Find companies:
New Balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

New Balance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 4, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
I Prepared day-to-day operations including Process payroll. I was responsible for Training Sales Associates on the Techniques and the operational side of the Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fun atmosphere that helps people find the right pair of shoes for their overall health goals and needs.
Retail Sales (Current Employee), Rockwall, TXJuly 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches, laid back, fun atmosphere
Cons: pay, hours, can't take holidays/weekends off, not utilizing my level of education
A typical day at work is from 10am-7pm. Each morning starts out by opening the store and making sure everything is clean, presentable and up and running. Whenever someone enters the store, I like to treat them as if they were my best friend by making sure they get the proper pair of shoes and putting them through the entire foot analysis process. I – more... will start out by learning the purpose of buying the shoes, ask if they have any pain or health issues and then I size their feet using a measuring device. Next, I watch the customer walk to determine if he/she needs a stability shoe or a neutral cushioning shoe. The customer finishes the foot analysis by stepping on a device that projects exactly where they place all the pressure on their feet and provides orthotics and arch support recommendations. Lastly, the client tries on several pairs of shoes that I believe will benefit their needs and goals and has the final "say-so" in what shoe they would like to take home.

Through working with New Balance, I have learned much about retail and the importance of fitting someone in the right pair of shoes. I have come to understand the benefits of being thorough and going through the outlined processes in order to achieve a sale.

I am extremely grateful to have such great management. Both my manager and assistant manager truly care for their employees and work extremely hard as well. They set great examples on what it means to be a leader and the importance of knowing all the products. I enjoy working with my coworkers. We make a great team and often encourage each other and even help each other out when we need assistance or when they see that one of us is struggling.

The hardest part of my job is the pay that I receive as well as the hours. I have a bachelor's degree as well as working on my master's degree and working for New Balance doesn't truly allow me to utilize my education. I make $10 an hour and am looking to make a salary that meets the goals set for my family and the hours to spend quality time with my family. The most enjoyable part of my job is having a customer coming back to the store thanking us for our help and sharing their stories about how their back or feet no longer hurt because they were put in the right shoes. I also enjoy getting to meet so many different people and helping them find what they want and need so that they can leave happy with their purchases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish I still worked there
Windows Support Consultant - Contractor (Former Employee), Brighton, MAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great work environment and team, encouraged to learn.
Cons: it was a contract and had to end.
Like my last review, please don't take the 1 star ratings in to account because it was also a contract.

I really wished I still worked at New Balance. But because it was a contract, that could not be the case. The team was very helpful informative, along side management. My understanding of IT only grew and expanded working for them. They let me work – more... with them and independently, allowing me to strengthen my skills. I was exposed to many different things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: location
didn't learn much but the people where wonderful. It is a good position if you are looking to gain skills on a franchise level. However, moving up isn't easy because position are stagnant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Manager Hid Out In His Office
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 8, 2014
Pros: product
Cons: management, owners, pay
I worked in the Overland Park location. The "general manager" had no retail experience and hid out in his office and foisted all conflict management off on his associates. It was a mess! It was family owned and they were tyrants. The son, who was the heir apparent was a doofus. I fell and broke my foot, elbow, and injured my shoulder. I came in and – more... opened the store the next day. I didn't miss a day until I had to have surgery on my shoulder. Yet they treated me like dirt. A REALLY nice group of people!!! For the record, this the Brown Shoe Company out of Washington, MO. They have several stores in St Louis and the store in Overland Park, Ks. BEWARE!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Sales rep (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCJune 10, 2014
Pros: shoe discount
Cons: pretty much everything else
If your looking to stock up on cheap shoes and work for $10/hr with no professional advancement, this is your job. Management does a poor job of formally communicating with employees. For example; seasonal employees were not informed of their last day until they heard through the grapevine on that day that it would be their last. Managers are not accountable – more... for anything. Inconsistent hours. Hard work is not rewarded, but buddying up with managers is, even if you do a less than average job around the store. Very youthful which is not a bad thing but some employees are disrespectful, rude and unprofessional. You can find a better place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad environment, bad management
cashier, sales associate (Former Employee), destinApril 8, 2014
Pros: benefits and learned a lot. good place to start in retail
Cons: not enough employees per shift. bad management, pay and hours
The pay was low and the hours are horrible. Management shows favoritism and doesn't give enough hours even though they guarantee you a certain amount, you dont get them. Management is inconsistent with what they want from you. If you don't suck up to them you won't get anywhere. The other employees are mostly younger and full of drama.management tells – more... you one thing in your interview but once they hire you they change what they said. Upper management doesn't care about anything unless you play their game. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Temporary Picker (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAFebruary 20, 2014
If you like walking this is the place to be great place to work great people safe workplace
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PRODUCTIVE
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: great growing company
Cons: low hours
GREAT COMPANY, GOOD BUISNESS, LEARNED SUPERVISOR SKILLS, AND DUTIES, ALSO RECEIVED A BONUS EVERY MONTH.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Account Specialist (Current Employee), Brighton, MAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: growth opportunities. training. free product, training. mentor program
I have enjoyed working at this company. Management Team is very inspirational.

