Find companies:
NCR
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
325 reviews

NCR Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT/ Rollout Desk
Help Desk Support Technician (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARMarch 7, 2014
Make and receive calls, troubleshoot, dispatch, Remote access, ensure issue resolution,
Dell, HP, Compaq, Cisco, IBM and Blade centers, self checkout registers, debit card readers, registers, Money centers, Wireless scanners, PDA’s, Managers workbench, Smart systems, Excel, Word, Remedy, Access, network, switches, routers, systems backups/restore, OS – more... issue resolutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCR
Help Desk Agent (Current Employee), Bentonville, ARMarch 3, 2014
NCR was like family. They tried to take care of you and meet you halfway in certain areas. The stress level was very high due to the type of work..it was a call center after all..but we got through it together and most of the time we all had each other's backs. Will miss the people I worked for and with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Oriented development with good learning
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee), HyderabadFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: learning, cooperative work culture
Good work life balance.
The development process is clearly defined and very adaptable to new joiners.
Good Bug life cycle managment
Very cooperative team members and work culture.
Challenging tasks with client interaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment
Logistics / Assembly (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: benefits, leisurely environment
Cons: temporary work assignment
Fast paced and constant assembly. Heavy production requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work.
Senior Business Analyst - Supply Chain (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 23, 2014
my coworkers are friendly. but service logistics business is outsourced too much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant turnover in both field and management positions, even in leadership roles.
Customer Engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lots of ot
Cons: though having an hour for lunch rarely were we able to eat without being bothered by dispatch, constant turnover in the ranks. though teamwork was communicated everyone was out for themselves, no quality of life, training
High pressure due to lack of resources to adequately service customer base. Overtime was worked even if you didn't volunteer. Field management not engaged or had llittle or no expertise to direct reports in LOB. The constant or what seems like every other year of the change in direction (re-org's). Worked with some really talented technicians that were – more... either laid-off or quit. I really enjoy what little time off I had, ........ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job I loved
Global Meeting and Events Manager (Former Employee), Dayton, OHFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: doing a job that i love
Cons: the company moved headquarters out of dayton
I was in a position that I loved. Planning incentive/awards trips, meetings and going on site to make sure the program went well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glory days of big computers
Computer Service Technician (Former Employee), North Sydney, NSWFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: car allowance
Cons: finishing last repair job a long way from home
Get repair jobs from call office.
Repair of business machines.
Good bunch of co-workers.
Travel time to repair location.
Customer relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has great benefits
Global Supply Chain Business Consultant (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAFebruary 12, 2014
Used web based analysis tools along with Excel and Access. I learned a lot about data analysis and mining. I didn't have a great deal of interaction with management and that was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was the flexibility to work virtually.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of customer interaction
Senior Customer Engineer (Current Employee), Peachtree, GeorgiaFebruary 10, 2014
*Start around 8am until 8pm on call after hours typically six days a week
*I've learned to handle stressful situations with clarity, calmness, and determination to resolve any issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to escape
Peon (Current Employee), Peachtree City, GAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: when i leave at 5 pm, i leave at 5 pm. pay is decent.
Cons: everything.
This company is an absolute nightmare. Service Parts is supposed to be their selling point . . . No budget, No Management. No Teamwork, finger pointing at its best. No root cause analysis, just bandaids and demerol to fix the issues. People laid off in US and jobs moved to Serbia because they can hire 2/3 Serbians to every one American. Goal to hire – more... additional 600 in Serbia by end of year. No tools in place to do your job, no accountability. Management makes decisions that affect customers then have amnesia the next quarter. Empty desks and cubicles everywhere. Every day people wondering if they will be next to be riffed. The future is always kept secret. Key positions not being filled when someone leaves. Place is a joke. But posting profits for Wall Street and account holders. Unobtainable measures set for employees so that bonuses won't be had by anyone but Nuti, who is extremely disliked by the people keeping the company afloat. Searching for something else desperately. Layoffs happen every quarter and other positions filled in other departments instead . . . People being walked out the door my first week with the company, last layoff was last week. No dedication to the employees. Can't afford bonuses and pay increases but sponsor of the NCR Level at the GA Dome. Company is about as good of a performer as the Falcons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run, Run as fast as you can
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Duluth, GAFebruary 4, 2014
-Health insurance coverage is horrible.
-Managers are clueless
-Environment with no process/procedures
-Horrible homegrown products
-Unorganized - vision is blurred by constant changes
-Search the internet and you will find NCR in a list of "worst places to work" - believe it!
-I've had 5 jobs in my lifetime - and this is by far the worst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career job POS
Customer Engineer Representative (Current Employee), Duluth, GeorgiaFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: growth
Cons: no cons
I love Ncr the company is a career NCR give you want you need to be successful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCR is multinational company with very diversified products portfolio with excellent benefits and provides a very good working environment
