Nelson Lumber Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 December 2016
The Environment at Nelson Lumber was fantastic.
Unfortunitly there was no room for advancement, if ther was im sure i would still work there.
Pros
discount
Cons
no room for advancing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work area,
TROY KING (Former Employee) –  GRANDE PRAIRIE28 April 2016
Nice place to learn, Very supportive co worker, safe work place, good benefits. With WCB and good health plan for the employee. have discount to the personal purchases from the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Wooden Truss Maker/ Spida Saw Operator (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB17 December 2015
its 5 days work and 8 hours a day i learned how to operate the spida saw there good here they are quite when you build a big truss and when we are getting laid off.....when you built small trusses
Pros
sometimes free fizza
Cons
laid off when snow start to fall
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Full-Time Dispatch assistant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB16 December 2015
I learned alot about what they do there and how hard everyone works. It is a very fast pace place to work, which was nice. Everyone that was there was kind and respectful. I learned their systems and rules. I learned how to somewhat dispatch when it comes to transporting the inventory and things like that. I learned how to process work orders and i met a lot of great people along the way. I enjoyed going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious workplace, with heavy equiptment in work area's
Lumber Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 May 2015
Good company to work for, fair with there wages.
Duties are varied, up to you to keep buisy.
Get knowledge of mouldings and a lot of building materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent place to work.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 August 2014
great atmosphere, Great people, Over all Great attitude. They like to keep employees and have a Insanely Low Turn over rate.
Pros
They are Family orientated
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Truss builder/Helper (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB28 March 2014
helped cutter with cutting boards and stacked them in order, built trusses, clean work areas.
Pros
worked with a buddy
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB15 July 2013
you went to work and people we're willing to train you and trained you well. if you messed up you try again no one really got mad unless you messed up a lot! great staff and good management.
Pros
great people good enviroment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work good people
labour (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB20 March 2013
great place to work great safety standards lots of hours and you get trained on heavy equipment the management was good to work with
Pros
no problem working around your schedule
Cons
no break in the afternoon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pased environment, on your feet all day, Etc.
Swamper, Customer Service, fork lift operator, etc (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB8 February 2013
A typical day at nelson lumber is extremely busy,
I learnt how to operate fork lifts, different material, etc.
The management is ok, (i never talk to them unless i had to.
I got along good with my co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up with everything.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different (customers).
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun in the work place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 January 2013
i learn how to handle the air & handy tools and must of all to assemble the wooden trusses.nothing to say to my co-worker.the most enjoyable part of the job,when the job done early specially Friday.lol
Pros
2 15mn break
Cons
lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forlift operator
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 October 2012
building lumber packages for contractors. loading/unloading trucks/ shipping recieving. costomer sevice
Pros
enjoy using the forklift
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Expectation for Low Wages
Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Acheson ab7 August 2012
Repetitive work
loud work environment
Huge turnover rate
unable to communicate with management
Pros
great hours
Cons
little pay for heavy work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BLAHHHHH
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster,AB24 May 2012
Bored stiff-hated every minute of it. Only applied for the job because I worked in building supplies for years and loved it. This was a totally different experience which did not challenge or excite me at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
3.8