Great environment and people to work with. Motivated employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a nice start to get into retail part of the business
Associate (Current Employee), Williamsburg, VAJanuary 7, 2014
I enjoy working there and getting to help people in another way besides managing a restaurant.
I am looking forward to moving my skill set into the retail industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Management (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 26, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything except for the bennifits
I thought this would be a great company. Management is terrible. Advancement doesn't exist unless you kiss a lot. Benefits are good. The only advice I can give is, if your normal and want to move up the ladder this job isn't for you. If you like to kiss a lot, you'll do great and go a little higher than the normal people who don't kiss it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GANovember 5, 2013
As a sales associate at New Balance, I learned a lot about selling a quality product. With a company that has been competing in an industry that has been dominated by Nike, Reebok, and Adidas, they have found their niches within the shoe industry. One was standing behind their product which about 40% of their shoes are still created here within the – more... United States. Another was offering shoes not only in sizes that were hard to find in your typical store, but also offering those shoes in a great range of widths. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company to work for
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), El Pasom TxOctober 25, 2013
Pros: far commute
Cons: great atmosphere
Excellent company, learned so much about every day retail. The Corporate team did a great job in coaching and developing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Workplace with a chance to learn
Sales Associate (Current Employee), CentraliaOctober 1, 2013
Pros: good pay, garaunteed hours, great co-workers
Cons: immature sales leads and assistant management
Typically I spend my day with costumers, I usually start with greeting them at the door and assisting them until they are satisfied and walking out. I have learned so much about shoe technology in this store in a short amount of time. The management is well rounded but they are all fairly new to the company so things don't run as smoothly as they should. – more... My co-workers are all fantastic. We opened a new store and learned everything at the same time so we tend to work together to solve most questions or problems that we have. The hardest part of the job is knowing what is different about every single shoe and recommending the right shoe for the right person. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people I work with and being commented on how good of a sales person I am. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful and easy to interact with customers and employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Canton, OHSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: 30% discount of store items.
Cons: not enough scheduled working hours.
A typical day at work would be serving customers as they come into the store, also while there are no customers in the store employees will do their best to male the store look presentable. I learned how to do foot measurements both length and width. I learned how to do foot analysis for foot arches and pressure points. The management was professional. – more... The co-workers made for a good team environment. The hardest part of the job was waiting for customers to enter into the store. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting and working with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work in
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), new york nyAugust 15, 2013
Pros: pay, management, associates
Cons: healthcare, sick time
i love working here the team was a happy one with very knowledgeable people just felt like a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Balance was not the place for me
Shoe maker (Former Employee), Skowhegan, MEAugust 4, 2013
I worked in a team and the team was great. The management was far from accomadating or helpful for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store with superior customer service reputation
Department Lead (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 23, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits/incentives
Cons: schedules tend to be all over the place
I enjoy the brand and loved being a part of the team. I felt as though I was working for a brand/company that really valued their customers and team members as well. Its the cream of the crop when it comes to retail. I had many great experiences and was even HEARD when I came to my upper management about new ways of doing things to make things easier – more... not only for customers but for the crew members. I highly recommend this company for anyone wanting great benefits and treatment. There are many opportunities for growth within this company and its well worth the shot – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a family oriented fun place to work...but definitely no more!
Warehouse Fulfillment (Former Employee), Fenton, MOJuly 19, 2013
Pros: medical benefits were great! free food/snacks on occasion
Cons: micromanaging extremely bad, managers were not trustworthy or honest, no full time jobs
New Balance was a nice place to work at one time. But when the CEO stepped down, the company totally went downhill. The warehouse manager was fired & replaced by someone to come in & cut costs throughout the company.

The cleaning crew was replaced with a cheaper company, the air conditioning was shut off in the warehouse to save money (but remained – more... on for the office staff), perks were taken away from employees in the warehouse, (but not the office staff) bosses started micromanaging employees to a fault & were very rude & disrespectful to them, yet the bosses were lazy & one boss was always late & the other boss spent half of his time outside on cigarette breaks. Eventually several full time employees were terminated & were slowly being replaced by a few temporary employees here & there at a cheaper wage with no benefits.

Management was very poor & the managers pretty much stood around doing nothing. After several employees were let go of their positions, everyone was walking on eggshells wondering if their jobs were secure. There is no future for employees who work at the warehouse. It's very sad to see what has happened to a company that once was a very family oriented fun place to work where the employees were once really valued & cared about. – less

About New Balance

New Balance has a history of 100 years of enduring performance and is still running strong today. New Balance began as a Boston-based – Read more