Find companies:
NCO Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
156 reviews

NCO Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job. Not a career. Company has been taken over by Apac
Customer Service Representative/Universal Agent (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCMay 6, 2013
Pros: set schedules
Cons: short lunch breaks
This was my first call center job and it was decent for what it was. I was let go when the company that was using NCO decided not to renew the contract. The company was then picked up by APAC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big talk, Little Reward
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rockford, ILApril 30, 2013
Pros: paid time off
Cons: management was ridiculous and played heavy favorites, too much unpleasantness to deal with for the pidly wage you recieved.
When I worked there, the typical day consisted of logging in, and getting yelled at for 8 hours on end, with strictly regulated breaks, and little to no floor support.
You were paid a small wage, yet they expected things out of you that no other employers would think to do.
The lied or misrepresented their pay bonuses.

The management was some of the – more... worst I've dealt with. Blatant favoritism was everywhere, from promotions to how they dealt with problems from personnel or call-situations. You could have a specific answer from your help resources on how to solve an issue, yet management would override how they saw fit, and you would still get any negative outcomes from their procedure against you.

They also had a history for trying to manipulate time systems, (for which there was a class-action lawsuit filed against them). They also were notoriously horrible at working with people when critical family or personal issues were going on (they wouldn't let an employee go home without terming him, even though his house was on fire and kid was in the hospital).

Hopefully they've changed with the advent of a new company taking over, with new management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Agent (Former Employee), Rockford, ILApril 28, 2013
best job I have ever had, very easy to move up and very driven to help you succeed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic sit down job
System Support Agent (Former Employee), Joplin, MOApril 1, 2013
You sit and talk on a phone the whole time. It's customers calling you for help, not your calling them, so I don't consider it telemarketing. Management is hard to talk too. Co-workers were the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
Team Lead Email Advisor (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 30, 2013
Pros: itunes
Cons: mandatory time off daily
Answering questions from Apple members via email, relating to technical, billing, and problem solving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Salary Races very stress job
Agent (Former Employee), St Joseph, MOMarch 22, 2013
Pros: co- workers good
Cons: short break, poor point system, no salary race, insurance not really good
This Company don't want the people work there long term. The first is never race salary, don worry if you have there 5 years you no will be receive race, the rule inside could you feel in the jail, you not can use your phone in any area in your break or lunch, the career opportunity in minimum and also the management is poor they change the strategy – more... every week. Good place is you don't have any job but nothing more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TxMarch 21, 2013
Took phone calls for customers who were having problems with their computers, or tablets. Troubleshooted their device or sold a service. The hardest part was trying to troubleshoot with out actually being in front of the device
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Collections/Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: noo pros
Cons: run for the hills
NCO is very unprofessional and unorganized. The managers half the time never know anything, the pay is lowsy, the whole place is a waste of time. I wouldn't even advise someone who is strugglingt to waste their time working for this company. I don't know how the NCOs are in other states but as far as the one in Virginia Beach, VA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My immediate supervisors were professional and understanding
customer service (Former Employee), Norcross,GAMarch 9, 2013
Pros: immediate supervisors
Cons: upper management
My review summary pretty much says it all. All the immediate supervisors were nice-and even some of their sups. Go up one more level, then not so much. Your immediate supervisor can make or break your day and that can be very daunting when you have to deal with that person 8 hours a day Monday through Friday and one 4 hour Saturday out of the month. – more... When you have someone directly above you that treats you like a human being, it makes your days there alright. More credit should be given to them. You should see their supervisor. IT is horrifying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCO rev
Apple Desktop Support (Former Employee), Mendota Hts, MNFebruary 25, 2013
I've learned so much about MAC computers and their hardware. Providing quality customer support and receiving great feedback from customers was enough to make it a great day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCO was a great place for those who are self thinkers and motivated to advance in a career.
Customer Care and Technical Care Representative (Former Employee), Rockford, ILFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: realible pay, reliable hours with open overtime, helpful and reliable managers and supervisors, friendly employees.
Cons: strict rules and policies you must follow or you were terminated
A typical day at work for a customer care representative consisted of properly and efficiently handeling inbound customer calls for T- Mobil cellular. Handling these calls consits of answering customers billing questions to fixing simple problems they may have with there phones to helping customers purchase phones. I learned how the cell industry works, – more... the in's and out's of trouble shooting problems, and I learned to have confidense that I'm capable of handling problems I may have or difficult situations I may come across on my own. Management there was very reliable and helpful when you needed them as well as very friendly. Co-workers mostly stuck to them selfs but occasionally you would get to interact with people while working which made the job a little bit easier from time to time. The hardest part about the job was trouble shooting each problem a customer would call about since there were many different types of problems that we were trained to handle. You had to be a good listener, identify there situation, know how to fix the issue, and apply what you know to do so. The most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of kowing that you were completely capable of handeling any and everything that could come your way and that your were self riliant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment with mutiple departments and products
Operations Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee), High Point, NCFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: numerous chances for advancement, outstanding talent development
Cons: lack of tangible pay incentives, micromanagement
Everyday was an opportunity to work with a Fortune 100 client and learn the ins and outs of a fantastic product. It was seemed like a short workday because there was much to get done on a daily basis. I used 7 different software systems to record, track, and monitor the performance of my team while carrying out the tasks of client everyday. As a member – more... of management, I worked closely with NCO management as well as the client and given numerous chances to interface with them to provide feedback and offer ideas. It was great to have a mutually beneficial relationship. However, there was always a deadline to meet or tight schedule to keep which made for a high stress environment at times. My greatest joy was being able to work with such amazing agents and invest as much time into them and their development as possible. They were the grass roots of the operation and it was always important making sure to nuture them and bring them to their full potential. Since there were 6 different departments consisting of various products, there were always new openings that allowed agents upward mobility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ALL AROUND PRISON
former employee (Former Employee), san antonioJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: its a set schdule
Cons: benefits, lack of managment jds (happy write ups) lack of training, inconsistent dress code policy management loves to use scare tactics
LET ME TELL YOU Considering that I have gain personal experience from within the company. Needless to say example the ridiculous numbers that is to be expected from an employee. Considering with useless training. Reason that is stated is because the training book and FACS doesn't describe different scenarios it can be vague in that sense. When asked – more... for assistance, questions are ignored, the so called "supervisors" and "team leaders" often refer us back to the FACS sheet or training book. Making us feel ostracized and ridiculed ....Oh did I mention talked to on the side with a training memo? Leaving no room for human error. Yet expecting an employee to hit our numbers at the end of each month. Not expecting our numbers to be affected. Which is caused by your incompetent trainers giving a lack of knowledge to their employees. With only 5 minutes of medipac so called training. We wouldn't seek assistance if we were trained up to par at minimum. Now on another note. I feel that policy and procedure is inadequate and a sham. Clearly, when dress code violation are inconsistent and not enforced properly. Even to where fabric of the material is discuss as to what is allowable in the work environment really? come on REALLY!! Since this company enjoys on nitpicking on what employees can and can not wear why not issue uniform and nip this in the bud just a suggestion. That was just given believe me I have more the rest would have to cost you....lol. Last but not least management, management is suppose to lead, coach , mentor and develop their employees. Clearly no signs of that, instead what is often given by "management" is scare tactics, negative feedback (not constructive criticism), undermining. Once again leading to a training memo. Which as of today, I for one have had enough of. So best of luck to you all....And I'm out !!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ensure great customer service by providing a great customer experience
Quality Ambassador (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2013
Daily duties is to review metric goals to identify trends and create the proper action plan to drive the correct behaviors to meet the metric goals. I have learned that every challenge I have encountered is a way to make my skills stronger. I enjoy working with my co workers because it's a way to see situations in a different way. The hardest part of – more... my job is not having all necessary resources to meet some expectations. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I'm given a new challenging task and being able to accomplish the task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep the job search going...
Representative (Current Employee), N Charleston, SCJanuary 19, 2013
Pros: lenient attendance policy
Cons: very little opportunity for advancement, low wages, and expensive benefits
I worked as an accounts receivable representative. The job in itself is not difficult. However, the work environment is stressful, and not enjoyable by any means. A lot of pressure is placed for the low wages you're paid with no real chance of raise. Bonuses are low and benefits are not affordable. The company as a whole does care or appreciate their – more... employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCO Group was a good company to work for.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: bonuses, great training
Cons: schedule conflicts
NCO Group took care of their staff, allowed for job and pay advancement, and offered bonuses.

CORINNE39 – January 16, 2013

LET ME TELL YOU Considering that I have gain personal experience from within the company. Needless to say example the ridiculous numbers that is to be expected from an employee. Considering with useless training. Reason that is stated is because the training book and FACS doesn't describe different scenarios it can be vague in that sense. When asked for assistance, questions are ignored, the so called "supervisors" and "team leaders" often refer us back to the FACS sheet or training book. Making us feel ostracized and ridiculed ....Oh did I mention talked to on the side with a training memo? Leaving no room for human error. Yet expecting an employee to hit our numbers at the end of each month. Not expecting our numbers to be affected. Which is caused by your incompetent trainers giving a lack of knowledge to their employees. With only 5 minutes of medipac so called training. We wouldn't seek assistance if we were trained up to par at minimum. Now on another note. I feel that policy and procedure is inadequate and a sham. Clearly, when dress code violation are inconsistent and not enforced properly. Even to where fabric of the material is discuss as to what is allowable in the work environment really? come on REALLY!! Since this company enjoys on nitpicking on what employees can and can not wear why not issue uniform and nip this in the bud just a suggestion. That was just given believe me I have more the rest would have to cost you....lol. Last but not least management, management is suppose to lead, coach , mentor and develop their employees. Clearly no signs of that, instead what is often given by "management" is scare tactics, negative feedback (not constructive criticism), undermining. Once again leading to a training memo. Which as of today, I for one have had enough of. So best of luck to you all....And I'm out !!!!!

CORINNE39 – January 21, 2013

discrepancy left and right for the smallest human errors which can be address correctly thur right training which this company lacks and supervisors should be replaced with their scared tactics of of replaceable you are

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical call center
Technical Support, Sales (Former Employee), Joplin, MOJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: free coffee en masse
started off good, some managerial issues, can be difficult to move up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Work as the Account Representative (Current Employee), Montgomery, AlabamaJanuary 4, 2013
My experience that I've learned is being a good coworker an meeting new people. I've also learned about being a good customer service representative and I also enjoyed assisting customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Quality Associate (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VADecember 14, 2012
Collections representative for one and a half years.Provided constructive feedback on monitors.Training new employee for coming up projects Meets quality standard in regard to accuracy , neatness, thoroughness, and timeliness
Medical billing collections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not PRODUCTIVE WORKPLACE
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 12, 2012
Pros: nothin
A typical day at work is clocking in and wondering when leaving if you will complete your full 8 hours before being undertimed or getting fired

About NCO Group

NCO Group, Inc. (NCO) is a holding company and conducts substantially all of its business operations through its subsidiaries. – Read more