Senior Customer Support Engineer (Former Employee), Hyderabad, IndiaFebruary 2, 2014
NCR provides an excellent working environment with a diversified technology products for technology professionals. the company provides excellent benefits and takes care of its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reactive Vendor Support Company
Help Desk Manager Level (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: nationwide and international opportunities
Cons: management is expected to work on their vacations unless it's taken out of the country
Full scale high call volume Reactive vendor support company. Services ownership from cradle to grave, upgrade projects, escalations, and vendor requested side jobs. HR attempts to manage the team managers within the call centers from offsite when there is an issue with one of their subordinates limiting the effectiveness of the manager and facility. – more... No management training offered prior to promotions within. Online classes are offered through NCR University, but no College Credit given. Low morale due to false promises and designated favorites "clicks" within some management and subordinates causing lack of trust and team effectiveness. Not all co-managers can be trusted as they should be when working together as a team. It doesn't take long to discover who can be trusted and who can't. The biggest challenge is when contracts are drawn up with their vendors, the people making the decisions and agreements have no idea what it's like to take a call, support a technician, trouble shoot with the end user, service a store. It seems that none of these are taken in account as to what the helpdesk is really capable of supporting. It's all about how much money can we make in a short period of time. This causes missed SLA's and penalties and the company ends up losing money because the wrong decisions were made when the contract was written which causes ALL teams to fail and too lowers morale. The most satisfaction is helping subordinates reach their goals and witnessing their promotions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Escape While You Can!
Customer Engineer II (Former Employee), Germantown, MDJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: nice tools provided, benefits
Cons: pay, hours, work life balance, poor mgmt
In my opinion, this company is terrible to work for. I worked for them for 23 months and absolutely hated every day. Even management said maybe NCR was not a good fit for me when I made a suggestion. Priorities to customers change daily. Some days they say run calls as quick as possible and just get calls closed, other days they say spend extra time – more... and repair properly to reduce revisit rate.
Company vehicle is a requirement for my position and they charge $100/month to drive. You can NOT use vehicle for personal use at all. When you leave, they do not pay for earned vacation time. No work life balance. Some days they say no OT next they expect you to work 5 hrs OT.
When you work in the field there is no free lunch. You are lucky if you get lunch at all even though they require you take one.
I am so glad that I escaped – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, poor management, high pressure, low security
Strategic Account Manager- (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 22, 2014
Good people, poor management. Onboarding process was by way of self directed online training and webinars. Not much in the way of mentoring by new manager (hiring manager took lateral move 6 months after I started). Typical response to requests for assistance or where to get an answer was: "you need to figure it out". My peers were all long time employees – more... and were helpful and supportive. Several confessed to me that "We do a terrible job at onboarding new people".
I was terminated after 6 months under new manager for "underperforming" while at 104% of quota. When asked for his reasoning, I was told that I was an "at will" employee and no reason was necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of direction and managment plague this work experience.
Help Desk Representative II (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: often deny luches and breaks. no advancement.
A day at work consists of taking inbound calls and troubleshooting self-checkout registers at various stores. There wasn't much to learn as this was a straight forward 'follow the script' type troubleshooting job. Management when I first started was very competent but quickly devolved as sever nepotism allowed for the advancement of incompetent employees – more... with no ability to manage. My co-workers were great people for the most part and we frequently engaged in activities outside of work. The hardest part of the job was handling the high call volume which was compounded by poor mismanagement in which we frequently had to work through breaks and lunches. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the worst place I've in my 25 year IT career.
IT Program Manager (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: a pay check
Cons: feels like a prison camp all day, every day
This place was absolutely horrible and I wish it upon my worst enemy. It's not progressive at all, with very poor IT leaders. The culture is stuck in the 70's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always interesting and exciting
Team Lead (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: 4 weeks vacation, flexible break schedules
Cons: long hours and stress
A typical day for me at NCR would be coming in at whatever time needed. I did not really a have a schedule I filled all the wholes throughout my schedule because of the lack of employees. I never knew what I would walk into if I would be by myself or if someone else would be there. It was always fun though because the people I worked with made it fun – more... and challenging. What I learned from NCR is that I know what my abilities are and how I like to help people solve problems. Management and I were not always on the same page. I feel like that was the reason for most of my hardships at the job. There was not really a hard part at NCR unless you count the stress of not knowing when I would be working. An example of a week, Monday work from home all day, Tuesday in the office at 10am, Wednesday in the office at 1pm, Thursday I would normally be in the office at 11pm, Friday I would get a partial day off, then I would work 6am to 2:30pm Saturday and Sunday. My hours changed a lot in the office. The best part of the job was the people. No matter what day I was there I always had a great group of people to support me. – less

About NCR

Want to find NCR? Follow the money. Born during the waning days of the Wild West as National Cash Register, NCR is a leading maker – Read more