team nursing and exciting new career opportunities.
Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Barrhead, AB10 September 2013
A typical day at work my be challenging as well as rewarding as a nurse. I strive to give the best care possible to my patients.
Responsibility of my actions, excellent patient care and using my best approaches to make clinical decisions that are positive for the care I give is important.
I am considerate to co-workers and am a team player.
The hardest part of the job is attachment to a palliative pediatric.
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing when I go home, I have made a difference in my patients life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northern Lakes College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4