Find companies:
NCO Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
180 reviews

NCO Group Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), High Point, NCJune 24, 2014
NCO group was a call center who main streamed UPS customers, my title was a universal agent I managed inbound calls from customers in the United States. My responsiblities included providing excellent customer service via telephone, I processed pick ups and drop off's at business locations as well as residential locations, I also tracked packages the – more... most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with different customers in different parts of the United States the most hardest part of the job was being unable to completely statisfy all customers with the package problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS PLACE WILL SUCK YOU DRY AND SPIT YOU OUT
Escalation Suprvisor (Former Employee), Kansas City MOJune 24, 2014
Pros: working from home
Cons: the management sucks and coworkers will stab you in the back
I worked for NCO for a period of about three years during that time I was assigned to the Sprint contract, I was promoted to resolution supervisor and got an entire $.50 raise that was the only raise I received the entire time I was there. The job was easy and I enjoyed working with the people on the phone. However I couldn't stand NCO the entire time – more... I was there the managers never did anything they said they were going to do and, they would never back you up when you ran into an issue with somebody above them. In the end I was released from NCO because I typed the word d**m in a chat room. It's my belief that they were just looking for a reason to get rid of me. Please do yourself a favor stay away from this company unless you like not ever having to worry about getting anywhere and making the same amount of money for the rest of your life. That is of course if all of their jobs haven't been outsourced to the Philippines by now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was hard to advance in this job.
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Mendota Heights, MNMay 23, 2014
I answered calls and chated with customers. assited with online ordering and profile assisance.I have larned managment skills. the hardest part was not knowing if i was going to lose my job from one day to the next.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misrepresenting their company
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), MaineApril 14, 2014
Cons: micro management, misrepresenting themselves
I was hired for this position in Nov 2013 and stayed a week. Had to ask permission to use the bathroom and you were watched by supervisors. They also were misrepresenting who they were with the collection calls they were making. The company held a contract to do tax collections for the state where I reside. Instead of telling the caller that they were – more... NCO, they stated they were from the State of ___Revenue Services. Totally lied! I couldn't stay with such a dishonest company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Joplin, MoMarch 18, 2014
Pros: supervisors are nice
Cons: not sure if you still have a job from day to day.
The typical day at work would consist of taking calls from people that had an issue with their orders. Opportunities for advancement are dependent on who you know. Jobs are eliminated and sent to other Countries so they can save some money on labor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work From Home Rep
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSMarch 17, 2014
It is a well established company. There is a lot of mult-tasking you have to stay on your toes. Overall I like it just need more benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 10, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility, vto, pto
Cons: health benefits
A typical day at work would include multitasking and avoiding dead air ti assist in making the call pleasant for our customer. Knowing the detail to most of the plan options was very helpful as reviewing plan options with a vast range of individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Sales Support (Former Employee), Humble, TXMarch 10, 2014
Enjoyed meeting new people. Learning a new skill. Management was awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced Customer Service Representative with a passion for satisfying the customer as well as support team members in a achieving goals
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Joplin, MOMarch 7, 2014
Pros: a guaranteed job security. challenging
Cons: the level of knowledge needed to perform the tasks were often very difficult.
A typical date at work was that we went out onto the floor and pulled up all the applicable systems. Following we would take in bound calls regarding anything about the customer's previous shopping experience with BestBuy. The procedures for this particular job description included, modifying orders, checking status and at times canceling orders. Additionally – more... we would act as sales personnel for the purchase of contract phones and computers. We had on the floor with us "Floor Support" whose function was to help with policies when the agent was unsure. My co-workers were dedicated agents and we were eager to help. The hardest part of the job was authorizing contract phones for use and the most enjoyable part of my job was getting off the phone with the feeling of accomplishment that we had resolved all the customers concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Collector (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALMarch 4, 2014
§  Provide outstanding customer service
§  Finalize grocery and product transactions
§  Receive payment by cash, check, credit cards, vouchers, or automatic debits. services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace closed down
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Yuma, AZFebruary 19, 2014
facility closed and let go all if the employees..
was a high turnover on employees, you had to score high on each call to keep your job.. if you has less than 3.25 then you were written up..
you had to have 3.5 or better and the highest possible rating would be a 4..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Inbound/Outbound collections Agent (Former Employee), Manila, PhilippinesFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
I always love working at NCO because I get to help and assist clients with their accounts. Everyday is a challenge since sometimes I encounter irate customers. Me and my co workers works as a team since we have to meet individual target as well as team target ( dollars collected ). The hardest part of the job is making sure that payment will be made – more... in every call. The most enjoyable part of my job is I get help clients with their account. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Yuma, AZFebruary 17, 2014
Cons: all
its like they dont caere about their employees in any shape or fashion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I worked with made the experience worth it
Collections/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), columbus ohioFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: met life long friends
Cons: the pay
Handled 300-400 outbound calls daily trying to get individuals to pay what they owe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The past few months there seems to be a problem keeping clients. They will usuually stay for 6 months and then they are gone.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: employes were great to work with, we had our own workstatione, everyone seemed to work well together. you felt like they were your family, your work station was assigned to you, so we were able to bring in some personal items to sit with us.
Cons: seem to have problems keeping clients
A typical day would consist of clocking in and pulling up our programs for calls that we will be taking. I would always try to prepare myself with different scenarios of how the calls may run for that day. I had to constantly check in all the tools we worked with to make sure there were no changes. The co-workers were great. Everyone tried to help each – more... other, if help was needed. We felt like we were all family. The hardest part of the job was not knowing what the next call would be about, if the person may be upset over something or very upset. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers working together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get in/ Get out
CSR (Former Employee), Mendota Heights, MNJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: not really any dress code, free parking
Cons: not on bus routes, not located near food and very few places deliver, management really needs to work out their problems.
There are a lot of great people who work here; quite the variety too. No requirements for hair color or much of a dress code. Reasonable hours that were

