Newalta Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great company.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 June 2017
Sad to see the decline of a once great company. New culture in organization places no value on employees knowledge or experience. It views employees only as a cost and not a resource to generate value.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place very safety minded
Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  Sussex, NB10 April 2017
Newalta now Terrapure is a forward thinking company totally committed to the safety and wellbeing of its empoyes and also the environment. Newly revamped as Treasure the company appears to be moving in the right direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed advancement
Operator (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC9 September 2016
By allowing advancement I was eager and learned to operate numerous pieces of equipment and was able to multitask with my abilities .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this company
finance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2016
The best company I have ever worked for. Generous management. Takes time to get a decision, but it's a matter of time. Very supportive of its employees, at least it used to be before oil tumbled.
Pros
Corporate culture was top notch
Cons
Long hours sometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large top heavy company with the possibility to one day be a positive work place.
Centrifuge Technician (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB22 October 2015
My several years spent with Newalta Corporation were positive overall. During the last two years spent with the company I had been around for 3 changes of middle-upper management which made career progression and work place organization quite difficult.
Pros
Large corporation with excellent pay and benefits.
Cons
Lack of communication among the masses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and fast paced
Accounts Payable Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2015
Great company to work for. Enjoyed the Payables Team and made life long friends. Fun department as holidays were taken to the next level by decorating the area (Christmas, Halloween my top favorite). The group brought a new meaning to "Team" players. No matter what the issue, everyone pitched in to complete tasks.
Pros
Gym
Cons
Having to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 September 2015
Great people and overall good place to work. The benefits and vacation time allow for good overall work-life balance. There have been many recent changes with the economy as in most Alberta based companies.
Pros
People, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newalta
Student Operator (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley8 September 2015
I learn how to Operated a Centrifuge, loved working here on my work term. Everyone with the company was great. Loved being given the freedom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the summer
OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  calgary8 July 2015
Great job for the summer this job I enjoyed so much because my dream is to be a heavy equipment operator so I loved it but it was in Saskatchewan and it was seasonal and I eventually moved back to where my family is which is Alberta
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completing Business Administration in July 2015
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Red Earth Creek, AB24 May 2015
After twenty years of being out of school, returning has been both a challenge and a gratifying experience. Receiving honors has been the highlight and proof that hard work does pay off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filtration Division
Operator (Former Employee) –  rocky mountain house AB30 March 2015
Strong management and good organization Manager is well organized and is a great team player and would work for him anytime. if the work load picked up in the division i would love to go back and work for this divisionto grow with newalta and wish I have never transfered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work that prides itself on safety.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stettler, AB16 February 2015
Newalta is a company that takes safety very seriously and is always teaching and updating it's employees with online learning programs. They are an oilfield waste company that strives for Customer Service.
Pros
Company benefits, share programs
Cons
Moral conflict with Branch Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processing of oilfield and industrial
Plant Operator/ Decanter Operator (Former Employee) –  Redwater, Alberta31 January 2015
Although challenging, I was always busy which made the days go by faster. Everyday there was a new challenge to face which kept things exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivating workplace, with excellent opportunity for work life balance
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB & Brossard Quebec26 January 2015
Service operational customers
Help in analysing cost effective operational techniques
Minimize ageing reports
Develop mode reporting to analyse each line of business
Preparation and analysis of Balance sheet accounts
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Commute from Montreal Island to Brossard
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sr SAP BI Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 August 2014
Over all the company is good. work culture is not that great. Management is pathetic.

Learning Curve is good.
Pros
Learning Curve is good
Cons
Management is Pathetic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Opportunities limited
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 August 2014
The salary at newalta is above average and the benifits are great. However, professional growth opportunities are limited if none existance. People are typically picked for job advance as there is no system to apply for job openings. These people typically are part of the "buddy buddy" system or yes men that will do what is told rather than what is right to get a job completed in a safe manner.
Pros
benifits, salary
Cons
no growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance Department
Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 July 2014
I was not with Newalta very long as they had purchased Treeline Environmental
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with good Work/life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta2 June 2014
Great Culture and opportunities for advancement.
The company is a mid size company with growth potential
Pros
Company lounge for breakfast and Lunch. Gym and daycare on location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing and Learning
IT Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2014
I joined this company where the technology and staff needed direction. It was a pleasure helping people develop their skills and they have since turned these into careers.

Developing a strategy for their IT projects helped save cost and stabilize the environment adding to less stress on the staff and making the environment more fun to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for clients and the employees.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB10 March 2014
One of the best service company.
Nice coworkers.
professionals environment.
Pros
Good benefits.
Cons
Travel time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Newalta Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3