No Frills Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace but low wage and no hours
Team member (Current Employee) –  Bradford, ON15 November 2017
Usually only get 8-10 hours and the wage is pretty low. The manager are all good. The workplace is over all fun and nice but its just I need more hours.
Pros
Close to home, Nice people
Cons
No hours, Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only worthwhile for temporary employment
Department Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 November 2017
No Frills offers the absolute minimum wage, with little to no advancement opportunities. They purposely try to keep employees as part time to avoid rewarding any sort of benefits. Zero culture. Employees were frowned upon for casual conversation.
Pros
None
Cons
Only for temporary employment at best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON9 November 2017
The original cash office management wasn’t as great as I heard of it now. Great work place, kind customers and employees. Very fast moving cash tills. Great work ethics
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Produce supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 November 2017
IT was good experience for part time student worker in canada.
Hardest part of my job to wake up early 5 am for shift.
Good part mostly employees over here was student only.
Pros
Friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work hours and fun environment to work within
Laborer (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 November 2017
it was a great place to work, very laid back and they supplied flexible work hours. The management was friendly and helpful and the other co workers were very useful.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
rude managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aa
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Aylmer, ON4 November 2017
quite easy, show up to work and begin loading and working load, once load was completed you would either begin working on displays or topping. friendly and not very competitive work environment
Pros
easy
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of employment
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB2 November 2017
Great place to work and learn how to build relationships with customers. This job has given me a great basis on how to build interpersonal relationships with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and outgoing atmosphere
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, AB1 November 2017
Very good first-time or part-time job, gives you a sense of responsibility, time management, the value of money and you get to learn how to engage with new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basically a great entry level position to store ownership
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB31 October 2017
I felt i gained alot of good experinece working in the grocery enviroment . Management was good
I basically made the culture a more relaxed place to work by proper and decisive training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 October 2017
The management isnt that great. Wasnt put into the system for almost 3 weeks and got only a weeks pay. Employees are rude. Superiors dont do anything.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everthing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no frills
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON4 October 2017
it was a good store employees are very nice. i had quit the work place to health condition. all employees where very kind to customers never had an problems with other workers
Pros
good workers
Cons
not enough shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great wor environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2017
I enjoy working with my peers and getting to know everyone better. I enjoy helping customers with any type of issue they have and connecting with others.
Pros
Able to give flexible hours
Cons
Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was overall acceptible and sometimes a fun work environment
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Shediac, NB26 September 2017
it was a good job with good hours and great employees to work with I wish that it came with more benefits but other than that great place to work would highly recommend.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not really any employee benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easy job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB15 September 2017
Working at No Frills was a fun relatively easy job, there are nice people that work there as well as nice customers. Not a very stressful job. Small place so you can get to know everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and fun work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON13 September 2017
I loved my customers and my coworkers, it was always a perfect balance of fun and focus as well as being just as friendly and comfortable with our customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Frills
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Courtice, ON12 September 2017
ive mostly work in the front end on cash. i do enjoy seeing happy customers and little children come by and shop. i do fast paste on cash because it usually gets busy at times.
Pros
happy customers
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun productive workplace
Meat clerk, Produce clerk (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB10 September 2017
I worked at meat and produce department. The people there are great to work with. I learned the most of how the system works. It's a good place to work at.
Pros
Good work
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cobourg, ON8 September 2017
Very nice and welcoming staff, amazing managers and a respectable working environment. Bosses care about their employees and their treatment from other staff and customers
Cons
starts at 8hrs a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Parry Sound, ON6 September 2017
I enjoyed working here because the management always supported their employees and sided with them no matter the issue. I felt they always took complaints and concerns very seriously and handled them well. They were always quick to address expectations and were very flexible with scheduling needs.
Pros
Union, Benefits, Simple uniforms
Cons
Corporate, not typically a long term type of job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 September 2017
I am happy I was able to experience the life of being a cashier. It wasn't easy at first but it got harder along the way. I'll always remember the good times and the bad times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at No Frills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 376 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4