Find companies:
NCR
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
330 reviews

NCR Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reactive Vendor Support Company
Help Desk Manager Level (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: nationwide and international opportunities
Cons: management is expected to work on their vacations unless it's taken out of the country
Full scale high call volume Reactive vendor support company. Services ownership from cradle to grave, upgrade projects, escalations, and vendor requested side jobs. HR attempts to manage the team managers within the call centers from offsite when there is an issue with one of their subordinates limiting the effectiveness of the manager and facility. – more... No management training offered prior to promotions within. Online classes are offered through NCR University, but no College Credit given. Low morale due to false promises and designated favorites "clicks" within some management and subordinates causing lack of trust and team effectiveness. Not all co-managers can be trusted as they should be when working together as a team. It doesn't take long to discover who can be trusted and who can't. The biggest challenge is when contracts are drawn up with their vendors, the people making the decisions and agreements have no idea what it's like to take a call, support a technician, trouble shoot with the end user, service a store. It seems that none of these are taken in account as to what the helpdesk is really capable of supporting. It's all about how much money can we make in a short period of time. This causes missed SLA's and penalties and the company ends up losing money because the wrong decisions were made when the contract was written which causes ALL teams to fail and too lowers morale. The most satisfaction is helping subordinates reach their goals and witnessing their promotions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, poor management, high pressure, low security
Strategic Account Manager- (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 22, 2014
Good people, poor management. Onboarding process was by way of self directed online training and webinars. Not much in the way of mentoring by new manager (hiring manager took lateral move 6 months after I started). Typical response to requests for assistance or where to get an answer was: "you need to figure it out". My peers were all long time employees – more... and were helpful and supportive. Several confessed to me that "We do a terrible job at onboarding new people".
I was terminated after 6 months under new manager for "underperforming" while at 104% of quota. When asked for his reasoning, I was told that I was an "at will" employee and no reason was necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of direction and managment plague this work experience.
Help Desk Representative II (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: often deny luches and breaks. no advancement.
A day at work consists of taking inbound calls and troubleshooting self-checkout registers at various stores. There wasn't much to learn as this was a straight forward 'follow the script' type troubleshooting job. Management when I first started was very competent but quickly devolved as sever nepotism allowed for the advancement of incompetent employees – more... with no ability to manage. My co-workers were great people for the most part and we frequently engaged in activities outside of work. The hardest part of the job was handling the high call volume which was compounded by poor mismanagement in which we frequently had to work through breaks and lunches. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the worst place I've in my 25 year IT career.
IT Program Manager (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: a pay check
Cons: feels like a prison camp all day, every day
This place was absolutely horrible and I wish it upon my worst enemy. It's not progressive at all, with very poor IT leaders. The culture is stuck in the 70's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always interesting and exciting
Team Lead (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: 4 weeks vacation, flexible break schedules
Cons: long hours and stress
A typical day for me at NCR would be coming in at whatever time needed. I did not really a have a schedule I filled all the wholes throughout my schedule because of the lack of employees. I never knew what I would walk into if I would be by myself or if someone else would be there. It was always fun though because the people I worked with made it fun – more... and challenging. What I learned from NCR is that I know what my abilities are and how I like to help people solve problems. Management and I were not always on the same page. I feel like that was the reason for most of my hardships at the job. There was not really a hard part at NCR unless you count the stress of not knowing when I would be working. An example of a week, Monday work from home all day, Tuesday in the office at 10am, Wednesday in the office at 1pm, Thursday I would normally be in the office at 11pm, Friday I would get a partial day off, then I would work 6am to 2:30pm Saturday and Sunday. My hours changed a lot in the office. The best part of the job was the people. No matter what day I was there I always had a great group of people to support me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Field Service/Customer Support Technician (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
Working there is great, I've learned a lot about POS systems and they have great Managers. I have great co workers that I work closely with on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job is just understanding the knowledge of computer system but once you got that the job wonderful and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful co-workers
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: split days off
Could be very busy but very satisfying, coworkers were very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is ok
Sr. Director CI Champion (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 17, 2014
was promissed one thing when hired and then they did not follow through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
IT Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee), MumbaiJanuary 12, 2014
