Northern Health Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a happy work place
Community Health Worker (Current Employee) –  Kitimat, BC19 October 2016
Kitimat Home Support
Workers schedules changes daily, care plans and client info not always available or up to date you mostly work alone and do not always have a supervisor available to answer questions or give guidance
supervisor does not always follow through with what is needed supervisor shows favoritism towards some workers not all treated the same , worker safety is not always a priority
heavy work loads not always dispersed evenly between workers
client service time often cut to fit into schedule but work load does not decrease
most workers are friendly and help each other and work as a team but can be a difficult uncomfortable unprofessional office environment due to a few unfriendly bossy/bully employees that know supervisor will not speak to or discipline them
I have been an employee for many years and have been through a few job fairs which means having to reapply for my job and each time my hours have been cut
seniority goes by hours worked so if you are not available when they call you could get passed this affects vacation time and when applying for postings
most workers have a second job as not enough hours to live on
Pros
meeting clients
Cons
not enough hours have to work split shift
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC31 August 2016
Enjoyed it while I was there. It wasn't a glamorous job but the management was good and it was steady work. Too repetitive for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a group and alone and meeting different people from different culture
Volunteer Experiences (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON17 June 2016
I like to work alone as well as working in a group. I learn how I can manage my time and be more organize in my work. the most enjoyable part is meeting different people from different culture. the hardest part of the job will be when doing that does not belong to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and stressful environment
Home Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort St John, BC4 November 2015
very rewarding career choice however very demanding finding a balance can be a struggle. I felt distinguishing priorities was difficult when it came to clients and staff mental health.
if you stay focused and take care of YOURSELF, set your boundaries know your limits and stick to them. The days do not seem so long.
Pros
mostly working indenedantly
Cons
very demanding, management does very little to advocate for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Satisfaction
Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Smithers, BC28 November 2015
Love the opportunity to help others in need.
Good job security
Safety oriented
Love meeting new people
Good balance between work and home life
Pros
Positive environment
Cons
Physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constant learning
Assisted Living Worker (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BC31 December 2015
Every day was a challenge as you dealt with seniors and watched there decline.
Co-workers - Always available when needed
what I learned - is that working in health care is a never ending learning experience
Most enjoyable - To give to those who needed it the most .
Pros
Helping maintain independence
Cons
Staff shortage
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and challenging environment with unique northern perspective
Regional Director - Reporting and App Srvcs (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC15 September 2015
Because of its relative small size compared to other provincial health authorities, Northern Health continuously has to come up with innovative approaches to deliver Healthcare in the north. This creates an environment where work performance is always required to be high. This is something I have enjoyed.

The work environment was always collegial, especially in IT.
Pros
Low power differential, always focused on getting the job done, great town to work in.
Cons
The town is a little isolated. Slow pace of government initiatives.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at northern health
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC18 January 2015
My work day is to accomplish all daily duties and to help others if needed .I have learned that team work is the best modo..Management here at northern health are great ,they always try to accommodate you when needed.My co-workers are great everyone is willing to help others if needed.The hardest part of the job is when we are short staffed.as it makes for a long day for everyone to make sure that everything is done at the end of the day .The most enjoyable part of the job is helping others and meeting new people all the time.I am currently still employed at northern health.we are planning to move to the okanogan this summer.
Pros
Everyone works as a team
Cons
We are often short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Terrace, BC22 July 2015
Suits my needs at the moment.
i set tables and serve food to elders that are unfit to take care of themselves alone.
i help prep the food and ensure the work place is kept clean and tidy inisde and outside of the kitchen.
i enjoy working with the residents and am looking to possibly advance within a facility similiar with more hands on experience such as recrational or as a health care worker
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Support
PART-TIME PROGRAM SUPPORT/MEALS ON WHEELS/LIFELINE (Former Employee) –  Terrace, bc6 July 2015
Typical day at work would be entering files into the computer (love data entry), filing, preparing MOW Meal Sheets for the hospital. I learned that my calling really is helping people and working on the computer. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting and helping people that came to the counter as well as the people I delivered Meals on Wheels to.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  BC16 September 2015
working for a health authority has its difficulties, mainly lack of flexibility to achieve outcomes, but mainly comes down to who the manager or lead of that office or region is
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid if you can
RN (Current Employee) –  Prince George20 April 2015
NH has a huge number of managers and creates more all the time while cutting back frontline staff. Many managers in the interior are not good at their jobs and are bullies with poor people skills. There is a lack of honesty and integrity in the managers. Co-workers are stressed and unhappy, so teamwork sometimes suffers. Not having the time and being so overwhelmed with patient needs is hardest, patient care is always the most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes86No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day to day learning experience
CleanerlBuilding service worker (Current Employee) –  kitimat,bc13 April 2012
i go to work usually 15-20mins early ,start early. start my day with what is expected of me on a day to day basis .i am a team player and am always willing to help my fellow coworker ... i am always learning new skills and dealing through the conflicts that life and day to day deals me . the most enjoyable part of my job is dealing and helping the residents on their daily needs when no one else is available
Pros
interaction with the residents on my side
Was this review helpful?Yes21No37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work and learning environment.
Employed Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC25 January 2015
- 12 hour nursing shifts
- Learning to manage busy ER
- Excellent management
- Amazing co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes17No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to learn and improve work skills
Clinical Application Support Analyst-Registration (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC8 August 2013
Northern Health has been a typical large company to work for. It has its pro's and con's. All in all it has been a good experience.
Pros
Learning access
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes29No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Practicum placement was here
Medical Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  FSJ hospital and Peace Villa5 October 2012
I had an amazing time doing my three week practicum in FSJ ... Amazing people in the hospital and residents are wonderful... I was offered a job many times in my three weeks there but sadly had to decline, as my family and I aren't ready to relocate so far north!
Pros
busy, fast paced environment
Cons
hospital run rather poorly ... patient care is not a priority
Was this review helpful?Yes29No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Home Care
Community Health Worker (Former Employee) –  Queen Charlotte, Haida Gwaii, BC canada19 October 2014
A typical Day would be arriving at clients home to assist with meal preparation, medication and light housekeeping. Supervision and assist with showering, and linen change.
Pros
Helping clients maintain their .present healt, and stay in their own home
Cons
There arent any that I know of.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
cleaner (Former Employee) –  UHNBC23 May 2013
Aweful...not enough staff to do the work. Managers bully you if you speak up for yourself....can't get days off when requested, but they expect you to do OT for them without question...everyone is mad there
Pros
multiple areas to work
Cons
mismanaged! Bully system used!
Was this review helpful?Yes92No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Admitting Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Prince Rupert BC20 January 2015
My experience thus far with Northern Health has been a good one. The staff is very friendly and there is plenty of opportunity to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Admitting,Housekeeping,Med records. (Former Employee) –  Chetwynd, BC19 March 2014
Great staff. Enjoyed working for this company they were very accomodating have great work place ethic.
Pros
Good Hrs
Cons
Casual position
Was this review helpful?Yes36No20Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7