No Frills Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Port Colborne, ON18 July 2017
As this was my first experience as an employee this was a good learning experience for me. Nice to work with people of my own age and learn from people with more experience too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Hand (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 July 2017
the management was horrible with scheduling. the pay was okay, could be better but not worse. We got one small break a shift. long shifts, always busy.
Pros
goo day
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, great envirment but customers were pretty disrespectful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON15 July 2017
really busy on saturday's but if you worked thursday or friday it wasnt to bad.
My favorite part of working there was the friends i made and managers were really helpful at making me feel welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at no frills
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB14 July 2017
It wasn't a very good experience. it was very low quality. My typical day at work was alright. The management was unprofessional and didn't care about there jobs. The work place culture felt like no one wanted to be there no on was friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great an helps i got a call after
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
I learned more job skills its very understandable great to lean more people lifestyles an love how the culture is great people the hardest part is gotta be more open
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great prices
Cashier/Cash office supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB12 July 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job was being young and having the responsibility of handling the cash out of all tills, handling paperwork and having to cash out 10 tills etc.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Management wasnt as great as it could have been
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 July 2017
Loved working at No Frills in Burlington. Family ran store and they respected all Staff. The customers loved everyone and respected .
Cashier, help other cashiers and restocked shelves as I hated being bored.
Pros
Always Busy
Cons
had to move to Ottawa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 July 2017
It was a good job to have while I was in school, but after finishing school the jobs was not suitable for my needs anymore. The management for the most part was good and overall I'd say it's a good place to get your first job, so you can gain some experience.
Pros
Good for students
Cons
Not enough hours to go around and no chance of promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a chill environment with lots of yellow
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON27 June 2017
I was one of the few Aboriginal Workers in terms of Culture it's diverse. Management and Supervisors were nice great people to work along. Racial Slurs and Inequality by coworkers happened during a couple of incidents. Hardest part was to pick up other peoples slack

I enjoyed how we could come together as a work place and have a bbq
Cons
Lot's of standing around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stock Shelves (Former Employee) –  Aylmer, ON26 June 2017
always stocking shelves
always experiencing customer interaction
sometimes you have to work alone
co-workers were pretty cool
flexible supervisors
schedules are flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok for a first job
Head Part-time Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON25 June 2017
Easy going, good if you want to deal with people or are just starting out. Great job for students who are looking to make some cash.

Management is good but it depends on which store you work at
Pros
Good breaks, Union
Cons
Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fisrt job
STOCK PERSON (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 June 2017
good for students and young adults. after working there you will never want to eat mc Ds again. your hair will smell like fries eventually. wasnt as bad as i thought.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with nice people.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON19 June 2017
I worked here for approximately 3 years and got about 3 or 4 shifts a week. This is a good job if your looking for part time employment. If your seeking full time employment you should continue looking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly staff, flexible with hours
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON17 June 2017
No frills was very helpful with improving my customer service skills. The staff that worked there allowed for a very enjoyable time at work and the management worked well with hours. The thing i enjoyed most about the job was that they gave great hours and allowed for you to book off the time you needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice simple job but also a fast pace job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 June 2017
- Busy on sale days, reasonable busy from day to day.
- Ask before you do something that your not sure of.
- Management was good at first than got worse the longer I was there.
- Managers expect to much, or also talk behind your back to get people fired for stupid things.
- To challenge yourself with the produce and knowing where product was.
Pros
Was easy at times
Cons
Managers were rude and disrespectful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like it here
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 June 2017
I enjoy working at no frills and have over the last 3 years. i have found there is a lot of room to grow in the company and would highly recommend it to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the summary of No frills
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 June 2017
This hardest job but more jobs with the minimum wage. overall it was really good experience. with that being said I had to train more that what the other emplohyers had.
Pros
rretete
Cons
rer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stepping stone job
Dairy Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Erie, ON14 June 2017
Easy job that has a good union. Of course each owner is different store to store. (Fort Erie) has a very rude one. great stepping stone job but I wouldn't advise permanent stay.
Pros
easy job
Cons
rude owner
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save yourself the stress and do not work here
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2017
This particular No Frills does not care about their employees at all. Racial comments and attacks have occurred on multiple occasions. Honestly, poor management overall. The owner is a bully to almost every employee and has gotten into physical fights with customers before.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Grocery Stockperson (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK3 June 2017
When I had to work after school, you had to work very efficient to keep the place clean and full, for it to look nice when the people come inside the store and see it full. In the other hand it was very nice environment to work in, everyone had fun and it was very good to work that way. It always kept you in a good mood.
Pros
Easy place to adapt to
Cons
Some supervisor weren't the greatest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at No Frills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 361 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4