The Best company ever worked with . A Lot of Fun to work here. Typical Corporate Environment with good friends .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they suck the lifeblood from you
CE (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: paycheck
Cons: everything
Avoid this company unless desperate. If you are hired, keep looking for another job.
Company constantly tries to take all they can from field employees. WORK harder faster. Come in early, go home late on Christmas eve. Mandatory 6 day, 10 hr/day work week the week before Thanksgiving through end of year with no notice but management knew 3 weeks prior.
Charge – more... employees for commuting in mandatory company vehicle ($100/month), no personal use of vehicle.
Long time (20+ yrs) employees looking to leave. Not the same company it used to be. This company is heading for a major fall.
Company has been listed as one of the worst 10 companies in USA to work for for the last several years.
Management doesn't care about employees.
Only way to get ahead is to be a "YES" man – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible attendance permitted
Repair Technician (Current Employee), Peachtree City, GAJanuary 7, 2014
Decent work place allowing me to use a few hours to take care of personal business and make up time by end of work week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and interesting place to work.
SQL Database Administrator (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJanuary 5, 2014
Challenging and interesting place to work. I learned a lot on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OMG
BILINGUAL IT HELPDESK SUPPORT AGENT/SHIFT LEAD (Current Employee), Peachtree cityJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: no benefits
You want my opinion on NCR.The work day goes good you come start taking calls and there is always something that has to be said by managment.I have learned to keep my mouth shut even to managment and all i see at this work place is favoratism clicks and un resonable people esp managment.They do everything there way with out using protocall.At this job – more... you must always be careful with what is said and done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work with
Audio Engineer (Current Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great company to work with.
Cons: early hours sometines
A typical day at NCR required me to setup audio, video, lighting, and cameras for live webcasts. The job required me to work with VP's of the company as well as the CEO and upper brass of the company and provide great customer service to them as well. There was a staff of 5 people and we had a great working relationship. There was nothing hard about – more... doing anything for this job. My experience for this job made the job easy. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the upper brass of the company and watching them being satisfied with the webcasts once they were done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Resume building Company
IT Analyst (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: opportunity to work on cutting edge technology
Cons: no advancement
Most enjoyable part of working at is NCR is the people. The pace is intense and there is a lot of overtime to meet objectives. No Life/Work balance truly exist in practice at NCR. There is no investment in employee training or advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people, beautiful facility
Customer Briefing Center Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: diverse friendly, many types of employee recognition
Cons: none.
I basically grew up on Teradata which was then purchased by NCR. NCR gave me ample opportunities to work in different areas of the business. Management was amazingly fair and supportive. The hardest part was having to leave to move back to Texas to be with my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Cash Service Analyst (Former Employee), Work From Home Grayson, GADecember 26, 2013
Great company to work for, great management and wonderful co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most disorganized place I've ever worked
Customer Engineer (Fieled Tech (Former Employee), Dayton, OHDecember 21, 2013
Pros: i love going to department stores and such and solving peoples problems.
Cons: they never gave me the tools i needed to do the job.
I was hired through a temp agency. Never had a clue what was going on as my Blackberry never did arrive though they ordered one for me 3 times! Every morning I would start my day by calling dispatch in Serbia..yes Serbia! This is how I would get my work orders and other information about each job which of course is what the Blackberry supposed to give – more... me. I will say the dispatchers in Serbia spoke great English.
Long story short I was there 2 months and STILL had no blackberry. The other Techs were very patient but I could tell they were getting annoyed as I had to call and ask them to order parts for or how to service equipment since I got ZERO training. Serbia dispatchers grew weary of me too as it took a long time to give me all the information I needed. Sometimes it felt like they were ignoring my calls hoping someone else would take my call.
Finally I was told to meet another tech and give him all my equipment and tools. I suspected I was done and I was right. I never had a chance to be productive because I never got that stupid blackberry. I turned down two other Jobs to work at this mess. This was in Dayton, OH – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7 days a week 16 hour days
Field Service Manager (Former Employee), Duluth, GADecember 13, 2013
Long work hours, no work/ life balance at all. Burn out happens very quickly. Benefits are ok, 401k match is decent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Material Handler/Packer
MATERIAL HANDLER (Former Employee), Columbus, GADecember 13, 2013
Bring all parts to the line in a timely fashion so that the line will not have to stop. Maintain an keep equipment in working condition.This job has taught me to have a clear focus on high quality and business profit.Made me able to see things from the others person's point of view

About NCR

Want to find NCR? Follow the money. Born during the waning days of the Wild West as National Cash Register, NCR is a leading maker – Read more