Newalta Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, Great People, Good Leadership
Invoicing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 27, 2016
I enjoyed my 7.4 years at Newalta. I started in document control where I had to verify all incoming oilfield truck tickets for accuracy and then attach them into SAP for our invoicing team. The high volumes & attention to detail made me develop time management skills, internal / external customer service & important organizational skills.

My last 4 years at Newalta I was part of the invoicing team, I expanded my skills here and developed more internal / external communication, way more exposure to SAP which we used to correct invoices, enter data, update account information & roll out our invoice optimization program. I also worked alongside AR to make sure our monthly targets were being hit and any discrepancies on invoices were fixed.

This role also had me training new staff, keeping track of our KPI's, Task documentation and general administrative work.
Pros
Challenging, Rewards, Good Team, Excellent Training, Pay & Benefits were great
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  AlbertaMarch 31, 2016
Typical 8 hr day, Developed into a complete professional. Most enjoyable part of the job was every employee was valued highly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn about processes.
Oil Battery Operator (Former Employee) –  Baldonnel, BCMarch 6, 2016
At Newalta, I was exposed to every part of the processes and was involved in every process. I do not regret working there.
Pros
The opportunity to learn every operation and piece of equipment
Cons
The managment does not have time to participate in plant events. Teambuilding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment
operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 14, 2016
Good for gaining new experience. Company has a hard time keeping quality employees as there are better incentives and management elsewhere.
Pros
Entry level oil field experience
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disapointing
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABDecember 11, 2015
Very disappointing place to work, management doesn't respect their employees and do not treat them well.
They always change on you in regards to what they say and advancement is not guarantee as they say during hiring process.
Still is the lowest pay in the industry
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 3, 2015
one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen seventeen eighteen nineteen twenty twenty one twenty two twenty three twenty four.
Was this review helpful?YesNo18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, ever-changing workplace.
HR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 5, 2015
- no day is the same
- challenging work
- encouraged to step out of your comfort zone
- good people to work with
- morale is terrible with all the layoffs
- great to work with the different business units
Pros
great corporate facility, lounge, gym, benefits, salary
Cons
leadership doesn't care about people, only the bottom line, you only hear about what you haven't done, not what you have accomplished
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Agile, Well Balanced Workplace.
Invoicing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 2, 2015
Newalta was a great place to work. It was fast paced, interactive and always had you learning something new. Management was supportive and tried to make the work load as manageable as possible. I worked on a team of 8 and everyone did their part to meet month end financial goals in the invoicing department. The office was great too, it had a lounge, a gym and a large conference centre for employee functions and meetings.
Pros
great management, nice office, free gym, lounge, compensation was great
Cons
other than the lay offs, there wasn't really any cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for, good benefits.
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, ABOctober 7, 2015
great crew, good benefits, good time off between shifts,learnt a lot with the oil and gas industry. management would push us to achieve goals
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Snr Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 1, 2015
Mid cap company that requires a lot of strategic vision to move forwards. The organisation has great potential.
My most enjoyable moments was working with a highly motivated team that supported the ideals of senior management.
With the lower oil prices the company looked at reducing costs through lay-off's which caused a lot of stressful moments and lowered job morale.
Pros
Subsidized lunches, Day Care
Cons
Long hours, Stressful Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 19, 2015
The department was going through some difficult changes at the time with a 60% turn over. There were many mergers happening at the time.
I appreciated the opportunity and working with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had the opportunity to support Family
Field Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray AbMay 4, 2015
The job required long work days and 2/3 of your life spent away from home. Our shift was usually 12-14 hours per day for 2 weeks, with 6 days off.
Pros
Received a lot of training
Cons
Long periods of time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend working there
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 1, 2015
This job has a great working environment and a safe working environment. The staff are friendly and tasks are clearly communicated.
Pros
Safe, good communication, friendly staff and management
Cons
Outside work in cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Company
Sales Technical Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 29, 2015
Good Canadian Company with great products and good support. However they desired working out of state long periods of time with minimal home or family time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall impressions
Operator/Warehouse Laborer (Former Employee) –  Sussex, NBMarch 12, 2015
I didn't really like the aspect of dealing in hazardous materials on a day to day basis. It was a small place with about 10 people and they liked to talk about everyone to everyone. I didn't really enjoy the low brow humour and this started from the top on down i am no longer working there and seeking other employment opportunities
Pros
paid lunches and holidays time off and benifits
Cons
12 hour shifts switching from nights to days
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute cesspool of mismanagement and deceit
Environmental (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 12, 2015
Dimwits for managers and lot of data manipulation to make the records look good in front of the client company and the government. Highly toxic processes.
Pros
good operators
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good ethics
Process Operator/ Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Leduc, ABFebruary 6, 2015
Good company to work for, but at the moment the company is changing its policies so not sure what to look forward too. Massive cuts on budgeting to save money to do to oil dilemma.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and progressive company
Oil field - lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABDecember 16, 2014
Great oilfield experience. Knowledgeable and supportive co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing IT department
Technical Support Analyst - Acting Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 1, 2014
Growing IT department
lots of opportunity to learn
relaxed environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sussex, NBOctober 5, 2014
Great place to work if you stay away from gossip and just do your job.
Pros
salary
Cons
to much favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
2.8