Find companies:
Nordstrom
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,863 reviews

Nordstrom Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if I was still living with my parents
Jewellery sales (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 17, 2014
Pros: benefits, within promotion
Cons: long-hours, terrible pay
Great place to work if you are looking for friends! I've meet a lot of people, the entire work place is a family environment The work is easy - Sell! However there are downsides,
Management can be condescending and unhelpful, they will push you to sell the most however at the same time over-staff the floor. Meaning you are fighting over 1 customer with – more... 16 other department employees (point of view from jewelry department). This creates a hostel work environment. The return policy conflicts with your pay cheque much more then it would if you were to work elsewhere.
It's fair to say at this job that is commission based.. you can not judge how you are as a sales person. They set you up to fail. I personally did in-between average sales to top sales per shift, I have had to struggle through fighting over that 1 customer during slow days and have huge returns on items that have been clearly worn.
The company has lost many employees due to have too many people working at the same time. This is not a job you can live off of! It's a good time for part-time students I suppose, if you meet their part-time requirements.
Great benefits, all management once started as a sales person therefor they only promote within which is good if you have the patience and the money! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and stressfree environment
Salesperson (Current Employee), Troy, MIMarch 5, 2014
Love this place! Employees always score great deals and my co-workers are awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is definetly an exciting place to meet wonderful people
taylor semstress (Current Employee), Warwick, QCApril 24, 2013
Pros: i love the fact that customers come back and ask for me by name
Cons: distance between work and home is long for me
open tailor shop and prepare garment to be altered,learned that pleasing customers is very important factor,management is dynamic .People I work with are really fun .The distance between work and home is far and we get these wonderful discounts on designer clothes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Salon Shoes Sales Associate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 20, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, benefits, great customers, great coworkers
Cons: constantly standing, returns
A typical day for me at work consists of multiple tasks. First, our most important priority is to take care of our customers making them completely happy with their experience whether they are looking for a special item, trying to order something, or bringing in a return as well as an exchange. I really love working with customers as well as my coworkers. – more... The people I get to meet daily keep life interesting. Alot of women open up to me and I really get to know them well on not only a professional level but also a personal level. I prefer to stay in contact with my customers to let them know about new merchandise we receive and to see how their new items have worked for them; outreach is another top priority. My coworkers make my day go by even faster; we are way more than just coworkers. They are my friends and we work even better together as a team. Second, throughout the day when it is less busy I tidy up our department straightening the shoes, complete DTC orders (direct to customer), organize inventory, and clear off the cash wrap and work bench. I really enjoy seeing the new merchandise we receive and learning about the designer, the brand, and the styles and fit of the shoes. For me, working at Nordstrom has boosted my confidence level to a new extreme. It has made me able to say hello to just about anyone outside of work, that it is almost second nature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job I had during school
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Tukwila, WANovember 20, 2014
Pros: employee discount
I got hired a month into my Esthetics program. It was a nice job I had during school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and competitive.
Packer (Former Employee), 7700 18th Street SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404November 20, 2014
Pros: good hours, competitive, and trainers did and excellent job.
Cons: 3rd shift hours, only seasonal job.
My time spent in this company is largely very good. the hours at Nordstrom were decent for working a 3rd shift schedule, and the company likes to hire their employees from within, witch is good. they are also incentive based so it gives you motivation to work hard and be competitive. what I did in the company was sort, build, read receipts, pack, and – more... ship boxes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work environment
Loss Prevention Agent (Former Employee), Seattle, WANovember 20, 2014
Exciting place to work. Heavy emphasis on training, safety and following procedure. Excellent management with opportunities to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work enviornment
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Burbank, CANovember 18, 2014
I have nothing bad to say about this company, work well with your schedules, management has great communication with employees. jus overall a great company to work for, sadly I had to leave for a personal issue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NORDSTROM !!!!
CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee), Dallas TXNovember 18, 2014
Great place to work and build a career for retail world - lots of movement and opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Sales Rover (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 17, 2014
Pros: employee benefits
Cons: if you don't voice your questions, you won't suceed
My experience at Nordstrom Rack was inviting and I learned many things from it. Every section in the store has a different system and pace of doing things. The managers are helpful and very focused. There are great advancement opportunities in the company so be prepared to see many people get promoted to different positions, company wide, that includes – more... seeing coworkers switching locations, and welcoming employees to yours. Overall, it was nice to learn about how well the Nordstrom takes care of it's own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Environment
Philosophy Counter Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 17, 2014
Working at Nordstrom, I was expected to:

Manage employees in retail and cosmetics sales. We were merchandising, providing customer service, making appointments, and more importantly, selling goods on a daily basis. I was able to show a proven ability to set and meet maximized sales goals.

Additional job requirements include communication skills, computer – more... sales software experience and organizational abilities. I also had to deliver strong knowledge of the cosmetics industry, including trends, brand information and cosmetic artistry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), MiamiNovember 17, 2014
Pros: fast work place
Cons: hours are consistant
assist customer with purchases such as shoes and accessories. Attempt to meet daily qutoa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Customer Service (Current Employee), Kettering, OHNovember 16, 2014
Pros: hour lunch, 2 ten min breaks
Cons: parking, short staffed
A typical day at work would consist of ringing customers up and also returning items they didn't need/want. I learned the different systems that Nordstrom uses it changes at least once a week (it feels like) The management there is very understanding. They are very honest, and willing to help out. My co-workers are very down to earth always willing – more... to help if someone doesn't understand something. The hardest part about my job is getting yelled out by angry customers. Ive cussed out too many times to count. The most enjoyable part about my job is making the customers laugh and enjoy their experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 15, 2014
customer service is the key in retail industry. meeting new people daily and cared for each ones needs in the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work Environment
Retail Sales and Management (Former Employee), Seattle AreaNovember 15, 2014
I enjoyed working for Nordstrom for a couple of reasons. First and foremost I had many fortunate opportunities for advancement that allowed me to grow as a professional, shop keeper, and leader. Secondly, I learned more about the fashion industry than I had ever hoped for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Salesperson (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 15, 2014
learned a lot about customer service skill and how important it is to make sure the customer is 100% satisfied
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate/Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Murray, UTNovember 15, 2014
Nordstrom had a fun and energetic environment. I loved working at Nordstrom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Canoga Park, CANovember 13, 2014
managers are always willing to listen to you, assist you thru your daily goals. If you love fashion Nordstrom is definitely the place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, competitive, growing work atmosphere
Shoe Sales Associate (Nordstrom Rack Store) (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 12, 2014
I really enjoyed my time with Nordstrom Inc. The associates are all motivated, positive, and helpful. There is growth and promotion seen all around which is extremely encouraging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it's cracked up to be
Visual and Sales (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahNovember 12, 2014
Not very good to employees. Even the really committed ones. Should not be one of the top companies to work for-

1 2 3 4 5