No Frills Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 September 2017
I am happy I was able to experience the life of being a cashier. It wasn't easy at first but it got harder along the way. I'll always remember the good times and the bad times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a good job for part time students
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 September 2017
I have learned how to serve customers, make order for produce and resupply the front display case. The most enjoyable part of the job is working my colleagues. The hardest part of the job is the commute to the store.
Pros
getting free plastic bags
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Stock (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 September 2017
Fun place to work as long as you get your job done. Friendly environment, everyone gets along and supports each other. Work load varies each day. All in all was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job good for students
Grocery Stocker (Former Employee) –  Estevan, SK31 August 2017
Very good for students because of flexible hours. They work well with anything from sports to school and are polite about it and holiday time is very generous
Pros
Good breaks, reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Administrator/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON22 August 2017
Good place to work and gain experience handling cash and great way to gain customer service experience. Good pay and good hours Staff are nice. job is easy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON22 August 2017
got a raise before I hit my year mark i went from cashier to cash office because of trust and being a good worker .
managers and great, vary kind and caring.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON11 August 2017
Great management. Fun coworkers. Balanced work load. Some room for advancement. Fair. Safe workplace. reasonable expectations of workers good starter job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Stock person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
management does not know what it is doing, they struggle to do their job. workers aren't all treated the same. we are not supposed to get breaks throughout our ten hour days.
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Frills
Cashier / Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Glencoe, ON8 August 2017
Work is usually very steady, always something to do.

Learned specific skills used in the retail industry.

Mediocre

Positive place to be at all times

Dealing with rude people

The co workers
Pros
money
Cons
long hours, no discount or free lunches or trips
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON4 August 2017
Horrible place to work, everyone there is toxic and I was constantly bullied while working there. When I informed management about the situation the problem only subsided for a week. I had to constantly do other people's work and I was often blamed for not completing my own set of responsibilites. Again, management did nothing to fix the problem and I was left doing 3 jobs a day. My final issue with the company was the amount of shifts they gave me. At most I had 1-2 shifts a week and after the managers gave me more, the store owners removed it. Do not waste your time with this corrupt company.
Cons
Toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 July 2017
No frills was a very fun place to work but they paid the bare minimum for employees with little no no chance of advancement. In my 3+ years of working at no frills I did not have any advancement or credit for my hard work.
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC26 July 2017
The job wasnt too difficult and the store was always manageable even when the manager wasnt there. The job helped me in improving my customer service skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People But Not A good Workplace
Dairy Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 July 2017
The employees are great, but Management and The Store its self is bad. The customers are even worse. Were always over stocked and there is always expired product on the shelves.
Pros
Great Employees
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Breaks
Cashier/Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wainwright, AB21 July 2017
Very firm schedule, and wages. Never really got breaks or raises. There were people working there that have worked there for many years still getting minimum wage.
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
A lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no frills
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2017
for a first job it was a good learning experience. from time management to work ethic and customer service. management was alright but workers were young just like me and we all got along well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Port Colborne, ON18 July 2017
As this was my first experience as an employee this was a good learning experience for me. Nice to work with people of my own age and learn from people with more experience too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Hand (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 July 2017
the management was horrible with scheduling. the pay was okay, could be better but not worse. We got one small break a shift. long shifts, always busy.
Pros
goo day
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, great envirment but customers were pretty disrespectful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON15 July 2017
really busy on saturday's but if you worked thursday or friday it wasnt to bad.
My favorite part of working there was the friends i made and managers were really helpful at making me feel welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at no frills
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB14 July 2017
It wasn't a very good experience. it was very low quality. My typical day at work was alright. The management was unprofessional and didn't care about there jobs. The work place culture felt like no one wanted to be there no on was friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great an helps i got a call after
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
I learned more job skills its very understandable great to lean more people lifestyles an love how the culture is great people the hardest part is gotta be more open
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at No Frills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 376 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4