Find companies:
North American Construction Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

North American Construction Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small and diverse, fun team
Technical Services Lead (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 16, 2014
I worked with a great group of people, the work itself became a little mundane, the same daily meetings which reviewed the same information multiple times a day. Direction from my superior was lacking and I wish I was able to have learn more in different parts of the company. It became apparent that once you excelled in something that's where you would – more... stay. Originally the company had a program for new grads to work in multiple positions in the company to fully understand the full system and find a position they enjoyed, too bad it wasn't offered to a broader group of employees. All-in-all I was satisfied working with the company, it always boils down to you co-workers and superiors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant work life balance
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 15, 2014
The even time roster enables everyone to enjoy adequate rest and relaxation. Safety is the primary concern while at work, and is stressed to all levels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a mechanic.
Mechanic (Current Employee), Canadian Natural Resources, Horizon camp.October 9, 2014
Pros: room and board.
Cons: long hours, away from family.
Had an interesting career, working with wide range of cultures. Worked long hours most of the time. Have my health, skills, willingess to continue to work. Get along well with people, am able to communicate. Present job which will end in December, 2014, I get up at 4:00 AM, work 12 hr. days, do some exercises at the gym after work. Learned throughout – more... the years, everybody is to learn from, I am also equal to everybody. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable fast pace enviroment, many great people to work with.
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: great work schedules, a good company to promote training.
Cons: aging senior management not promoting growth within.
My time at NACG was great, had the opportunity to advance and excel been offered, I would still be there today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work site
Foreman (Current Employee), Kearl Lake, ABAugust 30, 2014
Pros: ten and ten schedule, large executive room
Cons: camp is very large. travel to site is half hour one way. travel alowance is small
Foreman Duties as well General Foreman duties. Track time materials and equipment hours. Work directly with Esso contract coordinators. Crew line ups. conduct JSA reviews. Also prepare JSA's . conduct morning PSI as well as discuss safety topics with crew. Insure job set up is safe for all employees. Monitor job progress and document daily. My job can – more... change with little notice. We work in the mine at Kearl, as Mine Support. Also tailings reclamation . Ditching projects, soils reclamation, We have large equipment, haul trucks, dozers, excavators, graders,and wheel loaders. I over see deferent types of work areas in and out of the mine. I always try to be a positive leader, my own experience as an operator, helps me under stand issues that employees and co-workers deal with preforming there tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really solid employer
Labourer (Former Employee), Regina, SKMay 27, 2014
Pros: high wage/rrsp
NACG was a wonderful employer, High wages, RRSP contributions made for me, great medical dental,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Heavy Hauler (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 12, 2014
awesome place to work people are great to bad they didn't have more work for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
last option
Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, AlbertaFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: everything, management, not following standard safety practice
Upper management is terrible, company is cheap, poorly run. Best part is the employees. Better places to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company need help
Project Cost Controls Coordinator (Former Employee), Cambridge OntarioJanuary 17, 2014
I thank God I worked in this company, it is an opportunity to appreciate better comapny
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repeat Offender
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Current Employee), AchesonJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: listed in last part of review
I have left this company and came back to them twice now. I left because there is a hard time advancing within unless you kiss a#$. That or you know someone or are related to them. I came back because they do pay good for mechanics in Edmonton area. Also the people I work with are some of the best I've worked with or for. I have worked for them up in – more... FT. Mcmurray and don't sugest anyone go up there for them unless you're just getting into a area of work. Safety is huge here but don't have a incident. If you do then the "advisors" will treat you like you just killed their children. All in all I have learnt alot about my trade while working here. Again the people are the best part of the job. Hardest part is dealing with the ever changing pollices and procedures. Seems like those change daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided the necessary tools to get the job done
HSE Advisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 3, 2013
Pros: continuous training & education, support, co-workers
Cons: long days
This was a camp job. My schedule was 14 days on 7 days off. Every day had a different agenda. Your typical day was 14-16 hours long. We were required to report to senior management every wednesday. Co-workers and management were supportive and helpful. The hardest part of the job were long days. The most rewarding part of the job was the teaching and – more... helping people to identify risk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's was a fun, fast paced environment that offered promotions within, competitive salary and benefits.
Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee), Acheson AlbertaJuly 18, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, great team support, flexible work hours
Cons: no public transportation
The department I was in have great Team support and sense of feeling at ease and welcome..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense
Accounts Payable Lead - Mining, Heavy Construction (Former Employee), Acheson, ABJune 16, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: acknowlegement
The people that I worked with were great - there was no acknowledgement for all the extra things that you did outside of your job scope.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great safety culture
BULLDOZER OPERATOR (Former Employee), Conklin, ABApril 26, 2013
Company is based out of Alberta. Typical day included earth moving and road building. Be prepared to be away from home for most of the month
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
Construction Labourer (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 16, 2013
Pros: good pay
12 hour days. 14/7. management was good. the commute was pretty long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A GOOD COMPANY
SENIOR BUSINESS SYSTEM ANALYST (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 19, 2013
Pros: free snacks
Cons: inconsistance
IT IS A GOOD PLACE TO LEARN NEW THINGS GET USED TO CHANGES.

IT GROWS TOO FAST TO SETUP A GOOD STRUCTURE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with room to grow
Manager (Current Employee), Acheson, ABMarch 4, 2013
Pros: supportive team and management; new ceo has brought in much needed focus
Cons: company going through transition period
NACG is a good place to work and has alot to offer an employee in terms of professional growth and challenge. The company definitely has room for improvement, but is headed in the right direction. Anyone with the right attitude and drive will quickly become a strong asset to the company. In addition, I have a very supportive team including my direct – more... Manager. I am given clear direction and trust to get my work done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good experience. It was challenging and fun. Co-workers are great to work with.
Site Operations Trainer (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: our team . it presented lots of interesting challenges.
Cons: recent changes in the company, moral .
I have learned lots from NACG in the training field. I have had some great mentors to help me get through the processes that are required in the training department, My co-workers are excellent to work with , its a great team environment and we have mega years experience in mining , all of us combined. We share our experiences and help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of North American Construction Group
Second year Electrician (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 28, 2013
Everyday I would drive out to CNRL and be there for 530 am to talk to the night shift and do a crossover.

Drive into the mine and do shovel checks before operators arrived.

Maintain shovels and trucks as needed.

The hardest part of the job was the 15 hour days (including driving)

The most enjoyable part was working on multi-million dallor machines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How I like them
Serviceman (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 25, 2013
Good to work for, good salary and benefits though the union and good schedules

About North American Construction Group

North American Construction Group (NACG) is the premier provider of heavy construction and mining services in Canada. With over – Read more

North American Construction Group Photos