Find companies:
No Frills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

No Frills Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Front End cashier (Former Employee), Tonronto, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: faster working pace.
Cons: bare negative emotions.
Working in NoFrills provided me a chance to learn to communicate and pass on the best accurate answer to people. In a typical work day, I will have to make sure customers are satisfied with the services I provide also I will have to make sure the price of groceries are accurate, I will usually do a little chat with the co-workers while there was no – more... customers at the cashier, they are all very kind. Co-workers will have to provide help and develop a team while serving the customers. For example, one less experienced cashier could not remember the product code and the experienced ones will help him/her. There are numerous difficult time in working in NoFrills. Sometime customers got less patient while waiting in line. Some of they tend to release the negative emotions on the cashier ever though service was accurate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Brighton, ONOctober 16, 2013
Pros: straight forward, not too difficult to pick up tasks
Cons: seniority rule.
I didn't get much time to work here, but in the time i did i found that the co-workers were great people and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.................
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 12, 2013
Pros: ...........
Cons: .........
a typical day at work .... but I gain alot of work experience from this job..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced customer-oriented environment
Customer Service and Cash Office (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 7, 2013
A typical day at work consists of either opening or closing the front end of the store. This includes counting cash registers and ensuring all money balances. A regular day at work always involves satisfying customers' interests. The biggest thing that I have learned while working at No Frills is that communication is key to providing customers with – more... exceptional service. The management at my work is great and always able to assist with any questions myself and co-workers have. Every day is enjoyable at work since I have such great co-workers. The hardest part of the job is telling a customer something they do not want to hear. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting so many different people every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with pretty good management
Clerk (Former Employee), Etobicoke, OntarioOctober 6, 2013
Pros: i like working with food, knowledgeable management, close to work
Cons: stealing employee, physically difficult with only minimum wage as payment, lot's of carts to return
I worked at no frills briefly and I can't say I work there again. I felt that although I was earning minimum wage I was not paid a good amount for all the work I was doing. I used to be very skinny with very little muscle mass which does not work well with this sort of job. There was always a high amount of shopping carts in the parking lot that I had – more... to return but no machine to me return them. It got rather hectic during a holiday. The managers were really good and knew their stuff although I was not given enough training for a first time job. I later found out that some employees were stealing. The job was just a short bus ride away which was awesome. I left because of school but I could not see my self working there more then a year or so unlike blockbuster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but LOW BALL PAY
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: friendly staff 9am - 10pm shifting
Cons: extremely low pay sadly, no benies either
Great place staff wise, good managers, good time schedule.
Would have stuck around, BUT the low ball pay is so small, nobody other than a student living at home with mom & dad could handle the rate of pay.
Paying rent with this income is impossible, and if you have car payments you won't survive here.
Great job if you don't need money!
No FULL TIME – more... hours available.
Avg hours up to 26 hrs wk
Avg pay is under 11.00 for supervisors, avg cashier makes 9.75hr (MIN WAGE)
NO BENIES – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Job
Produce (Former Employee), Estevan, SKAugust 30, 2013
Pros: slack job, nice co-workers
Cons: mean managers
Wasn't a very fun place to work at. Managers were mean and strict and often you had to work alone, and it's not always fun working long shifts when you're not allowed to talk to people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to work.
Produce Labourer (Current Employee), London, ONAugust 27, 2013
Its great! It is a nice work environment with nice people running it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like to make a good impression on people and i love to make people laugh/smile
Cashier (Former Employee), Okotoks, ABAugust 15, 2013
Pros: could bring food home for my family
Cons: i was always on my feet and i had a stiff back and sore knees when it was time to go home
A day at work for me would be to make sure that I am doing my job properly and that the customer is happy. I would also try to keep up a plesent conversation with every person who came through my till no matter what mood i was in.

I think it is also good when you can get along with all of your co-workers but if there is some conflict then i beleive – more... the best way to handle it is to just be as polite as possible and to not step on anyones toes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to work.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Orangeville, ONAugust 10, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: booking time off.
A typical day working at No Frills in the produce department involves you preparing, stocking, fresh fruit and vegetables. I learned the importance of being on time and taking pride in my work. The management treats their employees well but sometimes lacks fairness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not challeging
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 8, 2013
Typical cashier duties.
Unfriendly management.
There was no support for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers are usually very nice
Cashier (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJuly 30, 2013
Pros: not a good reference
Cons: the will cheat you
Not professional enough
They lie about you
They practice bullying on the job
Then they harass you so that you'll quit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 30, 2013
All i can say is good environment. Always got along with co-worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Stocker (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 21, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: low wage
ive enjoyed my experience ive met some interesting people and all and all have no regrets for working for this company till this day i still have contact with these individuals and we go out from time to time.What ive learnt is that there is alot of people in this world but you only make few your friends and i consider these people my friends and the – more... hardest part of this particular job is that i had to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
:)
Cashier (Former Employee), Cold Lake,AlbertaJuly 18, 2013
This company was amazing to work for, I truly wish I dint have to leave
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 8, 2013
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: not enough hours
I am a cashier so every shift I serve customers and then face shelves until we are free to go home. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to serve the customers. I have been in customer service for eight years and I love it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Department Manger (Current Employee), Toronto, OntarioJune 27, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: working through lunches constantly
Arrive in the morning, go through all old stock before new product arrives. Write and send my orders, attend to customers if needed, review margins weekly, receive trucks/orders when they arrive, work through the orders, give instructions and advice to co-workers if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience.
Produce Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 17, 2013
Please contact for further information.
Extra line out of necessity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all the cashiers help out each other.
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 12, 2013
Pros: you get to meet all kinds of people from different cultures.
Cons: hard to move up.
its a good place to work at if you are in school full-time wanting to earn some income on the side because you would only get max 15hrs a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery store
Dairy Manager (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 31, 2013
Typical grocery store part time job. Not the greatest for advancment