Nelson Lumber Employee Reviews in Canada

See reviews about:
Work-Life BalancePay & BenefitsJob Security & AdvancementManagementCulture
Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work area,
TROY KING (Former Employee) –  GRANDE PRAIRIEApril 28, 2016
Nice place to learn, Very supportive co worker, safe work place, good benefits. With WCB and good health plan for the employee. have discount to the personal purchases from the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Full-Time Dispatch assistant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABDecember 16, 2015
I learned alot about what they do there and how hard everyone works. It is a very fast pace place to work, which was nice. Everyone that was there was kind and respectful. I learned their systems and rules. I learned how to somewhat dispatch when it comes to transporting the inventory and things like that. I learned how to process work orders and i met a lot of great people along the way. I enjoyed going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious workplace, with heavy equiptment in work area's
Lumber Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 14, 2015
Good company to work for, fair with there wages.
Duties are varied, up to you to keep buisy.
Get knowledge of mouldings and a lot of building materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent place to work.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 29, 2014
great atmosphere, Great people, Over all Great attitude. They like to keep employees and have a Insanely Low Turn over rate.
Pros
they are family orientated
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Truss builder/Helper (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABMarch 28, 2014
helped cutter with cutting boards and stacked them in order, built trusses, clean work areas.
Pros
worked with a buddy
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABJuly 15, 2013
you went to work and people we're willing to train you and trained you well. if you messed up you try again no one really got mad unless you messed up a lot! great staff and good management.
Pros
great people good enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work good people
labour (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, ABMarch 20, 2013
great place to work great safety standards lots of hours and you get trained on heavy equipment the management was good to work with
Pros
no problem working around your schedule
Cons
no break in the afternoon
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pased environment, on your feet all day, Etc.
Swamper, Customer Service, fork lift operator, etc (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABFebruary 8, 2013
A typical day at nelson lumber is extremely busy,
I learnt how to operate fork lifts, different material, etc.
The management is ok, (i never talk to them unless i had to.
I got along good with my co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up with everything.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different (customers).
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun in the work place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2013
i learn how to handle the air & handy tools and must of all to assemble the wooden trusses.nothing to say to my co-worker.the most enjoyable part of the job,when the job done early specially Friday.lol
Pros
2 15mn break
Cons
lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forlift operator
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 23, 2012
building lumber packages for contractors. loading/unloading trucks/ shipping recieving. costomer sevice
Pros
enjoy using the forklift
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Expectation for Low Wages
Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Acheson abAugust 7, 2012
Repetitive work
loud work environment
Huge turnover rate
unable to communicate with management
Pros
great hours
Cons
little pay for heavy work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BLAHHHHH
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster,ABMay 24, 2012
Bored stiff-hated every minute of it. Only applied for the job because I worked in building supplies for years and loved it. This was a totally different experience which did not challenge or excite me at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture