New York Fries Employee Reviews

Found 88 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity
Full time Cashier/Team member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2017
I worked less than a year in New York Fries and I have learned so much from being a cashier, to fryer and providing excellent costumer service. My coworkers were always helpful and encouraging. I love working at New York Fries because not only I improved my skills this job also helped me saved money to pay off OSAP.
Pros
Manager was really nice and very professional on top of that I can get to bring home free food
Cons
I did not get enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON21 February 2017
Loved this job!!! Enjoyed the environment and the people I worked with. Friendly environment and fast paced it's just a really layer back place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start your employment experience
Franchise Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 February 2017
I look back on my time as a New York Fries manager with fond memories. I learned a lot skills that have helped me to further my career throughout the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON2 February 2017
The job itself is not the greatest. It is a good job for a teenager who needs a good starter job. Management is not fair towards they're employees. Hours are okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC24 January 2017
Managers were terrible at their jobs. When I had cleaned the whole back room, and needed more tasks, they simply said clean it again. Busy work instead of an actual job, unsafe work environment, and they hire teenagers and younger people in an attempt to exploit them. DO NOT WORK HERE!
Pros
no pros, you don't even get free food
Cons
everything about this job is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York Fries
Cashier, Cook (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON8 January 2017
Summers are extremely busy and hectic. Poor management. Co-workers are great. Worked long shifts (sometimes 14 hours).
Pros
Discount meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work place
Cashier/Fry Chief (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON7 January 2017
A typical day at work included handling cash and serving food in a timely manner with a smile on my face. Working at New York Fries taught me how to be a leader from my times training new staff members the day to day routines of how to open and close the store and handle food safely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent foods job with iffy management.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 January 2017
Great place for a part-time or beginning job.
Most staff between high school and early university aged.
Managers between all KW stores are good friends, so that is the only way to become one.
Pros
Great start up job
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management role
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 December 2016
started here when i was young, learned a lot from the managers and staff along the way. opened up my first store and was able to teach and train the staff the way i was trained
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 December 2016
Productive and fun workplace.
Supportive and encouraging management
Pay on time
Management was initially stellar in developing my skill set.
Provides good work experience that will be useful in the future
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working at this place.
Food Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 December 2016
Owner and co-workers are very nice to work with. Its easy to request for schedules. Hardest part of the job is the heavy lifting and the most enjoyable part is the camaraderie amongst co workers.
Pros
Fun place to work because of nice co-workers
Cons
Need to lift 50 lb boxes and heavy fryer baskets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly management
Counterperson (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 November 2016
Enjoyed working here! Management was very friendly and customers were very pleasant. This was one of my first counter person jobs. The most enjoyable part was that I made friends here, without it affecting our work ethic.
Pros
Friendly Management
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fast pace
Fry Cook (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON19 November 2016
Great company, great co-workers and a decent place to make a living with a nice discount on your food each day which is pretty great.
Pros
discount on food
Cons
Got fired for no specific reason.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Food preparation and customer service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 November 2016
Awesome people
Great boss
Amazing owner
Okay job
Repetitive work
Lots of grease
Tasty food
Rude customers
Weird mall
Interesting views
Pros
50% off, mall discount
Cons
Rude people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small working enviroment
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 October 2016
minimal managerial influence on the store from the higher ups. constant changes to the store that, on paper, make sense but in practice, did not work and the higher managers never understood that.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience with the staff
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS1 October 2016
The managee teach me a lot of communication skill and tips of work.
It is a such good time to work with the manager and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional New Owners
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC23 August 2016
Very dirty and unprofessional management. Things were never fixed or replaced. Co-workers were usually wonderful. The job itself is pretty basic and great for entry level front liners.
Pros
Free Small Fry
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice musical environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC17 August 2016
morning:pre-prepared fries,hot-dog,sauces and condiment
lunch time:greet customer take their order and prepared them
close:clean station, change oil and do the daily deposit.
management was good not the best marketing but at least they were new promotion every 2 month and came with optimist working video
co-worker were lazy when I was not there but as soon as I put my favorite 70's music productivity was highly increasing.
The hardest part was cleaning the fryer since it need to stay really hot but what was enjoyable is the cut fries competition 50 lbs of potatoes cut in 2 minute was fun.
Pros
free lunche
Cons
salary is very low
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diverse workplace, but faced a lot of favoritism
Restaurant Assistant (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 July 2016
Working at New York Fries was very beneficial for my employability skills. I enjoyed working with most of my coworkers because they were productive and taught me a lot about how to become a great server. I did however choose to resign due to the lack of equality within the workplace.
Pros
Great opportunity to expand my eployability skills
Cons
No equality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging job that will help your grow.
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 June 2016
New York Fries is one of the more demanding quick service restaurants for the individual. You are expected to work all aspects of the store (Cooking, cleaning cash handling etc.). This allows the individual to really hone on their multitasking skills and their ability to adapt. The company prides itself in customer care and cleanliness as well, which helps the workers learn to be more detailed oriented. This company has taught me a lot about the industry and would be beneficial to anyone who works there.
Pros
Flexible General Manager
Cons
High turnover can lead to long stressful days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 95 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5