Newalta Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this company
finance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2016
The best company I have ever worked for. Generous management. Takes time to get a decision, but it's a matter of time. Very supportive of its employees, at least it used to be before oil tumbled.
Pros
Corporate culture was top notch
Cons
Long hours sometime
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large top heavy company with the possibility to one day be a positive work place.
Centrifuge Technician (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB22 October 2015
My several years spent with Newalta Corporation were positive overall. During the last two years spent with the company I had been around for 3 changes of middle-upper management which made career progression and work place organization quite difficult.
Pros
Large corporation with excellent pay and benefits.
Cons
Lack of communication among the masses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 September 2015
Great people and overall good place to work. The benefits and vacation time allow for good overall work-life balance. There have been many recent changes with the economy as in most Alberta based companies.
Pros
People, culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 July 2013
Newalta is a great positive place to work and they treat all employees well.

Lots of room to grow as they are a growing company.

They provide excellent to training to all positions and encourage you take additional training to grow within your career.
Pros
Benefits from day one!
Cons
Not enough holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with good Work/life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta2 June 2014
Great Culture and opportunities for advancement.
The company is a mid size company with growth potential
Pros
Company lounge for breakfast and Lunch. Gym and daycare on location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer Service Administrator (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, Alberta12 February 2014
A typical day of work would include:

-Entering truck tickets from surrounding Newalta (oilfield) facilitites into SAP software.
-Once tickets are entered into SAP, they are entered into ADP software.

-Sendingout daily load reports to customers. As well as constant contact with numerous customers

-Scanning, faxing, photocopying and filing

-I maintained great relationships with co-workers

-I gained alot of experience working for Newalta. Mostly a side of the oil and gas industy that I wasnt very educated about prior. I learned how to use SAP & ADP software and became very knowledgable in those areas.
Pros
Very good work environment
Cons
Contract position. Low pay & no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits offset poor culture
Director (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 May 2013
They pay quite reasonably likely due to the need to offset a poor top down run culture. Management still tries to run the company as if it is a small start up and organization has outgrown this management style
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Opportunities limited
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 August 2014
The salary at newalta is above average and the benifits are great. However, professional growth opportunities are limited if none existance. People are typically picked for job advance as there is no system to apply for job openings. These people typically are part of the "buddy buddy" system or yes men that will do what is told rather than what is right to get a job completed in a safe manner.
Pros
benifits, salary
Cons
no growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sr SAP BI Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 August 2014
Over all the company is good. work culture is not that great. Management is pathetic.

Learning Curve is good.
Pros
Learning Curve is good
Cons
Management is Pathetic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work that prides itself on safety.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stettler, AB16 February 2015
Newalta is a company that takes safety very seriously and is always teaching and updating it's employees with online learning programs. They are an oilfield waste company that strives for Customer Service.
Pros
Company benefits, share programs
Cons
Moral conflict with Branch Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and fast paced
Accounts Payable Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2015
Great company to work for. Enjoyed the Payables Team and made life long friends. Fun department as holidays were taken to the next level by decorating the area (Christmas, Halloween my top favorite). The group brought a new meaning to "Team" players. No matter what the issue, everyone pitched in to complete tasks.
Pros
Gym
Cons
Having to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filtration Division
Operator (Former Employee) –  rocky mountain house AB30 March 2015
Strong management and good organization Manager is well organized and is a great team player and would work for him anytime. if the work load picked up in the division i would love to go back and work for this divisionto grow with newalta and wish I have never transfered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing and Learning
IT Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2014
I joined this company where the technology and staff needed direction. It was a pleasure helping people develop their skills and they have since turned these into careers.

Developing a strategy for their IT projects helped save cost and stabilize the environment adding to less stress on the staff and making the environment more fun to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great co-workers
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary27 August 2013
It was very hard to leave Newalta. The reason I left was because I wanted to get certain courses done faster to finish my degree faster. I really enjoyed working here.
Pros
Good working environment; team based
Cons
Job security; firing people for no particular reason
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for clients and the employees.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB10 March 2014
One of the best service company.
Nice coworkers.
professionals environment.
Pros
Good benefits.
Cons
Travel time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing culture creating challenges for long time employees
Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ontario Region3 April 2012
Good overall company, which seeks new employees with strong political acumen. Looking to build an employee base with those that can provide exemplary leadership.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
significant demands
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very motivated to work at Newalta and proud of my job. I only quit this job because I had to move to another province.
Facility Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 February 2013
A typical day at work was enjoyable, I learned how to handle difficult situation, I also learned to fix problems before my manager finds out.
My manager was happy and nice with me about my job.
The hardest part of the job was when I am doing inventory of cleaning supplies and equipment, and after I still have to clean where the plumber just finish to work.
The most enjoyable part of the job, was my manager invite me for coffee, and she said the customer are happy about my job.
Pros
coffee and cake
Cons
6 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging place to work.
Lead Project & Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2012
The comapny is good and respect employee opinions. I enjoyed working at Newalta.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours due to extensive travel to 42 facilities across ab, sk, bc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newalta
Student Operator (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley8 September 2015
I learn how to Operated a Centrifuge, loved working here on my work term. Everyone with the company was great. Loved being given the freedom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the summer
OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  calgary8 July 2015
Great job for the summer this job I enjoyed so much because my dream is to be a heavy equipment operator so I loved it but it was in Saskatchewan and it was seasonal and I eventually moved back to where my family is which is Alberta
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3