No Frills Employee Reviews

Found 302 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is really awesome place
STOCK CLERK (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB22 May 2017
Fun loving place to work
days when fast
friendly people to work with
the shifts we not to hard of work too do
management was awesome to work with
the most enjoyable part was the people
Pros
got free lunches some times
Cons
not enough days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
PRODUCE WORKER (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON15 May 2017
Everything was consistent and the staff was very welcoming and helpful, I would reccomend this job to anyone that is looking for a job because it is a very proffesional environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked overnights at this position
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON12 May 2017
The night manager was the most rude night manager i ever knew in my whole life of working. Their was no room for mistakes and he never helped out so we could get out and go home to our families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i had a lots of fun at work
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2017
Everyday at work I was learning something new, I learn how to help a team member how to do a better job and I learn to fix all my mistake.
the most hardest part of the job was maybe lifting heavy stuff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nobleton, ON8 May 2017
store was never busy, the manager would constantly ridicule me on things I did. and belittle me if I did something wrong. most of the staff was very pleasant and the job benefits are amazing. everything was okay aside from the management team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice time
Inventory Check/General/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 May 2017
very fun place to work and learn and gain knowledge of the workplace environment lots of opportunities for further promotions within the company very friendly people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 May 2017
Good place for part-time work with minimum wage with supportive staff and management. Being a cashier nothing was much hard but would mention that at times there is encounter with some difficult customers but that is the part of the job so no complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restricting, Repetitive and Low Paying
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON30 April 2017
A typical day at work would begin with everyone receiving their assignments in the back room. This would then be your job for the rest of the shift ie) which isles were your responsibility today. We would usually begin with working through skids of delivered product and putting them on the shelves. If the shelves were full, then the overhead. We'd then continue to face (pull and stack everything) in our assigned isles until the end of our shift. If we finished early then we'd assist someone else. Other than that, we were isolated throughout our shifts aside from customers asking where items were. For the half hour we worked past closing if when we acting got to interact somewhat with our co-workers. We'd finish the most important jobs for opening the next morning which was usually working through a skid that was delivered late. The culture of working here was very isolated and involved a lot of alone time simply pulling things forward, stacking them, and pulling down from the overhead to fill shelves. The hardest part of the job was making sure you didn't put one of the dozen identical objects, such as shampoo bottles, in the wrong spot. This was done by endlessly checking the last 4 digits on the bar code of the products and matching them to the self bar code. If you misplace something and it's caught by the managers, that's when you would get a good scolding. The most enjoyable part of the job would be getting called by the cashiers. At this point we'd go resolve an issue that a customer is having at the cashier. This included but is not limited to doing price checks, carrying  more... out bags for customers and retrieving additional items for customers. The reason this was the most enjoyable was because it actually allowed for some human interaction. Therefore I'd savor these moments and was as polite to the customers as possible to secure my spot as being responsible for these calls. The manager would tell us who is responsible for them in the back room at the beginning of each shift, and delegate when they went on their lunch break.  less
Pros
Easy to get time off
Cons
Very long probation period (can fire you early on for no reason), very easy to get fired (phone use results in immediate termination), made under minimum wage (after mandatory union dues), minimal social interaction, repetitive menial tasks, verbal abuse from customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice easy job once you get the hang of it
Produce Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC27 April 2017
The work was pretty easy, mostly just fill the tables with stock and pull out the bad stock. As a supervisor there were more tasks including ordering and maintaining the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
FRONT END CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON24 April 2017
- Loved meeting new people and interacting with them
- Enjoyed putting my problem solving skills to the test
- Learned new products and how to use them better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 April 2017
working in teams and helping customers with anything they need.
support your team if they need help with customer or products.
don't stand around if there is nothing to do.
Pros
free pizza
Cons
middle hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 April 2017
Good hours, good place to be. I learned a lot. The management is good. Its an easy job once you get use to it. Its very enjoyable, not a lot of complications
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unreal place to work
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON12 April 2017
A typical day at No Frills would be stocking the shelves and bunkers. Also, helping customers with questions and facing the store at the end of the night. I learnt about business and how to deal with customers.
Pros
everyone I worked with was nice
Cons
working Sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright Job, Not Very Nice Manager
Diary Clerk (Former Employee) –  Olds, AB10 April 2017
Everyday was full of very simple work to do. Management was kind of bad, the head manager was not a very nice fellow. Hardest part of the job was taking in the shipments.Most enjoyable thing was getting to socialize with my fellow workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alrigh
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Trail, BC9 April 2017
the place over all isn't that bad but they'll yell at you for being minute late and the customers are nice but you have quite a few rude ones that comes
Pros
nice customers
Cons
you get yelled at over nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a place to work
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 April 2017
I did not have a good experience. The culture is not the best. Management is not the best. The hardest part of the job is dealing with management. A good starter job.
Pros
I can't think of any
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work.
Cashier (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Aylmer, ON6 April 2017
Good place to work for a high school and/or college student. Flexible schedule. Easy to book time off. Friendly and helpful employees. Management is easy and willing to help you out when or if needed.
Pros
Flex schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers were not so nice
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 April 2017
it was a fun place to work just i was not fast enough at doing cash and the co workers there did not help me either so that was a downer and they always complained about me
Pros
great work place
Cons
not so nice co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace and service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON3 April 2017
I like working in a fast pace environment, with friendly coworkers. The management team is very good for your availability and schedules. You also get to learn to build rapports.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON3 April 2017
Found that if you weren't friends with Supervisor, you weren't going anywhere with the company. Also found, that at the time of my employment, no empathy for serious family situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at No Frills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 312 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5