Ultimately the greatest failing is the management, some of them have that special ability to motivate people under them. Unfortunately those people are few and far between. It was also quickly apparent – more... that payroll there was haphazard with some people routinely getting shorted on their checks and having to have it made up the next week.

There was also a feeling that things were often being done that didn't seem legit to manipulate the monthly bonus in our site's favor.

All and all I'd say that if you are just starting out feel free to apply. Just be sure to keep your eyes closed to what is going on around you and make sure that you keep careful track of your hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and rewarding. Great management and work ethic. Fun and friendly environment to work at.
Debt Collector (Former Employee), Tijuana,BC,MexicoJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: friendly environment, supersivors recognized and awarded your hard work
Cons: long hours sitting on a chair calling debtors.
Job started at 7 am. I usually got there 30 min earlier and got a cup of coffee and hab breakfast in the Collection Department kitchen.

I started calling debtors at 7am using a computer database which automatically filtered debtors in the US by location, to make sure we didn't call before the allowed time fame (following FDCPA).
On a regular day I – more... would get mostly hang-ups, but had to make at least 25 contacts with a debtor, and had to reach a monthly goal of collections.
I learned patience with debtors, since I was not allowed to say anything offensive to them even if I was offended, and learned the federal guidelines collectors have to follow.
The hardest part of the job was reaching a negotation with the debtor, and finding the most persuasive argument in order for them to pay their debt.
The most enjoyable part was when I helped a debtor by providing them options,and when they opened themselves to me (which happened every one in a while). Helping others is what I liked the most, definitely.

Management was really good. My co-workers and supervisors were all very friendly, and cooperative. The general environment was competitive but friendly, which is a rare combination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center for Best Buy
CSR (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2014
Manage incoming phone calls. I learned a lot about the different type of computers,tv's and, Home Theater systems.The management is okay they get the job done. The hardest part of the job was working with the computer systems used to manage customer records. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to talk to different people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catty workplace with snotty people that think they are better than you, but they live with their momma
NCO EMW Rep (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJanuary 20, 2014
Cons: everything
This is the worse job I have ever had... EVER

I am a current employee and I have been with the company over a year.

Within my first three months with the company, there was a man harassing me. He would tell his female friends that he "didn't want to cathc a charge" whenever I walked by them on my way to my lunch or break.

The people that work at – more... this company are ill, rude, and racist.

I would only advise people to apply here if they live at home with their momma, because they NEVER give raises. Everyone makes 9.08$. It doesn't matter if you've been with this company for 7+ years, you do not get a raise.

There is no way of moving up with the company unless you are related to someone in a higher position, or the two of you are really great friends.

They do give free popcorn on Fridays, HOWEVER this building is filled with roaches, therefore you may be eating little roach eggs. Good luck with that.

OH! And let me not fail to mention the customers! They cuss you, tell you that you're a pos, they treat you like dirt, and since you have to keep under 3min and 25 sec per phone call, but want you to handle every inquary!

Again, good luck to you if you apply to this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's was a good learning company.
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), North Augusta, SCJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: i have a job.
Cons: don't care management. don't like to reward good employee.
I learned a lot about the collection service and I like the job. The company want us harass the people but can't because I have been there.

About NCO Group

NCO Group, Inc. (NCO) is a holding company and conducts substantially all of its business operations through its subsidiaries. – Read more