New York Fries Employee Reviews

Found 97 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Key-holder/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 June 2017
At New York Fries, the management was okay. I would only get about two shifts a week and when I first started I was making $10.50, five cents under minimum wage.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Terrible Ownership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Fast Food Worker (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON27 May 2017
- worked hard
- learned customer service skills
- management was great
-the hardest part was keeping up with the fries
- I loved the people there and the environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job
Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2017
Fast paced job
always have to look happy for costumer to see
always look approachable
have to make sure to time the fries when cooking
properly clean the store
Pros
mall discount
Cons
very short hours like 4-6 and once a week schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2017
I never knew what my schedule was. It was really stressful. Management would change my schedule behind my back and i would get angry phone calls, asking me why i didn't show up to work.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
no free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good 1st time job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON1 May 2017
very very easy and simple. great for teens. heavy lifting is involved to lift potatoes. the hardest part is cutting potatoes but its easy after awhile. id for sure apply again. very fun and very easy to learn.
Pros
discount is 50% off
Cons
heavy liftng
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, laid back, mindless work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON23 April 2017
With a small menu and the small scale of the stores usually there is not very much to do so this job can be great if you are in high school or college and looking for some money on the side. It is the type of job that you go and work and never have to think about it outside of the job. The staff and management are good and it is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but sometimes draining
Front liner (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON16 April 2017
During the time I worked at New York Fries I had met some nice people who I enjoyed working with but there were some negative things about working there. When I had first started I was in training, obviously, their training was pretty good and it covered everything you had to do in a few weeks. I had good hours and I enjoyed working there. But after a couple months it started to emotionally drain me. There were some negative people in the workplace and it effected the way I would work. Majority of the people who worked there were very kind and enjoyable people. It was a decent first job and I'm glad I had the opportunity to work there. I had to resign due to me needing a job closer to home.
Pros
good hours
Cons
negative people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new york fries
cashier.cook (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON8 April 2017
it would be a really good place to work if the work team was put together properly and logically. the team members working when i worked just didnt mesh well together at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity
Full time Cashier/Team member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2017
I worked less than a year in New York Fries and I have learned so much from being a cashier, to fryer and providing excellent costumer service. My coworkers were always helpful and encouraging. I love working at New York Fries because not only I improved my skills this job also helped me saved money to pay off OSAP.
Pros
Manager was really nice and very professional on top of that I can get to bring home free food
Cons
I did not get enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON21 February 2017
Loved this job!!! Enjoyed the environment and the people I worked with. Friendly environment and fast paced it's just a really layer back place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about New York Fries?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start your employment experience
Franchise Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 February 2017
I look back on my time as a New York Fries manager with fond memories. I learned a lot skills that have helped me to further my career throughout the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON2 February 2017
The job itself is not the greatest. It is a good job for a teenager who needs a good starter job. Management is not fair towards they're employees. Hours are okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC24 January 2017
Managers were terrible at their jobs. When I had cleaned the whole back room, and needed more tasks, they simply said clean it again. Busy work instead of an actual job, unsafe work environment, and they hire teenagers and younger people in an attempt to exploit them. DO NOT WORK HERE!
Pros
no pros, you don't even get free food
Cons
everything about this job is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York Fries
Cashier, Cook (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON8 January 2017
Summers are extremely busy and hectic. Poor management. Co-workers are great. Worked long shifts (sometimes 14 hours).
Pros
Discount meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work place
Cashier/Fry Chief (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON7 January 2017
A typical day at work included handling cash and serving food in a timely manner with a smile on my face. Working at New York Fries taught me how to be a leader from my times training new staff members the day to day routines of how to open and close the store and handle food safely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent foods job with iffy management.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 January 2017
Great place for a part-time or beginning job.
Most staff between high school and early university aged.
Managers between all KW stores are good friends, so that is the only way to become one.
Pros
Great start up job
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management role
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 December 2016
started here when i was young, learned a lot from the managers and staff along the way. opened up my first store and was able to teach and train the staff the way i was trained
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 December 2016
Productive and fun workplace.
Supportive and encouraging management
Pay on time
Management was initially stellar in developing my skill set.
Provides good work experience that will be useful in the future
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working at this place.
Food Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 December 2016
Owner and co-workers are very nice to work with. Its easy to request for schedules. Hardest part of the job is the heavy lifting and the most enjoyable part is the camaraderie amongst co workers.
Pros
Fun place to work because of nice co-workers
Cons
Need to lift 50 lb boxes and heavy fryer baskets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly management
Counterperson (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 November 2016
Enjoyed working here! Management was very friendly and customers were very pleasant. This was one of my first counter person jobs. The most enjoyable part was that I made friends here, without it affecting our work ethic.
Pros
Friendly Management
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York Fries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5