No Frills Employee Reviews

Found 338 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON11 August 2017
Great management. Fun coworkers. Balanced work load. Some room for advancement. Fair. Safe workplace. reasonable expectations of workers good starter job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Stock person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
management does not know what it is doing, they struggle to do their job. workers aren't all treated the same. we are not supposed to get breaks throughout our ten hour days.
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Frills
Cashier / Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Glencoe, ON8 August 2017
Work is usually very steady, always something to do.

Learned specific skills used in the retail industry.

Mediocre

Positive place to be at all times

Dealing with rude people

The co workers
Pros
money
Cons
long hours, no discount or free lunches or trips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON4 August 2017
Horrible place to work, everyone there is toxic and I was constantly bullied while working there. When I informed management about the situation the problem only subsided for a week. I had to constantly do other people's work and I was often blamed for not completing my own set of responsibilites. Again, management did nothing to fix the problem and I was left doing 3 jobs a day. My final issue with the company was the amount of shifts they gave me. At most I had 1-2 shifts a week and after the managers gave me more, the store owners removed it. Do not waste your time with this corrupt company.
Cons
Toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 July 2017
No frills was a very fun place to work but they paid the bare minimum for employees with little no no chance of advancement. In my 3+ years of working at no frills I did not have any advancement or credit for my hard work.
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC26 July 2017
The job wasnt too difficult and the store was always manageable even when the manager wasnt there. The job helped me in improving my customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People But Not A good Workplace
Dairy Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 July 2017
The employees are great, but Management and The Store its self is bad. The customers are even worse. Were always over stocked and there is always expired product on the shelves.
Pros
Great Employees
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Breaks
Cashier/Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wainwright, AB21 July 2017
Very firm schedule, and wages. Never really got breaks or raises. There were people working there that have worked there for many years still getting minimum wage.
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
A lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no frills
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2017
for a first job it was a good learning experience. from time management to work ethic and customer service. management was alright but workers were young just like me and we all got along well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Port Colborne, ON18 July 2017
As this was my first experience as an employee this was a good learning experience for me. Nice to work with people of my own age and learn from people with more experience too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Hand (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 July 2017
the management was horrible with scheduling. the pay was okay, could be better but not worse. We got one small break a shift. long shifts, always busy.
Pros
goo day
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, great envirment but customers were pretty disrespectful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON15 July 2017
really busy on saturday's but if you worked thursday or friday it wasnt to bad.
My favorite part of working there was the friends i made and managers were really helpful at making me feel welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at no frills
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB14 July 2017
It wasn't a very good experience. it was very low quality. My typical day at work was alright. The management was unprofessional and didn't care about there jobs. The work place culture felt like no one wanted to be there no on was friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great an helps i got a call after
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
I learned more job skills its very understandable great to lean more people lifestyles an love how the culture is great people the hardest part is gotta be more open
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great prices
Cashier/Cash office supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB12 July 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job was being young and having the responsibility of handling the cash out of all tills, handling paperwork and having to cash out 10 tills etc.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Management wasnt as great as it could have been
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 July 2017
Loved working at No Frills in Burlington. Family ran store and they respected all Staff. The customers loved everyone and respected .
Cashier, help other cashiers and restocked shelves as I hated being bored.
Pros
Always Busy
Cons
had to move to Ottawa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 July 2017
It was a good job to have while I was in school, but after finishing school the jobs was not suitable for my needs anymore. The management for the most part was good and overall I'd say it's a good place to get your first job, so you can gain some experience.
Pros
Good for students
Cons
Not enough hours to go around and no chance of promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a chill environment with lots of yellow
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON27 June 2017
I was one of the few Aboriginal Workers in terms of Culture it's diverse. Management and Supervisors were nice great people to work along. Racial Slurs and Inequality by coworkers happened during a couple of incidents. Hardest part was to pick up other peoples slack

I enjoyed how we could come together as a work place and have a bbq
Cons
Lot's of standing around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stock Shelves (Former Employee) –  Aylmer, ON26 June 2017
always stocking shelves
always experiencing customer interaction
sometimes you have to work alone
co-workers were pretty cool
flexible supervisors
schedules are flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok for a first job
Head Part-time Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON25 June 2017
Easy going, good if you want to deal with people or are just starting out. Great job for students who are looking to make some cash.

Management is good but it depends on which store you work at
Pros
Good breaks, Union
Cons
Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at No Frills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 349 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

78%
128 ratings
Add your rating