Find companies:
No Frills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

No Frills Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming environment but no room for advancement
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: short hours
A typical day required cash handling, greeting customers, and explaining the pc point program to customers. I learned customer service skills. The most enjoyable part of the job was building public relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Shelburne, ONFebruary 19, 2015
-most enjoyable part of the job were my coworkers
-my only complaint about the position is that they could not offer me enough hours to live on
-owner was very nice and had pleasant regular customers
-typical work day was enjoyable with few irate customers being the only issue
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Front End Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 15, 2015
I had a blast working at No Frills, the environment and staff was awesome. There is a lot of skills learned being a cashier at NoFrills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Position to help with school and family expenses
Cashier (Former Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 2, 2015
Open and Closing of store, Full time Cashier, got hired out of 1,000 people. Open store, greet customers, put away returns, clean station, handle money, overrides, inventory, key holder.

I started out – more... as a cashier and then they moved me to work on the floor then back to cashier, I also received override privileges.

I learned some managerial duties such as overrides and collecting money at the end of the night, I also closed often.

I worked alongside many co-workers and developed strong team work ethics.

the hardest part of the job was at the beginning when trying to memorize all of the codes.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to make customers and co-workers happy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Cashier, (Former Employee), ONJanuary 28, 2015
Pros: good hours
Cons: short lunch
Good work environment learned how to deal with customers and work with people from different backgrounds. My co-workers where very friendly and willing to help me out in every way they could.One of they – more... hardest parts of the job was dealing with frustrated customers and maintaining that positive attitude no matter what. But i got threw it and continued with my day.The most enjoyable part of my day was probably my lunch break because i laughed and eat with some of my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Grocery Associate (Former Employee), Thunder bay ON Dawson RDJanuary 27, 2015
Worst Job I have ever had. Management was VERY verbally Abusive and lied and manipulated the part time associates in order to get their way. The management frequently harassed the employees and sometimes customers both sexually and verbally. I cant believe i let myself work there for almost a year. DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive no non-sense workplace.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 27, 2015
Pros: company parties
Cons: harsh work environment
A typical day at No Frills is you clocking in and getting straight to work. This harsh work environment promotes productivity and teaches you time management skills in the process. The managers are always down your backs which pushes you to work even harder. The hardest part of the job is keeping up the pace with the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Brighton, ONJanuary 20, 2015
Flexible and difficult. Mean Owner, low pay................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very well managed store
Dairy Manager/Store clerk (Former Employee), Oakville, ONJanuary 17, 2015
Pros: was good in deciding what i wanted to do with my life
Cons: i was not able to meet my full potential in this career
-depending on which department I was working in I would place orders for any products needed on the shelves, mostly in the dairy department. Organize products, stock shelves, handle any customer questions – more... and much more

-I learned how to handle customer questions and provide excellent service and also how to manage the dairy department

-I was promoted to Dairy manager

-Fun working environment and had lots of co-workers

-Working extremely hard for little pay

-Worked with a lot of my friends – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with fun coworkers
GROCERY CLERK (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: fun coworkers
Cons: bad managemet
i would stack shelves, take of boxes of the overhead shelf
i learned how to cut boxes, look for potential hazards and remove them
the hardest part of my job would be working with 2 other coworkers facing the store
the fun part was lifting milk cartons and getting exersie in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
survival job
Night Crew (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 9, 2014
Pros: open work space
Cons: with limited benefits
A typical work environment that you must have to deal with. Workers keep come and go because of the working shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
produce clerk/ grocery clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 9, 2014
Pros: depending on the shift you can get payed breaks
Cons: like stated above a lot of talking behind backs
no frills is a pretty good place to work a side from the fact that there is a lot of talking behind employees backs and the management didn't act like management whatsoever. although that was only at the one location and from that point there is a new owner now and i believe he runs the place a lot better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocked shelves
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Belleville, ONDecember 3, 2014
very busy, yet fun place too work. good starter job. Met allot of nice people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Morale
Dairy Manager (Current Employee), Aylmer, ONNovember 30, 2014
We start early in the morning, when the trucks arrive we start working the daily load of stock. I learned how to provide good customer service as well as how to properly maintain a grocery store. Management – more... was a little bit up and down, great one day and very pushy the next. Co-workers are great, make the day go by a lot better. Hardest part is making sure the quality of the store is maintained, especially on busy days. Most enjoyable part is being able to work with friends, great family atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say
Cashier (Former Employee), Fort Erie, ONNovember 26, 2014
I don't have much to say. It was okay. I wouldn't go back to the Fort Erie No Frills again. Maybe other No Frills are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well managed work environment
GROCERY CLERK (Former Employee), London, ONNovember 8, 2014
A typical day at work would start off with the arrival of a new order of products which could be for either the grocery, dairy, frozen, bakery, or produce departments. Once the order had arrived grocery – more... clerks such as myself would begin stocking the products on their designated shelves/bunkers. Once the order was complete the grocery clerks would begin working on back stock (left over products from previous orders that there was now room for on the shelves) until the end of their shift. I learned many things during my time working for no frills including how to properly stock different products, how to use a hand jack, how to deal with customers, and how to work well with a large group of co-workers. From my experience the management at no frills was very good. My managers were always organized and ready to assist if need be. I would say the hardest part of the job would be loading/unloading heavy boxes which I still had no problem with. And finally I would say that the most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with my co-workers. This is because my no frills had a very friendly and welcoming environment which allowed all employees to work together positively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Sydney, NSOctober 16, 2014
Pros: great staff and management
Cons: little room for advancement
In a typical day I would be tasked with loading and unloading trucks via Forklift (Raymond), managing stock, filling stock to shelves, refilling display stock and rotation of perishable stock (dairy, produce, – more... bread, etc).

Management was generally very easy to work with and was flexible and accommodating to me during my time in University and High School and gave clear instructions on my tasks.

Co-workers were very easy to get along with and made work very enjoyable and less monotonous each day (Many of my tasks were repetitive in nature). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not get along with the owner
Cashier (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONSeptember 30, 2014
I had some personal issues with the owner as well as his wife which was the cause of me quitting.Other than that I enjoyed working there and was there for almost 2 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Part Time Cashier/ produce (Former Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Working at nofrills was ok. I learned a lot about produce. Management was ok. Co-workers were nice.The hardest part was inventory< most enjoyable greeting customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: not that hard of a job
Cons: you have to deal with managers and there stupidity
No frills is a decent job if you are in high school - college. You learn how to deal with customers, smile..smile...and smile. Each day i get to work i have to take items off the skids and put them on a cart. I then stock the shelves with these items. Co workers are cool. Management is good. The best part of this job is getting to go home. Hardest part of the job is pushing carts