Find companies:
Newalta Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Newalta Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with good Work/life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, AlbertaJune 2, 2014
Pros: company lounge for breakfast and lunch. gym and daycare on location
Great Culture and opportunities for advancement.
The company is a mid size company with growth potential
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing and Learning
IT Advisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2014
I joined this company where the technology and staff needed direction. It was a pleasure helping people develop their skills and they have since turned these into careers.

Developing a strategy for their IT projects helped save cost and stabilize the environment adding to less stress on the staff and making the environment more fun to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for clients and the employees.
Operator (Former Employee), Leduc, ABMarch 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits.
Cons: travel time.
One of the best service company.
Nice coworkers.
professionals environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer Service Administrator (Current Employee), Red Deer, AlbertaFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: very good work environment
Cons: contract position. low pay & no benefits
A typical day of work would include:

-Entering truck tickets from surrounding Newalta (oilfield) facilitites into SAP software.
-Once tickets are entered into SAP, they are entered into ADP software.

-Sendingout daily load reports to customers. As well as constant contact with numerous customers

-Scanning, faxing, photocopying and filing

-I maintained – more... great relationships with co-workers

-I gained alot of experience working for Newalta. Mostly a side of the oil and gas industy that I wasnt very educated about prior. I learned how to use SAP & ADP software and became very knowledgable in those areas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company, easily plateaued
Operator/Site Lead Hand (Current Employee), Rocky moutain houseNovember 20, 2013
Pros: great salary
Cons: never home
Changing filters for gas plants and disposal wells, filtering water for pigging units, if you can pour it they can filter it. learned a lot about pipe fitting and how to run a crew. The hardest part of the job is long hours and very little time at home. Best part is the bond you get with other co workers due to how much time you spend with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience with working oil field
Process Operator (Current Employee), CENOVUS FOSTER CREEK.ABOctober 27, 2013
Company going good and so much fun with job task,
Newalta progress in good and good for new oil and gas field entry level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great co-workers
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee), CalgaryAugust 27, 2013
Pros: good working environment; team based
Cons: job security; firing people for no particular reason
It was very hard to leave Newalta. The reason I left was because I wanted to get certain courses done faster to finish my degree faster. I really enjoyed working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 26, 2013
Pros: benefits from day one!
Cons: not enough holidays.
Newalta is a great positive place to work and they treat all employees well.

Lots of room to grow as they are a growing company.

They provide excellent to training to all positions and encourage you take additional training to grow within your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits offset poor culture
Director (Former Employee), Burlington, ONMay 8, 2013
They pay quite reasonably likely due to the need to offset a poor top down run culture. Management still tries to run the company as if it is a small start up and organization has outgrown this management style
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very motivated to work at Newalta and proud of my job. I only quit this job because I had to move to another province.
Facility Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: coffee and cake
Cons: 6 hours
A typical day at work was enjoyable, I learned how to handle difficult situation, I also learned to fix problems before my manager finds out.
My manager was happy and nice with me about my job.
The hardest part of the job was when I am doing inventory of cleaning supplies and equipment, and after I still have to clean where the plumber just finish to – more... work.
The most enjoyable part of the job, was my manager invite me for coffee, and she said the customer are happy about my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging place to work.
Lead Project & Process Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 18, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours due to extensive travel to 42 facilities across ab, sk, bc
The comapny is good and respect employee opinions. I enjoyed working at Newalta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing culture creating challenges for long time employees
Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee), Ontario RegionApril 3, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: significant demands
Good overall company, which seeks new employees with strong political acumen. Looking to build an employee base with those that can provide exemplary leadership.