Newalta Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company with decent employees
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB25 November 2016
Great company that could use some work. 100% a foot in the door company to the oilfield. Lots to learn and to excel at. Equal opportunity employer. for sure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good company
senior process operator (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB20 October 2016
is a great company good money and free education. Work life balance could be better. The manager and staff were all good people
Pros
money
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time with the company and the shift work.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Stauffer, AB28 September 2016
Some days were really busy and more people were needed. I was trained by several good guys and was able to expand my knowledge and pass it on to the many new hires over the years. Management over all was pretty easy to talk too but were a little slow getting things done at times. I worked with a lot of good guys over the years but also some useless ones. I didn't find the job overly hard due to the fact that i am a quick learner, well organized and can perform multiple tasks at once. I really enjoyed the family atmosphere with my co-workers and the shifts.
Pros
The good people and the shifts
Cons
The bad people and overly busy days.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Senior Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 September 2016
Good place to start your career in the oilfield / environmental area.
Senior co-workers willing to teach new hires.
All around good stepping stone.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in my experience
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Redwater, AB6 September 2016
I had worked for New Alta for the last 9 years, i had enjoyed my time there the company itself was not present in the day to day activities we were given duties to perform and were expected to complete them

Prior to the economic slow down they sought to keep thier operators training up to date, i was sent to numerous courses and learned alot over the years.
Pros
lots of smaller benifits ie free lunch
Cons
on call 24hrs a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, Great People, Good Leadership
Invoicing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2016
I enjoyed my 7.4 years at Newalta. I started in document control where I had to verify all incoming oilfield truck tickets for accuracy and then attach them into SAP for our invoicing team. The high volumes & attention to detail made me develop time management skills, internal / external customer service & important organizational skills.

My last 4 years at Newalta I was part of the invoicing team, I expanded my skills here and developed more internal / external communication, way more exposure to SAP which we used to correct invoices, enter data, update account information & roll out our invoice optimization program. I also worked alongside AR to make sure our monthly targets were being hit and any discrepancies on invoices were fixed.

This role also had me training new staff, keeping track of our KPI's, Task documentation and general administrative work.
Pros
Challenging, Rewards, Good Team, Excellent Training, Pay & Benefits were great
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Northern AB16 April 2016
Each day consisted of building and retaining solid long term customer relationships. I learned throughout my 10year sales career that this is the foundation in building long term success.

Immediate management was a pleasure to work with. My co- workers and I fed off one another to achieve the great success we enjoyed. I enjoyed the freedom and independence to establish and maintain accounts at my discretion.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Alberta31 March 2016
Typical 8 hr day, Developed into a complete professional. Most enjoyable part of the job was every employee was valued highly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn about processes.
Oil Battery Operator (Former Employee) –  Baldonnel, BC6 March 2016
At Newalta, I was exposed to every part of the processes and was involved in every process. I do not regret working there.
Pros
The opportunity to learn every operation and piece of equipment
Cons
The managment does not have time to participate in plant events. Teambuilding.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment
operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 January 2016
Good for gaining new experience. Company has a hard time keeping quality employees as there are better incentives and management elsewhere.
Pros
Entry level oil field experience
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disapointing
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 December 2015
Very disappointing place to work, management doesn't respect their employees and do not treat them well.
They always change on you in regards to what they say and advancement is not guarantee as they say during hiring process.
Still is the lowest pay in the industry
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 December 2015
one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen seventeen eighteen nineteen twenty twenty one twenty two twenty three twenty four.
Was this review helpful?YesNo22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, ever-changing workplace.
HR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 November 2015
- no day is the same
- challenging work
- encouraged to step out of your comfort zone
- good people to work with
- morale is terrible with all the layoffs
- great to work with the different business units
Pros
great corporate facility, lounge, gym, benefits, salary
Cons
leadership doesn't care about people, only the bottom line, you only hear about what you haven't done, not what you have accomplished
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Agile, Well Balanced Workplace.
Invoicing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 November 2015
Newalta was a great place to work. It was fast paced, interactive and always had you learning something new. Management was supportive and tried to make the work load as manageable as possible. I worked on a team of 8 and everyone did their part to meet month end financial goals in the invoicing department. The office was great too, it had a lounge, a gym and a large conference centre for employee functions and meetings.
Pros
great management, nice office, free gym, lounge, compensation was great
Cons
other than the lay offs, there wasn't really any cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for, good benefits.
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB7 October 2015
great crew, good benefits, good time off between shifts,learnt a lot with the oil and gas industry. management would push us to achieve goals
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Snr Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 October 2015
Mid cap company that requires a lot of strategic vision to move forwards. The organisation has great potential.
My most enjoyable moments was working with a highly motivated team that supported the ideals of senior management.
With the lower oil prices the company looked at reducing costs through lay-off's which caused a lot of stressful moments and lowered job morale.
Pros
Subsidized lunches, Day Care
Cons
Long hours, Stressful Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2015
The department was going through some difficult changes at the time with a 60% turn over. There were many mergers happening at the time.
I appreciated the opportunity and working with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had the opportunity to support Family
Field Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray Ab4 May 2015
The job required long work days and 2/3 of your life spent away from home. Our shift was usually 12-14 hours per day for 2 weeks, with 6 days off.
Pros
Received a lot of training
Cons
Long periods of time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend working there
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 May 2015
This job has a great working environment and a safe working environment. The staff are friendly and tasks are clearly communicated.
Pros
Safe, good communication, friendly staff and management
Cons
Outside work in cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Company
Sales Technical Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 April 2015
Good Canadian Company with great products and good support. However they desired working out of state long periods of time with minimal home or family time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0