Find companies:
No Frills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
99 reviews

No Frills Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, fair lunch break
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: not having to bag items
Cons: hires only part time
Learning transactions with credit card, debt cards, as well as vouches. Starting off at minimum wage. Dealt with customer care. Communications skills is a must. Building relationships with customers, and problem solving is key. There is no benefits, or discounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch everyday after work
Cons: long hours
friendly people
the most important time was when the supervisor was telling us who is the worker
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun love to work great with working in groups or a lone
Stock Person (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: quick learner love to work
co-workers are all older than me youngest on nights. learned time management shipping and receiving and lots more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Grocery store
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 20, 2014
It is a typical grocery store, with the same environment and work habits. The hardest part of the job is to maintain the quantity of the sale good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work at with fun, hard working employers.
Stocker (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: pay was weekly and you get free lunch on holidays such as christmas and thanksgiving.
Cons: distance between my house and job was far, and you're always kept longer than when your shift is over
A typical day at work was to begin by stack eggs to make sure there full, then always checking the milk crates to see when it is needed to be stacked to be filled. After, we go stack any new packages that arrive and face products on the shelves. The management of the dairy department was very calm and relaxed but also stressed on the importance of being – more... a hard worker and likes things done with 100% effort. The co-workers where very insightful and friendly. Hardest part of the job was the fast paced movement and getting everything done before your time expires. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Frills review
Meat & Deli (Former Employee), North Battleford, SKDecember 23, 2013
Pros: payday every week
Cons: unhappy customers
A typical day was always different which I enjoyed.
What I learned is how a meat department is run.
Management was great, they understood me and my personality.
Co-workers were so-so, I believe there's a time and place to share information about themselves and others.
The hardest part of my job was coming out of my shyness, but it has improved during – more... my time away from there. Also not having the right answers for the customers. I felt like I wasn't fulfilling the customers needs because they would ask the oddest questions.
The most enjoyable part of the job was keeping my department clean and full of stock, seeing a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery Employee Workplace For Seven Years
Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, ONDecember 13, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: hours are inconsistent
What employees strive for in a Grocery store is customer service. Co-workers are easy going but professional about their job position at the same time. The hardest part would be the labor of working really heavy items on to the shelves or overhead stock. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to see the same customers faces and getting to know – more... them in a pleasant atmosphere. But been meaning to explore and start a new job as there are many more experiences worth looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee), MississaugaNovember 26, 2013
Pros: experience
Daniels No Frills is what gave me my first taste of working in the cash office being a supervisor as well as being a cashier. I left because i had some personal problems to deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy and fun
Cashier (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONNovember 19, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: not enough hours
No Frills is my temporary job because it is part time but i do like working there and learning about new cultures and different foods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Renfrew, ONNovember 11, 2013
great place to work. Great people to work with. You always have a great time while you are at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mind Numbing Work-Entertaining People
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee), London, ONOctober 24, 2013
Cons: early mornings, long hours, no raises, zero upward mobility, no responsibility
You learn relatively nothing new because management it run top down, which allows for little knowledge to trickle down to anyone outside management.
The people you work with are amazing, great and funny people, most of whom you'll end up calling your friends.
The hardest part of the job is maintaining sanity while working seemingly endless shifts when – more... business is slow.
The people you work with are the most enjoyable part of the job and its simple labour if that's what you're interested in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Front End cashier (Former Employee), Tonronto, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: faster working pace.
Cons: bare negative emotions.
Working in NoFrills provided me a chance to learn to communicate and pass on the best accurate answer to people. In a typical work day, I will have to make sure customers are satisfied with the services I provide also I will have to make sure the price of groceries are accurate, I will usually do a little chat with the co-workers while there was no – more... customers at the cashier, they are all very kind. Co-workers will have to provide help and develop a team while serving the customers. For example, one less experienced cashier could not remember the product code and the experienced ones will help him/her. There are numerous difficult time in working in NoFrills. Sometime customers got less patient while waiting in line. Some of they tend to release the negative emotions on the cashier ever though service was accurate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Brighton, ONOctober 16, 2013
Pros: straight forward, not too difficult to pick up tasks
Cons: seniority rule.
I didn't get much time to work here, but in the time i did i found that the co-workers were great people and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.................
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 12, 2013
Pros: ...........
Cons: .........
a typical day at work .... but I gain alot of work experience from this job..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced customer-oriented environment
Customer Service and Cash Office (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 7, 2013
A typical day at work consists of either opening or closing the front end of the store. This includes counting cash registers and ensuring all money balances. A regular day at work always involves satisfying customers' interests. The biggest thing that I have learned while working at No Frills is that communication is key to providing customers with – more... exceptional service. The management at my work is great and always able to assist with any questions myself and co-workers have. Every day is enjoyable at work since I have such great co-workers. The hardest part of the job is telling a customer something they do not want to hear. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting so many different people every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with pretty good management
Clerk (Former Employee), Etobicoke, OntarioOctober 6, 2013
Pros: i like working with food, knowledgeable management, close to work
Cons: stealing employee, physically difficult with only minimum wage as payment, lot's of carts to return
I worked at no frills briefly and I can't say I work there again. I felt that although I was earning minimum wage I was not paid a good amount for all the work I was doing. I used to be very skinny with very little muscle mass which does not work well with this sort of job. There was always a high amount of shopping carts in the parking lot that I had – more... to return but no machine to me return them. It got rather hectic during a holiday. The managers were really good and knew their stuff although I was not given enough training for a first time job. I later found out that some employees were stealing. The job was just a short bus ride away which was awesome. I left because of school but I could not see my self working there more then a year or so unlike blockbuster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but LOW BALL PAY
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: friendly staff 9am - 10pm shifting
Cons: extremely low pay sadly, no benies either
Great place staff wise, good managers, good time schedule.
Would have stuck around, BUT the low ball pay is so small, nobody other than a student living at home with mom & dad could handle the rate of pay.
Paying rent with this income is impossible, and if you have car payments you won't survive here.
Great job if you don't need money!
No FULL TIME – more... hours available.
Avg hours up to 26 hrs wk
Avg pay is under 11.00 for supervisors, avg cashier makes 9.75hr (MIN WAGE)
NO BENIES – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Job
Produce (Former Employee), Estevan, SKAugust 30, 2013
Pros: slack job, nice co-workers
Cons: mean managers
Wasn't a very fun place to work at. Managers were mean and strict and often you had to work alone, and it's not always fun working long shifts when you're not allowed to talk to people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to work.
Produce Labourer (Current Employee), London, ONAugust 27, 2013
Its great! It is a nice work environment with nice people running it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like to make a good impression on people and i love to make people laugh/smile
Cashier (Former Employee), Okotoks, ABAugust 15, 2013
Pros: could bring food home for my family
Cons: i was always on my feet and i had a stiff back and sore knees when it was time to go home
A day at work for me would be to make sure that I am doing my job properly and that the customer is happy. I would also try to keep up a plesent conversation with every person who came through my till no matter what mood i was in.

I think it is also good when you can get along with all of your co-workers but if there is some conflict then i beleive – more... the best way to handle it is to just be as polite as possible and to not step on anyones toes – less