Newalta Corporation Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this company
finance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 11, 2016
The best company I have ever worked for. Generous management. Takes time to get a decision, but it's a matter of time. Very supportive of its employees, at least it used to be before oil tumbled.
Pros
Corporate culture was top notch
Cons
Long hours sometime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and fast paced
Accounts Payable Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 7, 2015
Great company to work for. Enjoyed the Payables Team and made life long friends. Fun department as holidays were taken to the next level by decorating the area (Christmas, Halloween my top favorite). The group brought a new meaning to "Team" players. No matter what the issue, everyone pitched in to complete tasks.
Pros
Gym
Cons
Having to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 10, 2015
Great people and overall good place to work. The benefits and vacation time allow for good overall work-life balance. There have been many recent changes with the economy as in most Alberta based companies.
Pros
People, culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newalta
Student Operator (Former Employee) –  Drayton ValleySeptember 8, 2015
I learn how to Operated a Centrifuge, loved working here on my work term. Everyone with the company was great. Loved being given the freedom.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the summer
OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  calgaryJuly 8, 2015
Great job for the summer this job I enjoyed so much because my dream is to be a heavy equipment operator so I loved it but it was in Saskatchewan and it was seasonal and I eventually moved back to where my family is which is Alberta
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completing Business Administration in July 2015
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Red Earth Creek, ABMay 24, 2015
After twenty years of being out of school, returning has been both a challenge and a gratifying experience. Receiving honors has been the highlight and proof that hard work does pay off.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filtration Division
Operator (Former Employee) –  rocky mountain house ABMarch 30, 2015
Strong management and good organization Manager is well organized and is a great team player and would work for him anytime. if the work load picked up in the division i would love to go back and work for this divisionto grow with newalta and wish I have never transfered.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work that prides itself on safety.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stettler, ABFebruary 16, 2015
Newalta is a company that takes safety very seriously and is always teaching and updating it's employees with online learning programs. They are an oilfield waste company that strives for Customer Service.
Pros
company benefits, share programs
Cons
moral conflict with branch manager
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processing of oilfield and industrial
Plant Operator/ Decanter Operator (Former Employee) –  Redwater, AlbertaJanuary 31, 2015
Although challenging, I was always busy which made the days go by faster. Everyday there was a new challenge to face which kept things exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivating workplace, with excellent opportunity for work life balance
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB & Brossard QuebecJanuary 26, 2015
Service operational customers
Help in analysing cost effective operational techniques
Minimize ageing reports
Develop mode reporting to analyse each line of business
Preparation and analysis of Balance sheet accounts
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
commute from montreal island to brossard
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sr SAP BI Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 23, 2014
Over all the company is good. work culture is not that great. Management is pathetic.

Learning Curve is good.
Pros
learning curve is good
Cons
management is pathetic
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Opportunities limited
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 6, 2014
The salary at newalta is above average and the benifits are great. However, professional growth opportunities are limited if none existance. People are typically picked for job advance as there is no system to apply for job openings. These people typically are part of the "buddy buddy" system or yes men that will do what is told rather than what is right to get a job completed in a safe manner.
Pros
benifits, salary
Cons
no growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance Department
Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 7, 2014
I was not with Newalta very long as they had purchased Treeline Environmental
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with good Work/life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AlbertaJune 2, 2014
Great Culture and opportunities for advancement.
The company is a mid size company with growth potential
Pros
company lounge for breakfast and lunch. gym and daycare on location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing and Learning
IT Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2014
I joined this company where the technology and staff needed direction. It was a pleasure helping people develop their skills and they have since turned these into careers.

Developing a strategy for their IT projects helped save cost and stabilize the environment adding to less stress on the staff and making the environment more fun to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for clients and the employees.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Leduc, ABMarch 10, 2014
One of the best service company.
Nice coworkers.
professionals environment.
Pros
good benefits.
Cons
travel time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer Service Administrator (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AlbertaFebruary 12, 2014
A typical day of work would include:

-Entering truck tickets from surrounding Newalta (oilfield) facilitites into SAP software.
-Once tickets are entered into SAP, they are entered into ADP software.

-Sendingout daily load reports to customers. As well as constant contact with numerous customers

-Scanning, faxing, photocopying and filing

-I maintained great relationships with co-workers

-I gained alot of experience working for Newalta. Mostly a side of the oil and gas industy that I wasnt very educated about prior. I learned how to use SAP & ADP software and became very knowledgable in those areas.
Pros
very good work environment
Cons
contract position. low pay & no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience with working oil field
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  CENOVUS FOSTER CREEK.ABOctober 27, 2013
Company going good and so much fun with job task,
Newalta progress in good and good for new oil and gas field entry level.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great co-workers
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  CalgaryAugust 27, 2013
It was very hard to leave Newalta. The reason I left was because I wanted to get certain courses done faster to finish my degree faster. I really enjoyed working here.
Pros
good working environment; team based
Cons
job security; firing people for no particular reason
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 26, 2013
Newalta is a great positive place to work and they treat all employees well.

Lots of room to grow as they are a growing company.

They provide excellent to training to all positions and encourage you take additional training to grow within your career.
Pros
benefits from day one!
Cons
not enough holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture